Futurism logo

A Leonine Fish

Retains her roar!

By Stefanie AugustPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
A Leonine Fish
Photo by David Clode on Unsplash

In 1960 when the word was becoming socially conscious and people were beginning to understand the Age of Aquarius, I came howling into the world. A tiny mite of a thing, I was born in August, under a Leo moon with a Pisces rising.

While I do attest to being a true Leo: proud, ambitious, socially conscious, and a leader of the pride when I am called to be, it is the fish in me - that is - my Pisces rising, which makes me crave life on the water watching the sunset with a glass of good Prosecco and a close friend for company.

Being a Leo I also have the good fortune of having enormous creative ability in music, writing, and acting. While I am not one to generally be vain, unless pondering a new haircut to keep my mane looking sleek, or assessing my wardrobe to ensure that it remains stylish, like most Leo’s, I do enjoy the spot light and sharing my take on the world through these artistic mediums.

People are usually attracted to my fire quality, my intense joy for life and support of others when they are in need of a lift. In my youth, I was courted by many who attempted to dote on me in the way that a Leo is supposed to enjoy. To this courting I attempted to keep open heart and mind about accepting people for who they were in the moment, which has netted me many friends whom I retain today.

While I find myself a nurturer, I am also a hunter gather and enjoy taking care of my pride as we Lionesses are wont to do. My knack for being a soul-guide to others who might require inspiration or a gentle nudge to get through life has brought me the joy of calling two younger men without mothers, Mom. Like me their gypsy souls and lifestyles resonate with living in the moment and being of service to our larger communal family.

When it comes to intimate love, for many years I considered myself a true romantic, conjuring up images of life in foreign countries with my soul-mate at my side, discovering a world of art and culture, living free-spirited and rebellious enough to buck the status quo. I imagined my partner to be highly intelligent, worldly and somewhat older than me, since I am first attracted to the strength of one’s mind, heart, and character.

Yet my Pisces-side always made me question what others intentions were when it came to being in romantic relationships. It has been the quandary of my Leo moon and Pisces rising, that if I fall for someone in love, I fall hard and fast, giving my heart freely to those who in the past did not honor or serve my best interests; feeling deserted if I am promised the same love and it is not forth coming. In my youth I could easily fall into an obsessive depression as to why someone did not love or like me, which I have learned to place less value on as I have aged. Indeed, love has come at a price for me, given that most of my intimate relationships have been short-lived. Even finding the one that I thought was my forever person at age 50 – a Cancer who aspired to similar things creative and a life of simple luxuries wrapped in the care of each other’s souls – found me less than appealing when I became disabled with a bad hip, leaving me flat with an onus that perhaps I was not meant to be in the creative life anymore.

When someone who proclaims to love me just the way I am dares me to quit, it rankles my pelt in a way that makes my resolve stronger and my roar louder. Today, almost 5 years after this naysayer attempted to undo me and with a new hip in place, I am writing this as my formidable Leo self, ready for a new adventure with a caring comrade, whom I can sense as a part of my Leo prowess and Pisces thought stream is coming my way.

astronomy
1

About the Creator

Stefanie August

A writer of novels, memoirs, screen, and theater plays, poems, short stories, and songs.

I also assist other authors in producing their best work.

www.saugustcreative.com

www.saugustcreative.contently.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.