Futurism logo

A Hunters story

Part 1

By Gareth SandersonPublished 3 years ago 20 min read
Like

He was trying to hide, but I could hear his heart beating as I neared. The wind was soft, gentle, but ice cold. If I was a human, been out in this cold as long as I had, it would have no doubt caused some kind of illness. Every step I took crushed the ice that had formed around the once soft green grass. It was the end of November, winter was on its way. And the way it was looking, it was going to be a horrible one at that.

His heart beat grew louder every step I took. He knew his end was coming, once I have a target in sight they never last long. And I knew exactly where he was.

I spotted him coming out of a club called “Neph”, not an imaginative lot seen as though it is owned by a group of Nephilims.

Nephilims are the offsprings of Angels and humans. They have strength of Angels but possess the fragile minds of humans. Like most of there kind when they find out what they are, it does not take long for their hunger for power to take over. They kill there way to the top, usually trading in drugs and guns and have many locations where they front there operations. much like “Neph”, easy pickings for me.

I've had my eye on this one for while now. He seems to be a middle guy, in and out of places swapping goods and such. just a small fish, but he is necessary for me to find who gives the orders. And like I said, this one is easy pickings for me.

I followed him into the park across the road from their club. But like me Nephilim also have super hearing and when I made the mistake of stepping onto the frosted grass hard enough for it to crack. He noticed me, and by the look of his expression when he turned around. He knew exactly who I was. Shooting off into the tree's trying to hide, quickly running from tree to tree trying to confuse me causing me to lose sight of him. But his fear was giving him away. heart beating a mile a minute, the slight sense of sweat forming around his aura was like a beacon to me. Before he could take another step from the tree he perched behind. I took a few fast strides and my hand had grabbed his throat and quickly thrown him into the nearest tree. Crashing into it he dropped to the floor in pain holding his back in agony.

“please, please don't, I didn't do anything to you”.

He pleaded as I neared, but I didn't care what he had to say. With one full punch to the face he was out for the count.

After dragging him back to my apartment not far from the park its self. I bolted him to a chair specifically made for creatures like him. The chair and chains are made of a very rare metal made of “Yttrium”. Humans find this from time to time and believe it was created by the earth over millions of years. But it was formed by the Angels, they use it for weapons. no creature could with stand it. Until my kind that is. The metal attacks the living cells in creatures body's. When that happens it burns away the cells killing the creature pretty fast. If they are not quick enough to get it out that is. This made the Angels the most feared of all creatures. They had more strength and knowledge then any other creature as it was, nobody knows for sure but they are suppose to be the guardians of the after life. Heaven as you would have it called. I don't remember any heaven when I passed away, just darkness. Any way, like I was saying they had no reason to threat any other creature. they were suppose to be immortal, all knowing, invincible. But apparently there is a weapon that can kill an Angel. And apparently the Nephilims had their hands on it. The Nephilims main goal was to rid off all the Angels as they were the only creatures who could defeat them in full. After all they are the offspring of Angels, and only possess half their strength. When the weapon was discovered Angels started the war on Nephilim, in fear this could change the natural order of how things have been since, forever. But Angels underestimated the numbers of Nephilim. They had been breeding like wild fire over the centuries, and brought the war to them, and some how they had gotten hold of an element. The only element that could bring down an Angel. Only they possess this element, nobody knows what it is, they keep it secret and now, everything had changed. Angels could not breed, so I've heard, and their numbers where dying down so this is where I come in.

My name is William York, and by an unnatural piece of events, I am a vampire. Nobody knows exactly how our kind were created. There are a few story's but the one I tend to hear more then others, is that a few thousand years ago there was a strong witch who feared death so much. She did a spell on her self to be immortal. but dark magic always has its price, and she got her spell to work. But it took away her magic and also condemned her to darkness.

We are not born like most creatures we are created. blood is our life, our strength, the way we survive, the way we create mates. Its also our weakness.

We are the rarest of creatures. We only create when we find that one person we wish to spend eternity with. even then I don't think I could condemn a human to the life we have to live. Darkness, we can never see the sun with our own eyes or we would burn to death with in minutes. We need to feed on the life force of others to keep us strong, and we are strong. Not as powerful as an Angel, but their weapons are useless to us. Seen as though we have no living cells to burn. We are new creatures to them and no single weapon has been found to destroy us fully. As it stands are only true death comes by sunlight. I was turned a long time ago, but we will get to the how and why.

Angels use creatures such as my self, and others who have a certain set of skills which make us brilliant soldiers. They provide us with the weapons to kill Nephilim. To even the numbers for when they are ready to make their final strike and wipe them out for good. In return they allow us to live as most of us are an unnatural balance and should not belong. it does not bother me though, I would do the deed for free. I have a personal vendetta against the Nephilim, but all in due time.

Before I got started on the Nephilim I'd captured. I decided to go down to my local bar, I had become so fond off since coming here. I've been in Manhattan a little over 6 month now. They always have us traveling, before here I was in a small town in Russia. Brought down a small group, they always send us to where the weapon is apparently been held. But to me it seems like I keep bringing down these fronts and nothing is ever there. Just the same old crummy weapons. Although I do this for other reasons, I can't say I'm not curious to what this weapon looks like. What it would be, a simple blade, a mystical liquid, it makes you wonder.

I walked into the bar, it was an old fashioned bar. Table booth's, pool table at the bottom end, duke box at end of the bar with stools up against it. That’s where I tend to sit the most. The stale smell of cigarettes and ale surrounded the place. I took my usual seat in the middle of the bar. That way I am good distance from any attackers either from the front or back entrance. Most creatures may be scared of our kind, but it does not stop the Nephilim from sending small groups to try me on some times.

The bar man Larry came up to me, he was a funny looking guy, small, chubby, bald, with a huge beard that dangled down to his chest. Looked a lot like a typical dwarf from any movie you have ever seen. He was an ok guy, he would never linger or ask me what I do. Just let me come in and drown myself in beer.

“what'll it be Will”.

He said with his deep croaky American accent.

“The usual” I reply with my not so croaky Northern English accent, the usual been a pint of Budweiser.

The bar scenes have never changed, even since my time. They may be more modern but the social convention and interactions have never changed. Old loners at the bar drinking whats left of their miserable lives. Young groups in the booth's laughing talking about daily routines and drinking spirits till they have no control. And wake up regretting who they have woken up with, nothing ever changes. It just becomes... updated.

As I took my first sip of the pint, the usual smell I have hunted for so long lingers into the room. As the door slams shut sending a gust of wind flowing through me. I slowly reach for the Angel blade fastened to the strap on the inside of my long duffel jacket. Ready for anything, but as I took my cautious look around, I see a group of young females. Laughing and joking, dressed up for a night out, heals, dresses, hair done up, the usual. Only one of them was Nephilim. The smell was undeniable, Nephilim have a sweet smell, like icing on a cake. Only the supernatural can smell it, Humans have no idea their senses are dull. It almost makes your mouth water at the scent, unlike Angels. Their scent is so strong it burns your nostrils, takes a little getting use too.

She was beautiful yes. Like all Nephilim are. Shiny, clean brown wavy hair, golden brown eyes with a shade of green. Beautiful olive skin, but none of this could distract me from what she really is. And there is always a reason for them to be lurking around, and it is never a good one.

I kept my eyes locked on to her waiting for some sign of recognition or smirk reaction. But she only spread her mouth and replied with a huge smile. For a second she caught me off guard when our eyes fully met. Time sort of stopped whilst I checked out every detail of her as she passed me by. Sounds slowly disappeared, the laughter, the pulling of a pint by Larry, the balls clacking from the pool table, all stopped. She wore a black dress down to her knee's, clearly not wanting to show too much off. The dress ran up to her neck, was covered with a leather jacket that just reached her stomach. She wasn't dressed to fight. She stood just a little taller than 5 foot, I swear if my heart didn't only beat once a minute it would have skipped a beat. Then suddenly she passed and the noises came flourishing back.

I realized I had lost my grip of the blade, and suddenly re-grouped my self and sat strong as they ordered at the bar. She kept having a glance over, but her eyes were more curious than awareness. As beautiful as she was I couldn't lose focus. She was still Nephilim, and she is old enough to know what she was. I caught her ID with my acute vision as she pulled it from her handbag to prove her age to Larry. 23-6-92, she was 22. She definitely knew what she was. When nephilim reach full maturity, their time clock slows down dramatically, and their strength takes over. I happened to catch her name, it was “Ellie waters”.

They ordered their drinks and sat them self's down in a booth a few meters from me. All the others laughing and joking as she kept her eye on me. Until suddenly they sat down and one of the girls called her name bringing her into their conversation.

Her smell just grew stronger and stronger. So much it was taunting my hunger. My throat began to grow dryer and dryer, control had became easy for me. I hadn't fed off of living beings for a long time, but Nephilim blood has a scent that surpasses any other creature or human. Which makes it difficult at times, and this was one of those times. My eyes began tickling as the scent lingered up my nostrils. Looking into the mirror behind the bar my eyes began to change black, my fangs began to grow. Shaking to fight the hunger away I quickly finished my pint and shot out the door to get a breath of fresh air. I realized a few years back that cigarettes help calm down the hunger. It was a night of drink, drugs and my self control had gone out of the window. I compelled my way into a VIP room in a classy club back in London England. compulsion is a devils trick for a vampire when he or she has gone of the rails, as I had at that time. We have the power to make any one do anything we want. Even Nephilim, but you have to be truly talented at it to compel Nephilim. I have trouble most times, I had never tried it on an Angel, so can't say if it would work or not. I feel sorry for the first vampire to try that one out. So I was on the hunt for my nights feed in this club, searching for the perfect women. That was my desire, young broken women. As I always did, I found one sat in the corner surrounded by men, hounding and complimenting her, like horny little scavengers saying anything to have a chance to get her back to their house and get her cloth's on the floor. I made my way towards her, blonde, perfect figure low cut dress almost showing everything top to bottom. she wasn't the type to leave a club alone. She was out for one thing. I pushed my way through the men glaring at them with my true self. Which in the creature world is not welcomed, we are to be kept secret from the humans. But at this time I no longer cared. None would dare to react or take a stand to me, fear ran through their faces as I walked through. They quickly grabbed their drinks and left us too it. Compulsion wasn't even necessary at this point, I pushed my self close to her lips almost touching hers. I could hear the nervous gulp come from her throat. Her breath grew heavy as I ran my hands up her body, then she threw hers against mine, showering me in kisses. She groaned as I returned hers with strong hot but not passionate kisses. She was just a meal to me, the arousal just made the blood taste that much sweeter. She groaned as I ran my lips down her neck, rolling my tongue over her neck to find the perfect vain. Gently pushing out my fangs ready to sink my teeth into her soft delicious warm skin and suck the pureness from her. Then she took a burn of her cigarette and released the smoke in the air, and it covered our corner flowing into my face, the strong smell ran up my nostrils and suddenly made me feel sick. The erotic and tasteful moment was suddenly gone. All I could concentrate on was this horrible black tar tasting smoke that filled the whole room. Surrounding us both, and this gorgeous women now became a body full of tar and blackness that filled her lungs and blood vessels rather than a fresh pure tasty blood sack I desired. So with out delay I pulled out a cigarette, every burn I would take it would remind me of that night. Just how disgusting it makes me feel, taking away any urges to feed.

As I drew the cigarette from my mouth, a familiar gust of wind blew past me. The same gust of wind that comes right before an Angel appears. Their wings are wide and long which causes the heavy gust. It’s always the same Angel that comes to visit, “Fedriel”. Such a stupid name, all Angels names tend to end in the same way. They need to have more imagination if you ask me. I call him Fed, hes been coming to me for more than 2 centuries now. Doesn’t come that often but every time he does, its rather more orders or to see how my current job is going.

He found me somewhere in between Japan and China in (1791). I was searching for a Nephilim group but my trail had ran dry. My hope once again began to sink. I was in a tavern and gotten myself in to a bit of a bad state. Trying desperately to drown the nightmares of my past, and the Nephilim group that had slipped past me. They were the ones that put them nightmares their.

I staggered out of the tavern and lent on a porch, to my left was a man. A man with short light brown hair, and shining golden eyes. Not the golden brown eyes your rare human can get. These looked like they were carved from gold its self shining in the night. He had a calm look on his face, but his eyes they had a tint of pity within them.

My vision was blurry, but when I finally pulled myself out of his gaze and took a few steps back to examine him. He walked closer out into the open and then the shock hit me. Spread behind him was two huge feathered black wings, pulling them self down to settle at his back. I had never seen anything like it, it was amazing yet frightening at the same time.

The streets were not empty, In fact people were just walking straight past him more or less oblivious to this strange person and his huge wings.

He started to walk towards me, gesturing his hands but my instant reaction was to run. I had too left feet and did not get far before I tripped and landed face down in the mud. The rain grew heavier as I pulled my face out of the puddle of watery mud that it lay in. His foot steps grew louder splashing in the puddles as he walked calmly towards me. Anxiety, fear, confusion ran through me harder and harder every step he grew closer. His eyes gleaming with what could only be described as anger. My survival instincts kicked in, I sprung up throwing my fist in the process but the wind instantly grew and he was gone. Well I thought he was gone until he spoke up from behind me.

“Don't be afraid William”.

That's the first time and only Angel I have ever met. After I gathered my self and stopped fighting what he had to say. He explained what he had been sent for.

Said my kind have been tarnishing the earth for way too long now, that we are vermin. I didn't disagree, but our strength and speed was desired by them. We could choose to die or work for them. I wasn't afraid of dying, but when he explained the work I would be doing, I jumped to the job. At this moment he was the best and only chance I had of finding the Nephilim group I urn to find.

Their magic makes their wings unseen by humans. That’s why people walked past him like he was just another human, but all creatures see the real in all species. That's why I could see them.

“Fed, to what do I owe the pleasure?”

I say flicking my cigarette to the floor.

“it's good to see you too William”. Dressed in all black, some kind of Angel war suit. Leather with metal plated shoulders and chest, he always wore the same suit. I never really get many answers out of him about what his job title is, what his world looks like. He says it is not for us to know things too soon and that one day I will find out the same way every one else does. By death he means, I don't know if he knows when I'm going to die or not. Wouldn't put it past them if they could see the future, but I don't plan on dying anytime soon. not before I get the Nephilim group I search for.

“take a walk with me William”

he says with his arms out bracing me to his side.

“A walk”?

He takes his gaze from me and looks ahead and calmly replies.

“yes William, a walk. Its a nice night and I don't want to discuss matters outside your filthy tavern”.

He looks back to me with hurt in his eyes.

“It brings back depressing memories”.

We set off walking.

“I believe you have news for me on your current task”

“Nothing yet”.

He smirks as he replies.

“So that Nephilim you have tied up is nothing”!

“You been keeping tabs on me Fed”?.

We stopped walking at this small bridge passing over a river, the sound was elegant. Just the flowing noise of the river and the gentle wind passing through the near by tree's.

“You have been here nearly six month's William, longer than you would usually like to stay”.

He was right, I never liked staying in a place longer than I had too. As soon as I would find out the Nephilim group I search for are not here, I would destroy the remaining fronts and dispatch of the groups quickly as possible. But Manhattan was different. I liked the city, and I had a feeling, I couldn't really explain it but I just felt like I had to be here. So I am taking my sweet time with this one. But I can't tell Fed that, he would simply tell me to do my job.

“Yeah, these ones are a bit more harder to crack, but you needn’t worry, have I ever let you down”!.

I say with a cocky tone, I knew I was good, and so did he.

“That's why we sent you William, these particular Nephilim. They can't remain for much longer, they have taken control of the whole city and...”.

He paused as his head drops to the floor with pain. It was rare to see Fed with such a look on his face. Usually he's like a drone. Constantly has the same calm look and tone in his voice, but something had got to him. Something these Nephilim's had done.

He looks back up too me after collecting him self and continues with the same calm look.

“We need your full focus on this one William, we believe they have the weapon”.

“That's what you have said about hundreds more before these, why should this group be any different?”.

He stared deep into the river before he answered.

“There have been new surfaces”.

Confusion hit me.

“surfaces”?

“yes”.

My anger grew as he told me nothing.

“What does that mean, surfaces?. You ask me to do these things and tell me nothing”.

He turned around swift and grew closer to me, eyes gleaming in anger and frustration swept over his face.

“You don't need to know the facts, that's not your job. You do what your told and get it done when your told to get it done. Do you hear me William. GET IT DONE NOW”.

He screams, the shock of seeing this much emotion from Fed caught me off guard. Stood there dumbfounded nothing to say back. Then he spread his wings and disappeared in seconds into the night sky.

Something was definitely going on with him. He has been angry before but to explode like that is another level completely.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Gareth Sanderson

Writer based in Yorkshire. Love writing, huge fan of fiction/supernatural. My own created stories to take you away from everyday life, throw you into a world of vampires, werewolf's, Angel's, nephilims, wars, love and pain

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.