Futurism logo

A Drop Of Dragon's Blood

The Beginning

By TheNeutralDragonPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
There are dragon's among us, hidden but still there...

There must be something more for me out there, I thought. Something more than a life as a lowly servant!

“Trixie!”

Startled, I turned around.

“Yes, Mame?” I said timidly.

An old but hard looking woman stared back at me impatiently.

“If you are done daydreaming, you can make yourself useful and go to the market. The master wants some fresh oranges. Now get to it!”

She handed me a small rough looking leather bag that, judging from the weight, held more than what I earned in a month’s wages.

“ Yes Mame.” I said dejectedly.

I hated going out into town at all, let alone at this hour. The light was quickly fading and the fresh smell of throw up stung my nose. Great, the night’s first fool already lost his dinner. As if things couldn’t get any worse, the “bodyguard” they assigned me with was none other than Kalem, a no good lazy alcoholic who would no doubt abandon me at the first chance he got. Pushing through the crowds of townsfolk that were either making their way home or heading towards the tavern to guzzle down the night’s drinks; I finally found myself in front of the local fruits market. Dalilah’s market was a small but well known market. Run by a elderly woman that everyone affectionately referred to as Granny; it was the best place to get produce in the entire town. Stepping forward to open the door; I was startled when a heavy hand rested on my shoulder. Suppressing the urge to scream, I turned to see Kalem’s grizzled face looking down at me amused.

“Well, I got to run a quick errand so you got it from here, right?”

Without even letting me answer, he strolled off in the direction of the tavern. That ‘errand’ he had to run was what he called ‘picking up girls’. I rolled my eyes. Honestly, despite calling himself a ladies man, he was anything but that. Girls only flocked to him to steal his coin and then abandon him. Truly, he was just another creep at the bar to them. Despite this, I had still wished he could have stayed just a little longer. The town could be dangerous at night and I dreaded the journey back alone. Swallowing the growing lump in my throat, I shoved the door open and stepped inside. A small bell attached to the door summoned the sweet Granny herself. She stood at only four foot tall but was the most wholesome person in the entire town and the only thing that made these journeys into town bearable.

“Ah, Trixie, my goodness! What on earth are you doing here at this hour!”

Despite her size, her voice carried loudly yet gently across the room. A smile snuck its way onto my pale lips and I gave her a quick hug.

“Ah, Granny, you know I always have time to see you!” Jokingly I said.

Granny chuckled and hugged me back, her long silver hair smelling of cinnamon.

“Well, actually.” I said as we pulled apart. “I was sent to fetch some of those fresh oranges for Master.”

Granny arched her eyebrow and shook her head.

“At this hour; when will that man learn! Very well, stay here and I will fetch you some!” she said with a wink. “I was just about to close up, you have good timing like always!”

I nodded and quietly munched on the samples of lemon bar that Granny had out. The lemon flavor melted onto my tongue. I closed my eyes and savored the taste before it disappeared.

Granny came toddling back with a small burlap pack under her arms. I took it and handed her the money in exchange.

“Here you go, my dear! I packed something extra in there for you to keep growing strong!” She winked with a crinkled smile.

I started to protest but she shook her head. I knew better to argue with such a wise yet stubborn lady. I bowed to show my appreciation and started to open the door.

“Oh and Trixie!”

Stopping, I turned to her obediently.

“Mind those alleyways tonight. Many folk have been disappearing in them lately. Some folk say it may be the Fey themselves stealing folk! Steer clear, I beg of you.”

I couldn’t help but let out a small chuckle.

“Fey? Come on now, Granny! Those are about as real as those self driving carriages you have been telling me about. Rest assured though, I appreciate the warning and I will steer clear of them.”

Saying my last farewells, I finally made my way back to the Master’s place. The crowds had since thinned. Many of folk either now safe at home or drinking their pay away at the tavern. I could see no sign of Kalem, which did not come as too much of a surprise. I was on my own, like always. The light had all but faded now and the buildings looked ominous in the dying light. I walked briskly to escape the growing dread in the pit of my stomach. I had almost made it out of the town’s clutch when a sharp cry pierced the stillness of the night. I jumped and felt my heart drop to my stomach. Still I couldn’t help but peer down the alley from where the cry came from. What I saw made me drop the precious package I had been carrying. There in the middle of the alley, lay the body of an old man in a crumpled bloody heap. He was barely breathing, and it was clear he needed help but I could see no one else to ask. I guess it was up to me! Swallowing my fear, I ran to him and knelt beside him.

“Oh my gosh! What happened? Are you alright? Oh..what can I do?!” I stammered unsure of what good I really could do at this point.

The old man turned to me and slowly a toothless grin formed on his face. How peculiar for one to just suddenly smile. Perplexed, I stared blankly back. Suddenly fear gripped me and Granny’s warning echoed in my brain.Before I could think to run, I felt my limbs go limp and the darkness swallowed me.

“Are you sure she is the one?”

“That is what the Grandmaster said.”

“She is so scrawny though!”

“Don’t doubt the Grandmaster. She has never been wrong before.”

“Yeah, Yeah. I know but still..”

Voices? I could hear voices coming from the dark, yet...none sounded familiar. Perhaps the Master had guests...wait...where am I? Slowly I finally managed to wrench open my eyes. I was in a strange room with my hands bound. A strong odor of which I had no intention of finding the origin of, punched my nostrils. The walls around me were made of cold wet stone; almost as if we were underground somewhere. No, this was definitely not the Master’s house. Vaguely, I recalled what had happened that night, Granny’s warning, the toothless man, and now...this.

“Oh good it's awake.” a cold voice wrenched me from my memories.

I looked up fearfully at what appeared to be my captures. Before me stood a boy and girl that looked to be mid teens. The boy was crouched down looking at me with amber gold eyes and dark skin. He was lean and wore a bored expression on his face. The other was a tall exotic-looking girl who was covered from head to toe in tattoos; strange especially for her age. She had a stern look on her face and it was clear that she was in no mood for messing around.

“Alright, this is boring. Can you stand, girl?” The boy asked.

I nodded, afraid to speak and slowly stood shakily to my feet. I was beyond fearful at this point. What did they want with me? I wasn’t even fourteen yet; surely I was too young and insignificant to bother with. I am just a lowly servant girl after all! And why me? These questions swirled in my head as he wrenched me forward and began tugging me behind him. The girl followed up closely behind. I stumbled, still groggy from whatever had knocked me out. He yanked me forward harder and snarled at me.

“Keep up! And do not even think of giving me a hard time.”

I let out a little whimper but tried harder to keep up. Finally after what seemed like forever, we came to a large, round windowless room. The boy yanked me toward the center of it where a black crumpled notebook lay open on the floor. An unknown voice spoke suddenly, causing a shiver to run down my spine.

“Blood.”

The boy nodded as if it was a command and whipped out a dagger. Where had he got that? I had not noticed that before...Yelp! I shrieked as he quickly slit my palm before I could react. The blood droplets fell to the notebook and started to smoke. The smoke took shape and raised upwards; surrounding me.

“Do you accept?” An eerie voice called.

Finding my voice again, I finally spoke up.

“What are you talking about? Who are you? What do you want from me?”

The smoke seemed to vibrate around me and a large inhuman head stared back at me with glowing eyes.

“Child, I am known as the Great Dragon Unseine. Years before you were even a thought, I worked with the humans to protect these lands from the demons that lurk among it. Over time, however, the humans felt that they no longer needed me; fearing me even. They turned away from us which allowed the demons to rise up again; threatening everything.” Her voice was soothing, yet sad. Forgetting my terror, I asked,.

“That’s terrible… but what can I do about it? Surely you could defeat them on your own?”

The dragon shook their head slowly.

“ I wish that was so. Unfortunately, along with many others of my kind, our link to the world is severed by the very ones we hoped to save. In order to exist in your world, we need a vessel who becomes our link. So young child, what do you say? Do you accept it? “

Seeing my hesitation, the dragon leaned in closer and whispered.

“You do not want to be a lowly servant forever, do you?’

Fire rushed into me. No, I refuse to be a lowly servant forever! Even if I had no idea of what I was getting into, even if it could be dangerous, it was a chance!

“I accept! ” I bellowed.

The dragon reared back and let out what seemed to be a chuckle.

“Very well then the pact is set!”

The dragon rushed forward and seemed to envelope me in raw energy. Then, the smoke disappeared and I was back with the boy and girl from before.

“Well, I didn’t think she would make it!” the boy exclaimed.

The stern girl glared at him.

“Shows what you know. Here, girl, take this.” the girl slid a mysterious black case to me.

My head was still spinning, but I glanced down at it. My jaw dropped. There was more money in there then what I would make in a year...Nay...two years! I looked up at her in shock. She grinned.

“What? Did you think we do this for free? This is your starting pay. After that, you will start your training. Provided you survive, you will move on to your own missions; earning more for each completed mission. You will be known as a changeling from now on; a vessel of which the dragon fights with. Get used to it. ”

And that was it. That was how I, Trixie, a lowly servant girl, became a part of something bigger than I could ever imagine. I had a long way to go, but no longer would I be a lowly servant ever again!

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

TheNeutralDragon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.