Filthy logo

TSC

Just Enough_cont.

By Josephine HowardPublished 2 years ago 32 min read
Like
2nd Edition _cont.

A Cup of Java

I finish dressing; hair in a bun, face nice and beat. Phone in hand, I head downstairs, responding to DD’s text from earlier. “Psst,” I type and hit send. I knew she would already be at work and eating breakfast at her desk. My friends are limited. When it comes to personal relationships, I honestly don’t have a lot of time for anyone. She is my only real girlfriend and the fact that she works for me is just a bonus.

I’m so grateful for her and all that she does and brings to my life. This child loves her some drama but lacked her own. She lived bi-curiously through me and didn’t even know how much I yearned for my own complete family. She had all that I didn’t: A husband, Phil, and two kids that adored her, an incredible family. All my life I figured I would be happy alone since I did the school thing and had my own medical practice. I could go and come as I pleased, be my own woman, etc. But the reality is that I still desire what I don’t have and didn’t think I’d need: a family to call my own.

She promptly responds, “What sup gal?” and smiling now, I head into the kitchen to brew me a fresh pot of coffee. I can already smell the aroma before its even brewed. I start singing out loud, “It’s Folgers in my cup,” as I lick my lips in anticipation. It’s pretty sad that I get excited about coffee, but it’s not like anyone is into me enough to know such a thing.

Denise shoots me another text while I’m fumbling with the filters, “How are you feeling now?”

“ I’m good boo. Thanks for checking. I’m making me some coffee, so u know in about 10 min or less I’ll have a smile on my face.”

I finish filling up the coffee maker, hit start and listen to the steam from the water touching the hot plate surface. It sizzles, and I know that I will be good to go with a warm cup of java soon. I grab my favorite Starbucks cup from the dish strainer and reach into the silverware drawer beneath to find a spoon. I began to add two big spoonful’s of sugar and the same of vanilla creamer. The aroma of the Columbian roast blend fills the air and my nose couldn’t be happier.

I hear the series of beeps announcing that my coffee is ready so I grab the glass pot and ever so gently pour the contents of the black substance into the cup that quickly turned creamy. I stir in a circular motion and take the first sip, careful not to burn my lips or tongue. Feeling more peaceful, happy, and calm I take another sip and glance at my phone to see DD’s newest text, “glad ur in good spirits but u still have 2 share the details.” As I finish reading this text another pops up, “I rescheduled all the appointments today except for 1 ”.

A third text comes through… but not from her. “Call me if you get a free moment.”

I click on the text and see it’s from my daddy. I’m happy to hear from him but thought about the conversation my mother and I had just a few hours ago about this very person cheating on her. My smile turns into a slight frown. Maybe I was giving my dad too much benefit of the doubt here or maybe my mother is just going crazy. “Uhhhhffff,” I groan as I take another sip of coffee.

He doesn’t know I took today off so I can wait a little bit before I respond to him. But what if he needs something? I guess I can at least respond to the text and just be assured he’s not sick or something. “Man, why do I have to be the person in the middle?” I mutter out loud.

I respond to his text with, “Good morning daddy. What sup you okay?” prayerfully hoping that it’s nothing serious and he’s just missing his baby girl.

Denise had sent me a message while I was texting my dad. “Hey lady, I forgot to tell u that ur dad called. told him ur out of the office 2day.” So that’s why he’s texting me so early on a weekday. He is my dad and he can text me anytime he wants to and expect a response. But today I just feel as if I’m stuck between a rock and a hard place, with my mother distraught about his infidelity. I mean some stuff shouldn’t have to be said, right?

“Do you want to grab a bit of breakfast or lunch with your old man today since you’re not in the office?” he texts back. I look up at the ceiling and back down at my cup to take a swig of serenity that was at this point down to the last portion of cold, not completely iced coffee. I bring it to my lips and gulp it down as I think of an answer.

“Should I go to lunch with daddy or head out for a spa day with my mom,” I ask myself. I don’t know my dad’s side of the story and I guess my mother could just be assuming that he’s cheating. But do I want to hear either story at this very moment? Do I want to actually confront the possibility of my dad, this dear sweet man, having a side chick and or possibly even another family?

I decide to give my brain a break from their nonsense and grab another cup of coffee. I stir it up and toss the spoon in the deep blacked out stainless steel sink. Once I finish drinking this I’ll respond with my decision but for now I’m actually going to enjoy this freaking cup of coffee and watch a little news while I do.

Meanwhile, I respond to Denise. “Thanks girl. He hit me up before u said anything but no worries… I’m cool and collected,” I assured her, “I’ll call u in about 30 min or so. Let me finish this cup of java.”

She replies, “ok cool. Let me know if u need me, I’m here.”

I send her a smiley face and plop down on my red leather round swivel chair. By far my absolute favorite spot in the whole house to spend my waking hours (well except my bed and shower obviously), I find myself at peace even if only for a moment. I take a gulp of comfort, and start flipping through the channels.

I realize I was supposed to reach out to my momma and fill her in on the plans of the day. I need to think of a clever way to convince her that my assistant Denise should come to the spa with us today. DD works hard, and when we can, we play hard as well and I’m sure she would love to be a part of our, “Girls day off.”

I pick up the phone to call my mom. “Enjoy this ring tone selection as we try to reach your caller,” I hear Whitney Houston’s song, I’m every woman”

as I wait patiently for my mother to answer. “Hellur,” she says in her Medea voice and I can’t help but laugh.

“Hello mommy. You dressed and all dolled up?”

“Chile I’m dressed but I don’t know about the dolled up part. Shoot, I’m a married woman.”

We giggle together and I say, “I know that momma, but we are going to have some fun today. While you are married to the luckiest man on the planet, you got to be cute. I’m trying to snatch me up a poor soul to say that very same thing about. Weeeez a married now!” I finish in my Ms. Sealy voice from The Color Purple and we both laugh out loud.

“I hear you baby! So what exactly are we doing today?”

“Well, I thought we’d do a little spa day. Maybe get a manicure/pedicure and, if you want, get your hair done.”

“Well I guess that will be all right,” she says in a very happy go lucky tone.

“Momma, do you mind if DD comes with us? She is holding down the office today and well if you say yes I will let her close up early and meet us there.”

“Honey that’s your friend and if you want her to come that’s fine. She may need it more than the both of us… How’s she doing, by the way?” she asks, mildly concerned.

“She’s doing real good for herself. Graduated like three weeks ago and well, it’s been so busy this month that we didn’t really get to celebrate yet.”

“Well I’ll be! Why yes, invite that chile to come hang with us.”

I smile and respond with a polite, “Yes ma’am,” as if it were her idea the whole time. “Okay momma, I’m almost done here at the house. I can call you when I’m en route or do you just want to meet me at the spa off Lenox road?”

It’s almost as if I could hear her thoughts running through her brain as she took a few minutes to decide and replies, “I’ll meet you there baby, let’s say 10: 30ish?”

“Perfecto Senorita,” I say with an exaggerated Spanish accent.

She laughs and chirps, “Don’t forget DD!”

“Okay, but momma wait did you speak to daddy? Does he know that we’re hanging today, or you didn’t say?”

“I did speak to him briefly but it wasn’t about anything we had going on today. I figured if you wanted him to know you would have told him or invited him.”

“Fair enough. He asked me to call him this morning. Not sure what it was about but he wanted to have breakfast or lunch. You didn’t put him up to that did you?”

“Shame on you!” she exclaims. “Your father loves you no matter what he has going on the side lovey. If you have time, make some for him. I’m certain he will enjoy that.”

“Yes ma’am. I love you and will see you in a few hours. Kisses!”

I press the end button on the screen. Still semi-watching the news, I call DD. As soon as she picks up I’m like, “Hey girl! You got anything going on that would keep you from hanging out with me and my crazy momma today?”

“Uhhhh, you’re the boss” she says laughing as if this was a joke.

“Yeah, I guess I am huh?” I ask sarcastically. “Well, me and my old lady are going to the spa. You can lock the office down and say we will be back about 3pm… unless you got something else you need to do? I am still going to pay you for the day either way.”

“Girl you know I’m grateful!”

“I know. And besides you know my momma wants to gossip with you,” I say, giggling.

“So you coming to get me? Please bring me something cute to wear so I can get outta this suit.”

“What do you want?”

“Well…” she hesitates, “something close to what you will have on, so I’m not too far out of place?”

“Not to worry. I gotcha. See you about 10-ish or so.”

“You bet. I’ll put a note on the front door shortly.”

“Cool beans, I’ll text you when I’m en route.”

I finish the last bit of my second cup of java.

Example of Perfection

The “Steve Harvey” show comes back on the TV, obviously from a commercial break. Now that’s, “The Perfect Man,” if there ever was one. I imagine myself giving examples like I’m auctioning him off at a charity ball. “Ladies place your bids now! He is a married man; faithful and a loving father. He has several successful careers, a great sense of humor, and a very sexy moustache. A lot of good things indeed and surely he worked hard to deserve them. You can have dinner of your choice and he’s yours for the night, but only if you’re the highest bidder during this auction. Come on Ladies! Let’s start the bidding at…”

I pause, turn off the TV and begin to question if something is wrong with me. I’m feeling a little emotional and lusting after this married man; potentially just because he was someone I couldn’t have. I briefly think back to the dream of “the beautiful man” I had last night and the “shower act” he inspired. The shower act that was so intense that my body trembled just remembering the orgasm I had experienced. The thought itself was almost too real. It almost felt like this man was haunting me now. I will not throw myself a pity party. “Sonya, get your ass up so you can get out this house,” I say out loud.

I scurry upstairs two steps at a time. My toes squeeze the carpet tightly not to slide back down and I reach the top and slow my steps so I don’t trip. I’m such a clumsy ass. I’m that girl that will fall up the stairs. I laugh at myself and continue down the hall.

My room, bathroom, and walk in closet, take up a whole side of the top floor of the house. I have way too much space to be in this big ass place alone but it’s a personal preference for me. I’m loving all my square footage, but it’s a big space for one person. That’s why I have cameras installed throughout the whole house, inside and out. They’re in my bedroom, the kitchen, the hallway and my personal closet where my safe is located. I have a panic button in every main room and only I have access to all of my bedroom footage. Well, at least I am supposed to anyhow. The outside entrances are being monitored 24 hours a day. It could be that some of the security staff watches my ass but at least I feel a little more safe knowing that someone is looking over me and my house while I’m here alone or gone. Thank goodness Phil and DD own the security company. I know he will fire they ass if they’re misrepresenting his company or using footage inappropriately.

I walk into the bathroom to let out fluids in the toilet. “All that damn coffee,” I mutter. I wipe, flush and wash my hands. The lavender jasmine hand wash offered a nice yet not too sweet smell. I dry my hands on the blue and floral hand towel, and walk into the closet to pick up my shoes. I almost forget to grab an outfit for DD, but remember at the last second and turn around to pull out a nice Louis Vuitton bag for the change of clothes she asked me to bring. I look over the selection of dresses, knowing she will like something long, but sleek. “Perfect!” I exclaim as I grab the cute Jamaican signature colored dress which I knew she loved. This dress was made for me when I went on my Adult Vacation Parties trip with a home girl, Rebecca. She likes to travel and offered for me to join her for an all-expenses paid, all-inclusive trip. She’s planning to marry a King from Dubai so they got money and he does not care about her spending it on the people she loves. We had a lot of fun together and Rebecca could’ve been my girlfriend if I didn’t need a real dick in my life. We still remain great friends (probably a closer bond even than what DD and I have) and I reflect on how much fun I’ve had with her.

The company, Adult Vacation Parties, is owned by a Canadian Woman, and her Jamaican husband. They’re a very sexy couple who offer group vacations in amazing settings for couples, singles, swingers, watchers, or whatever people are into. You didn’t have to join in the fun, but if you did, there were so many options available. They have an amazing group of staff and most of the events happen in Jamaica. I mean, we all saw How Stella Got Her Groove Back. Such a beautiful country and a “must do again” experience.

I snap out of the memory and grab a pair of COACH slides, throwing them in the bag. I turn the lights off and walk back into the bedroom. I realize I didn’t make my bed and quickly began fixing the covers and fluffing the pillows. I flip the lights off and head back down the stairs one step at a time, careful not to fall on the way down.

I grab my purse, keys, and phone and head out the door.

The Spa

I reach the office quickly today. I took the normal route, 75 North to Spring Street, and I make a left onto 5th street. Stopped at the traffic light, I text DD, “I’m down the street”. My office is on the right, 101 Peachtree Street SW.

I don’t bother to park in the parking deck. I throw “Ben” my G-wagon, into park, throw my flashers on, and wave at Matthew, the security officer on duty. He waves back, offering a smile and walks up to the truck.

“Hey Dr. Parks, you must be working out of the office today?”

“Yes. We are having an unannounced ladies day and won’t be back until after lunch.”

“Roger that. Enjoy your day.”

“Thanks,” I say kindly and grab my phone to call DD.

She answers immediately, “I’m in walking out now. Be there in a few seconds.”

A few seconds later, the glass doors of the building are opened by the doorman. “Good day Mrs. Jefferson” he said gracefully as if he had a slight crush. I see her break a smile and she quickly makes it to the truck, opens the door, and jumps in the passenger seat.

“Hey boo thang!” she says in a happy go lucky voice. I can’t help but smile as I reply, “Hey babes! You ready to go do some gossiping with my momma?”

“Hells yes!“ she responds without hesitation.

I turn off my flashers, place Ben in drive, and slowly pull out into the traffic. DD and I start chatting until the next traffic light, when I notice it’s a quarter to 10. I reach for my phone and hold down 1 to speed dial my momma.

“Hello, my love child,” she answers in the sweetest voice.

“Hey momma! We are on the way. Are you there yet?”

“Well, I had to stop by the pharmacy and grab meds so I’ll be there in 15 minutes if I don’t hit any traffic.”

“Okay, that’s perfect. See you soon!”

“Love you baby,” she offers me in a melancholy voice. As if she had just taken a happy pill. “Tell DD hey and can’t wait to see her,” she manages to get out before we hang up.

“Hey Mrs. Del!” DD yells across the truck.

We get back on the Interstate with ease and up to 85North and over to 400. We run into a little traffic but only because the Georgia State troopers were out doing their “who is going to get a ticket on my watch” routine. ”End of the month quotas have to be met in every business,” I say to ease the monotony of the ride.

“Girl, yes. They have nothing else better to do than to be messing with people on their lunch break,” DD jokes.

“I know, right?” I give her back as we laugh almost at the same time. We get to our exit, and I signal to get off. We make a left onto Lenox road and pass the Macy’s mall on the left. I continue on until we are stopped at the light right by Aja restaurant. I make conversation, mentioning how unique the name Aja was and if I ever had a daughter that would be her name.

She laughed, “Really? You do know the root of that word is goat, right?”

I turn my head, smirking. “I know smart ass, but it’s rare and spelled uniquely. Unless anyone is studying what the meaning is they won’t know,” I say, as I stick my tongue out at her.

She laughs hard as the light turns green. “Hey,” she blurts out, “Did you grab me a change of clothes?”

“Yes ma’am, it’s in that brown Louis V bag.”

“Thanks girl. You know when we come from being pampered I am going to want to be comfortable.”

“Yes I do. And I threw you a pair of slides in there as well.”

“Oh shoot you thought of my feet’s,” DD says, making both of us laugh.

We keep straight to get to the second entrance of the mall. After searching for a spot to park, I decide to do valet. We hop out of the truck as momma is pulling up now too. I wave to the valet, and he runs over. “Good Day Ladies,” he says with a beautiful yet flirtatious smile.

I flirt back with, “Good day to you to handsome.”

“You have a beautiful smile,” he offers, grinning.

“Thank you” I reply, “and coming from such a lovely specimen as yourself, I feel honored.”

After reminding DD to grab the Louis V bag, I hand the valet the keys to Ben and let him know that I will be taking care of both this vehicle and the red Mercedes E-Class my momma was sporting. He winks and gives us both our tickets as we cross over to the sidewalk. I offer my momma a hug, and she gives one back to both me and DD, clearly welcoming all the smiles and good energy we bring.

“Glad you two ladies would come spend the day with me,” she says in a tone that makes me think she was feeling lonely.

“Momma, you all right?” I ask gently.

“Yes of course. Why would you ask such a thing?” she said hastily.

“I was merely asking. No harm no foul,” I say, simply to end that craziness before she got started.

Into the mall entrance we go, up the escalators to the right and, “SPA! Here we come,” I say as we all exit off the ride.

Walking into the spa, we are all greeted warmly by the receptionist, Elizabeth. “Welcome to the Del Rio Spa Ladies!”

We all are giddy and respond, “Hello!” in sync, laughing and looking at each other as if we had been practicing for this very moment.

“Do you have an appointment or are you just joining us today?” the receptionist queries, smiling all the way.

”We will be crashing the party,” I respond quickly, “of course unless you are full, that is.”

Melanie, the manager, walks out of the back office, sees me, and smiles. “Dr. Parks! Good to see you! It’s been a while.”

I kindly acknowledge her with a big smile and say, “Likewise, and it has been a minute, but time waits for no one. Got to get it in while the getting is good.”

She smiles and whispers something to Elizabeth, as if it were a private manner. “Certainly,” Elizabeth replies and turns back to us.

“Ladies if you will please be so kind to fill out this form. It will speed up the process, and we can get you registered and checked in. Just grab a flower pen,” she says, pointing to the bouquet of plastic flowers in a clear vase filled with blue marbles.

“Clever idea,” DD beats me to saying, as if she had read my mind.

I tap her on her shoulder and ask, “So we going to be in sync all day huh?” and we both laugh.

“I’ll take those,” Elizabeth offers as we complete our forms and hands us the keys to our lockers. All three were numbered appropriately and had plastic hand bracelets, so that they could go where we went with ease. “Your lockers are 101, 103, and 105. Located in the lockers are your robes and slippers. Once you are ready to proceed, we can get you set up with a massage specialist,” Elizabeth informs us as she escorts us to the back room.

The smell of lavender fills my nose, and another room filled with lemon and cucumber water catches my eye as the smell of fresh cut flowers makes my mother sneeze. “Bless You!” rings out from different women all over the spa.

We reach the locker room and Elizabeth walks us to our assigned lockers. “Here you go ladies! Enjoy your treatments and do let us know if there’s anything we can do to make your experience more enjoyable.”

We thank her graciously and I’m already debating the size of the tip I’m going to leave her. Every time I come here the staff is super nice, and very professional. Like clockwork.

DD starts babbling: “this is so nice,” “look at the showers,” “Oh my goodness,” “hey, they have a bikini dryer,” as if she had never seen one. Truth be told; I hadn’t seen one either. With as many times as I’ve been to this very spot I only get a rubbing and usually have to jet right out the door. Today would be an adventure for all of us.

We open our lockers and find a nice thick white terry cloth robe and plastic shower shoes waiting inside with plenty of room to spare for our things. I slip out of my heels first and as I lift my dress over my head (no shy bone in my body) I’m feeling free and ready to be pampered.

Grabbing my robe and plastic shoes, I hear my momma say, “Girl, I don’t think I’ve ever seen you get undressed so fast, even as a child.”

DD snickers, as if she just heard the funniest of funnies.

“I only slid off my dress and shoes, no need to wear undergarments,” I respond, grinning devilishly.

“I declare, I don’t know what you kids have going on now-a-days, but if it works for you, then keep it going I guess,” she replies over her shoulder as she turns away to slip off her bra. For what it’s worth, my momma maybe in her 50’s, but her body looks as if she was still in her late 30’s or early 40’s. She keeps herself together; eating right and exercising often. I was a proud daughter to know that one day I could potentially look as good as she did.

It seemed as if we had hit the jackpot today. No one else was in the locker room, giving us full privacy to explore all the exciting amenities they had to offer. By the lockers there’s a two way mirror that I want to take home with me, sweet smelling body sprays, deodorant, powder, a hair dryer; everything we needed to enjoy our time with ease. The shower area has a wicker towel rack, filled with freshly folded towels and an attendant who eyes us as we run around amusing ourselves. In the shower stalls, I find liquid soap, the good stuff too. Shampoo, conditioner, razors and shaving cream: this place was the bomb.com.

We were pleased and ready for the next phase: the massages. Walking to the door in a single-file line, like kindergarteners headed to the lunchroom, we’re greeted by Tiffany, Stephanie and Linda. Our three masseuses each greet us politely, by name, and offer to show us to our private rooms. Into room 16 my mother went for a deep tissue massage. DD chose a hot rock massage in room 9. For me it’s the therapeutic body wrap and I’m shown into room 11.

Upon entering my room, there’s the aroma of fresh seaweed and lavender. There’s a musical serenade of almost contemporary elevator music. No singing, just a soft melody. In the far corner, closest to the window, it’s mesmerizingly and softly lit with candles. This had to be where the different aromas I encountered upon entering the room came from. A table with white towels lying across it with sheets and dressings is set up to the right of the massage table. On the opposite side I see a cart topped with bottles and bowls, presumably the oils and wraps that are needed for this soothing adventure.

Linda, my masseuse, says, “You may disrobe and place it here,” pointing to the hanger on the wall.

“Please lay underneath the covers fully naked, on your stomach please.” She points to the bedding and continues, “You may cover up with additional sheets as needed. I’ll leave you now for about five minutes so you can get comfortable. Enjoy the peace and serenity CD,” she adds and then briskly walks out the door and gently closes it, careful not to disrupt the energy in the room.

I do as instructed and hurriedly get comfortable underneath the 1200 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets. It almost feels like home as I place my head down in the face portion of the table, staring at the pattern on the carpet below. Two soft knocks on the door later and Linda enters the room saying, “Ms. Parks are you ready to relax and get pampered for the next 60 minutes?” as she walks by my already almost limp body.

I can barely speak from being in such a tranquil state of mind, but I manage to get out, “YESSS. I have been waiting on this since the last time I was here.”

In a soft voice, she replies, “So you have been here before, eh?” and she begins to rub the warm oil into her hands. Linda applies a few drops on her left palm and rubs them together… slowly separating the two and applying them to my upper back. I wonder how momma and DD are doing at this point. I made sure that whatever massage therapy we decided on we all got the same 60 minutes of treatment. Lord knows I needed my alone time. Just to be at peace.

I let out a sigh of pure ecstasy as she applies just enough pressure. Somewhere between the back massage and the leg massage I doze off in a semi-natural sleep. Not dead sleep like I’m super tired… but I was most assuredly relaxed. She applied the therapeutic wrap and I felt the warmth of the heat as it radiated out. After the wraps she lifts my right leg into an “L” format. She applies the warm oil and starts massaging my feet, continuing in an upward motion, to the bottom base of my buttock. She commences to the other foot and leg, with the same upward motions.

Linda completes the session and covers up my lower extremities. She takes the towel off my back which had cooled down to room temperature. “How do you feel Ms. Sonya?” she asks, as if she knew me on a personal level.

“I feel great and refreshed. I’ll definitely ask for you again,” I assure her, thanking her again for what was a much needed visit.

“But of course! I’m thrilled you enjoyed my company today and allowed me to be of needed service,” she graciously replies. “I’ll step out now and allow you to gather your composure and when you’re ready, you can put on your robe and head back to the locker room area. I’ll go check on the other guests in your group for you now. Thanks again!”

She closes the door behind her and I lay there an extra three minutes and shimmy my body just to wake it up. I had an amazing nap and I’m not sure what she did, but I was definitely knocked out there for a bit. Perhaps it was the very peaceful and serene environment. Whatever it was, it was a must do over. I sit up and allow my organs to fall back into their respected places and dangle my feet to allow the blood to circulate back through them.

I carefully step down from the table, and walk to the wall where my robe is hanging. I pull it closed and tighten it just enough with the belt that I can hear my stomach growl. I’m starving at this point. Time to get a bite to eat, I decide as I think of the other two ladies. Once we get back to the locker room we can decide if we want to eat here or go elsewhere. We are in Buckhead so there’s an endless amount of restaurants to choose from. I figure I’ll allow my guests to decide and I find my way to the shower room.

My momma comes in behind me and gives me the biggest kiss on the cheek, holding my head so that she doesn’t miss a spot or maybe so I can’t move. “This was so refreshing doll. I don’t know about you but I needed this to the fullest, so much in fact, that I am going to pay for all of our services,” she generously offers.

“Momma…” I say, turning around to look at her.

“Now child, don’t start. How about you leave the tips and feed us some lunch? I think I can eat a whole horse by myself right now,” she laughs and walks past me to the showers. I follow, kind of looking like I just had my cornbread stolen and wanted that piece so bad, but what could I do?

DD walks in just as I turn the corner for the showers. “Girl, my ass fell asleep,” she giggles.

“Shhhh,” I whisper, putting my index finger over my mouth “Honey child booboo, so did I. That shit felt too good. I wish Linda was a guy, but she did her thing.”

“Yeah Stephanie is one of the best herself. I got to at least tip her…” she offered. I let her know that momma is paying for the services and I’m leaving the tip.

“What?” she asks. “How did you allow that to happen?”

Looking at the wall behind her, I notice a hung picture with a momma cuffing her baby’s cheeks. “She did that to me,” I declare, pointing over to the portrait.

“WOW! That’s so sweet Sonya. Your momma is a keeper girlie…If you don’t want her I do,” she says sarcastically. We laugh and continue into the showers.

We each take our own stalls and wash off the oils of serenity, leaving no trace of taking a girls outing, than relaxed muscles, from head to toe. Walking to our lockers to get dressed, DD begins to gush, “Thank you so much ladies for inviting me. Mrs. Del, you are so sweet and Sonya is super lucky to have a mother like you.”

I throw the wet towel at her as if to hush up the mushiness, but in fact it was to say, “Nah my sister, you got to get your own sweet lady. This one belongs to me.” She gives me the pinky finger in lieu of a bird. Out of respect for each other, we decided a long time ago that if we ever have to really tell each other to “fuck off” then we really didn’t need to be friends… and it’s worked this long. So far so good.

Getting dressed was a breeze. Utilizing all the products they offered, I tried not to be too greedy because I really did have all of this stuff in my car. I just didn’t think to bring my bag up when I gave a friendly reminder to DD to grab the other one. I pick up the wet towel I threw at DD and toss it in the bin along with my wet slippers. Momma and DD do the same. We chat while we’re getting ready and decide to leave the spa and eat in a different setting.

At the front counter my mother gets the total bill which was $375 for all three sessions. She offers her American Express card. Elizabeth swipes the Amex and patiently waits for the signature receipt to print. She hands both copies to my mother and requests, “Please sign one, and I’ll take that one and of course, the other is yours to keep.”

I walk up and ask Elizabeth if I can leave a cash tip. “Sure you can! Here’s an envelope and…”

“Oh, I need three separate ones please,” I interrupt her.

“Certainly,” she replies and passes me two more.

I take a seat in the corner of the room and pull out my wallet. The one that keeps the green papers in it. I unzip the back portion and pull out three fifty dollar bills, placing them one at a time in each envelope. I write their names on them with a little message of thanks, then hand them to Elizabeth with a smile, “Thank you again, we had a wonderful time! See you again soon!”

I turn to leave, then swivel back around to say, “Oh Elizabeth! I forgot to ask. May I leave some of my business cards over there on that table?” referring to the table that was attached to a mirrored glass with a nice display of products that would be offered in the different massage packages. On the middle of this particular display table are a lot of cards. Presumably, different business’ that had utilized the spa quite as I did. I didn’t see any harm in leaving a card.

Elizabeth smiles, nodding her assent, and I pull out a stack of ten cards and neatly place them on the side. “Thank you again,” I say, smiling at her as I walk out the door.

We leave the spa happier and in a state of peacefulness unlike when we entered. As we head back down the escalator, I run into Sean Hathaway, a colleague from an internship I did before I got my doctorate. I’m not sure how he remembers me from all the people at the college but he does. “Sonya?” he yells, riding up the escalator as we three are coming down.

I look up in dismay thinking, “Who the hell is this guy?”

“Girl, it’s me Sean, from Central Hospital!” he yells down.

Everyone looks at of us as if we are long lost loves but the Sean I remember was 100% flamboyant and not into women. But people do change and maybe he had decided to change up his sexual preference. I see him get on the down escalator and decide to wait, just for laughs and giggles.

He almost stumbles at the end of the escalator, like he’s stepping off a moving ride, then walks over and extends his arms to give me hug. “Hey how are you?” we both inquire as we hug and back away as if we were the best of friends. It’s at this point that I realize for sure that I do know him. He was my study group buddy. We had a lot of long nights, writing papers and working on our dissertations, but he went on to be an M.D., while I decided on Psychology. We lost touch not too long after graduation.

DD and my mother are patiently waiting and deciding what they want to eat. Sean turns to my mother and in his Wendy Williams voice says, “Hey Mrs. D, how you doing?”

“Honey, I’m staying in the lane,” she replies, smiling.

“That’s good to hear Hun-tee,” he says in a tone that makes it clear we are still batting for the same team.

“Girl,” he says, turning back to me, “we need to catch up. It’s been a long time.”

“Yes. It really has been a minute huh? Listen, we just came from the spa and we are starving.” I reach down, grab my gold embossed card holder, and extract one. “Here’s my card. Call me,” I tell him as I write my personal cell number on the back.

Sean takes the card. “Mmmmhmmm. We got a lot of catching up to do Ms. Thang.”

I laugh and agreed that we must link up soon. He comes in for the classic kiss on the cheeks without actually doing the real kiss; smooches on the left and then again on the right. “I’m going to text you in a few so that you can save my number. If I remember correctly, you don’t answer numbers you don’t know” he says archly.

“You know me all too well. I might have a stalker somewhere’s that I don’t about know yet,” I reply, raising an eyebrow and grinning.

“Mmmhmm, me too honey, me too. Well, I’m going to let y’all get on to that lunch. Talk to you later boo!” And just like that, he heads back up into the mall.

Mother and DD are walking now towards the main entrance to exit the building. “Ladies, where did we decide to grab lunch?” I ask as I catch up with them.

“It needs to be something quick but nothing fast food,” momma quickly says. I shrug. It doesn’t matter to me really, since I’m Starvin’ like Marvin.

We reach the valet and still haven’t come to a decision. We hand him our tickets and I notice that this is a different fella. Nevertheless, I pull out two five dollar bills and a twenty. I hand one of the five dollar bills to my old lady. She smiles and politely takes the offered tips. “Thanks lovey” she says, winks, and blows me a kiss. “So have we decided yet?”

“There’s a diner on Cheshire Bridge road,” I suggest, “and they have pretty decent food and the staff isn’t that bad. It’s lunch time but they may not be that busy. Besides, I can use some coffee and they usually do have fresh coffee around this time.”

Realizing that I didn’t get a chance to talk to my mom about the infidelity call that we were supposed to touch on during the course of the day, I turn away from DD and quietly ask, “Ma, do we still need to chat today or would you like to wait and talk about the situation later?”

“Honey, I told you we don’t have to worry about that. Let’s just enjoy the day.”

“Perfect. Let’s head to the diner,” is my relieved reply. “I’ll follow you.”

I feel bad for forgetting that we didn’t get to have our mother/daughter chat about the possibility of daddy having a girlfriend. But why spoil the rest of our day with that nonsense that’s probably mama overreacting anyways. I will mention the concern to her after we settle in later. Perhaps, she doesn’t want to talk about it with me after all. Considering the initial reaction to all of this, truly didn’t mean to hurt my mother’s feeling and or pride. Hopefully, she will come around.

Our cars pull up, one behind the other, the driver doors opening. Two separate valets at this point. The one with Ben wasn’t sure who was a passenger but quickly realized that DD was in the G-wagon. He politely opens the passenger door. I walk around the front and open the back door to throw my purse in, close it and hop in the driver seat. He closes DD’s door and I wave for him to come back around. I give him the $20 as the valet fee for both vehicles and the $5 as his tip. He smiles and thanks me.

Momma checks her rear view to make sure I’m good and starts to pull out. I place “Ben” in drive and ride on through the lot following her. “And off to the diner we go,” I mumble as my stomach gurgles.

erotic
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.