Filthy logo

The Gem of Julliard

A night on the town

By Craig and Wendalynn NewmanPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

Harrison took two pills out and popped them into his mouth. He held onto the bathroom counter for support and took a few deep breaths. He looked up at his reflection. He looked good. He was wearing a classic black suit with a red tie. He slipped the bottle of pills into his pocket and headed back to his table. He did not want to keep his date waiting too long. As he walked through the crowded restaurant, he remembered feeling accomplished after asking Gem to join him for dinner tonight. He reminisced about how beautiful she was swaying sexily in front of him in the private VIP lounge. After his last lap dance, he had explained to her that he was leaving town and would not be returning to the club. That was when he worked up the nerve to ask her out. Gem was hesitant at first, but his warm, kind eyes had swayed her.

Gem sat at the table in a lavender gown that had a lace bodice and chiffon skirt. The dress was complimented by crystal teardrop earrings and a matching bracelet.

“You look lovely Gem,” Harrison said as he reached their table. “Shall I call you Gem tonight or…”

Gem smiled as she was pleasantly surprised that he would be so considerate to realized that she wouldn’t want to be called Gem outside of the club. He saw her as a person, not an object.

“Jasmine,” she said. “Jasmine Wallace.”

Harrison nodded. “Then shall we have dinner, Jasmine?”

Jasmine smiled. “Yes. Harry. Let’s order.”

As if by magic, a waiter appeared, poised and ready to take their selections. Jasmine looked around and admired the beautiful restaurant. Someday, when she was a prima ballerina, she would patronize so many beautiful places.

“So, what do you think?” Harrison asked, about the wine, after their first sip.

“I think this place is so lovely. Someday, I hope to be able to go to more places like this. I’m working my plan, but sometimes it’s hard to be patient.”

Harrison put his glass down and leaned in. “What is the plan?”

She saw that sweet kindness that was always in his eyes now lit with anticipation. “Well, I’m going to be attending Juilliard in the fall. I’m going to need to put all my attention and energy into my studies. I have to save up to cover my personal expenses and exotic dancing is the best way to make enough money in the time that I have.”

“What will you be studying at Juilliard?” Harrison asked.

“Dance. I want to be a prima ballerina. I know it’s ironic. I’m dancing so I can be a dancer.” Jasmine blushed. “I tried waitressing and retail, but I wasn’t able to save much. And then, I saw an ad for dancers. It guaranteed $500 minimum per night, and I figured, at least, it was a form of dance.”

“You’re a beautiful dancer. And it’s your right to do everything that you can to reach your goals. But Juilliard is expensive, is it not?” Harrison asked.

Jasmine rolled her eyes dramatically “Oh yes! But that part I’ve got covered.”

“Oh?” Harrison put his fork and knife down, focusing on her and almost forgetting about his dinner.

“Well, it’s nothing magical, but it was hard work. I got a scholarship. I didn’t have any other choice. My Mom passed several years ago. Dad was super supportive, but he was blue-collar. Then, he started having health problems and he passed 2 years ago.” Jasmine’s voice revealed the sting of pain. “So, I have to chase my dreams myself.” Jasmine sat up taller as she continued. “I applied for the scholarship and practiced for months. Sometimes, my slippers had bloodstains. My feet hurt so badly that I just sat and cried.”

Harrison reached out and put his hand over hers. “I’m sure that your parents are very proud. That is quite an accomplishment. And you should be very proud of yourself, as well.”

A busboy cleared their dinner plates, and their waiter delivered their dessert.

“This looks amazing,” Jasmine said, looking at the dessert that appeared more like a work of art than food. “Yes, I’m very proud. No matter how hard it got, I just pressed on because I love to dance. I can’t wait to be on the stage mesmerizing the audience with the movements telling the story. The music swells and they are taken away from everything for those few moments while I flow across the stage.” Jasmine finished with a dramatic wave of her hand and a deep happy breath.

Harrison stared for a moment in amazement. He admired her ambition. She downplayed what a huge achievement getting that scholarship was, but he knew that it had to have been a lot of blood, sweat, tears, and even swears to get there. As much as he enjoyed all the lap dances and main stage numbers she had performed over the last year, he felt sad that she had worked so hard to achieve her dreams and yet was still stuck dancing at the club. Harrison then looked up to see her immensely enjoying the dessert. That made him smile again.

“How is the saving towards living expenses going?” Harrison asked.

“Well, let’s see.” Jasmine opened her purse and pulled out a small black notebook. She flipped it open and tapped her finger on the page. “I figure that I’m about halfway there. I’m planning on keeping my apartment. I don’t need the distraction or drama of living in the dorms. So, there is rent, utilities, food, clothes, personal items, you know? I figure I need about $200,000 for expenses for four years. I’ve saved almost $100,000, so far. So, almost halfway there.” Jasmine slid the notebook over so that Harrison could see and pointed to the last number on the page. $98,520. “I plan to invest some of this to gain some interest but still may need to work summers to supplement. I wish I could have saved more, but this town is so expensive. But I’ve had a few generous regulars that have really helped me to save what I have.” Jasmine gave him a wink of genuine gratitude for what he had given her over the last year.

He had always been a gentleman keeping his hands to himself on top of being very generous. He came into the club several times a week. Always in the evening and always on nights when he knew that she would be dancing.

“You may want to put what you don’t need for the first year into CDs. They are safe and earn a small but steady return.” Harrison gave her advice in a tone that expressed knowledge but didn’t assume she was uninformed either.

“I was actually thinking of a long-term money market. It makes a predictable return, and the interest is usually better than most other investments.”

Harrison raised his eyebrows “That is actually a very good idea. I have a colleague that works at Brunson & Waters, a very reputable firm. I think I have his card.” Harrison pulled a business card from his wallet and handed it to her.

“Thanks, Harry. I’ll give him a call.” She placed the card in her purse.

An hour later, they sat in a beautiful auditorium. A booklet sat in her lap with the title “A Night with the Best of Beethoven”. The symphony played flawlessly. Jasmine stared in amazement at the musicians, immensely enjoying what she was hearing. Harrison closed his eyes, also enjoying the performance. Jasmine liked how he looked so peaceful. She slid her hand into his.

After the symphony ended, Jasmine stopped by the ladies room. Harrison took out two pills from his pocket and used the water fountain quickly before she emerged and rejoined him.

They left the auditorium and, they strolled down the street, arm in arm.

“Do you want me to call you an Uber?” Harrison asked, concerned that she would get home safely.

“I don’t want this night to end yet. Is there a place where we can have a nightcap?” Jasmine asked, flashing him a hopeful smile.

“Sure, I’m staying in the city tonight. My hotel is up just a couple blocks and there is a nice lounge.”

“Yes, perfect.”

They sat in the lounge sipping their drinks and enjoying the piano player. They talked about everything from the best ballets to whether or not Wall Street should ban short selling. Before they knew it, several hours had gone by. Harrison yawned as it was getting late.

“Harry, let’s go up to your room.” She reached her hand out to him as she stood up.

“You don’t have to do…”

Jasmine cut him off as she grabbed his hand and pulled him up. “I know I don’t, but I want too.”

When they arrived at Harrison’s suite, Jasmine excused herself to freshen up. Harrison grabbed his phone. “Hey Mark, sorry to call you so late. The name is Jasmine Wallace. Email me the paperwork and I’ll sign immediately…. Yes, I’m sure. Talk to you soon.”

A few minutes later, Jasmine walked in as he clicked send. Jasmine stood there in fiery red bra and panties. She turned on some smooth jazz and dipped low, starting a sultry lap dance. She leaned in as if to kiss him.

Harrison gently touched her face. “I appreciate the dance, but I want to spend tonight with Jasmine, not Gem.”

She smiled. He kissed her then wrapped her in his arms. A short time later, they were both soundly asleep.

Jasmine woke up to a knocking sound and realized it was the door.

“Room Service!” a voice shouted from the other side. Jasmine opened the door, and a waiter rolled a cart inside. Jasmine grabbed her purse to give the young man a tip.

“Oh no miss, the gentleman has already taken care of it. Enjoy your breakfast.” And with that, he backed out of the door and was gone.

Jasmine looked around the suite for Harry, but he was nowhere to be found. She then saw an envelope on the breakfast cart. Ravenous, she grabbed a croissant and the letter and sat down to read it.

“My dearest Jasmine,

Thank you for the wonderful evening. I enjoyed spending my last night in the city with you. The truth is that I am leaving town to go home where I will stay under hospice care until I pass away. I am terminally ill and will be gone within two weeks. Enclosed you will find the name and number of my lawyer who will contact you soon. I have made you the sole beneficiary of my life insurance policy. You will receive $500,000. You will be a stunning prima ballerina. You are so talented, and I believe in you. My only regret is that I will not be able to see you perform on your first opening night. You have been a joy and a comfort to me this last year since my wife passed on. I wish you every joy and happiness life has to offer. Now go dance for the world.

With warmest regards,

Harrison”

Jasmine sat there with tears streaming down her face. There was a mix of deep sadness and pure joy all at once. Jasmine almost lovingly laid the letter on the bed. She grabbed her purse and pulled out her little black notebook and carefully added the numbers to the page. “$98,520 plus $500,000… $598,520.” She closed her eyes and pictured herself as strong, elegant, graceful. Prima Ballerina. She smiled as she remembered his warm, kind eyes and whispered, “Thank you, Harry.”

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.