Filthy logo

The Cult of Gor

A brief rant about living as a Gorean Slave

By S.M. VargasPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

How it Started

I have acknowledged the fact that I am a 24/7 submissive when I was 21, that currently gives me 10 years of experience in the lifestyle as a whole. Let me tell you the story of how my previous Master and I got roped into Gor and Goreans, and how it’s a dangerous and, frankly, screwed up cult.

The Introduction

My Master at the time, we’ll call him “G”, was not new to BDSM or the M/S (Master/slave) lifestyle, but he was still wet behind the ears. When I met him he was keen on me meeting some friends of his that he had met through a previous submissive. We met at one of the houses of a male member of the group of friends, they were self-proclaimed Goreans. They seemed nice enough. There was an older gentleman who looked very similar to a mixture of George R.R. Martin and Santa Clause (Master M), a tall and nerdy fellow (Master C) who looked to be a little older than myself and my Master. There were several women, two from Master M’s house and two from Master C’s house, along with the girl that my Master knew.

Yes, this is a lot of “Master So-n-so”, there’s a reason for this, I promise.

So I was given this really sweet run down about how Gor and Goreans work. “Free” people were Gorean and slaves were slaves. There was a casting system based on the books written by John Norman, so things like warriors, scribes, merchants, etc. The sweet spot to my poor, little new submissive mind was that slaves find themselves able to be truly them when they are slaves. That they get to feel the fires inside their “slave belly”.

G was super happy because he was welcomed as a friend, I was happy to meet more people involved in a 24/7 M/s lifestyle to learn new things from. Everything seemed great!

The Reality

So the books were originally written to fight feminism and instill the “Men are dominant, women are submissive, period end of discussion” power fantasy. It has some serious toxic masculinity in it. The women in the books tend to be snotty, horrid, and need to be “broken” into submission.

These books are what this whole “group” was based from.

This group is in several different states last I checked (albeit not that recently), and the followers of that group are dead set in the mentality of men are better than women. Not different. Not with different skills (which I will at least listen to that argument). No, better. They are the ones who are supposed to go through and be in charge. There are “Free Women” in Gor, but it is said and suggested that they are just slaves who don’t listen to their “slave heart”.

Slaves, by the way, are seen as property that can be sold (in some cases literally in the real world), and readily replaced if they do not “behave” properly. There’s poses they’re supposed to learn, phrases to say, and rituals to conduct. Oh, and all “Free” (read as non-slave) are referred to as “Master” or “Mistress”. This group is also heavily transphobic and treats male slaves like garbage because they are “fighting their natural instincts”.

I was in this group for about 4 years. I have mental health issues, and some physical barriers due to having had 3 abdominal surgeries. My mental health didn’t matter, my needs didn’t matter, and I was supposed to be “obedient and pleasing” at all times. All. Times. It was punishable if I was not.

Let’s talk about punishments, by the way. It wasn’t standing in a corner, it wasn’t a slight beating with a cane or something that is relatively normal in BDSM and M/s. No, when I was in the house of Master M it was a several foot long leather strap, looped around to equal 7-8 tails, and full strength whipping. If it was Master C’s place, he would straight up slap you in the face. Which, by the way, is a PTSD trigger for me, which he knew and didn’t care about because it was his house and he punished people as he saw fit.

Conclusion

I left. G and I left as soon as we opened our eyes and began talking to people in healthy M/s relationships. This group of “Goreans” are zealous fanboys of a misogynistic sci-fi book series, and they try to recruit people into their fanclub by promising males power over women and endless naked women kneeling at their feet. I have yet to meet a Gorean who doesn’t act like this and actually takes women seriously or respects them in the slightest.

I had four years of my life in this group, I had, and have, a lot of unlearning to do. Communication is something I have to work on every day because I still remember how it was treated if a slave spoke their mind. I still need to work on that “being pleasing” isn’t as important as being safe and healthy. It’s a process to unlearn, but at least I’m no longer part of the Cult of Gor.

taboo
1

About the Creator

S.M. Vargas

Melissa has been writing for as long as she could pick up a pencil. She has a way of creating fantastical fiction and bringing up questions to the minds of her readers. Melissa currently resides in Tennessee, but is native to Illinois.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.