Filthy logo

The Bishop's Daughter

Chapter 4

By Evie DahlPublished 3 years ago 16 min read
1

The Kimball house was packed with commotion; members shared their stories from the last week or catching up on gossip, while others filled the backyard. The younger members play soccer on the lawn, with a few on the sidelines hooting and hollering. Bishop Kimball stands in the living room, entertaining a group with thrilling stories of his work as a pilot, while his daughters rush around the kitchen with their mother, arranging platters of food, pulling dishes of food from the oven. Tabbie gathers plates and cutlery, placing them on the end of a large table. Sister Kimball gathers a tray of chopped vegetables in one hand and a bowl of dip in the other. She rounds the corner to the living room, accidentally bumping into a member. The sauce sloshes onto her dress, the bowl smashing as it hits the floor. The room freezes for a moment as Bishop Kimball rushes to his wife's side.

"Norah, my love. I'll pick this up, go change into something clean." He tells her with a kind smile. She lets out a sigh, looking down at the mess trailing down the front of her dress, placing a hand on her husband's cheek.

"Thank you, Hudson. I'll be right back." She places a quick kiss on his lips, then slips around him to head upstairs. She looks over her shoulder, catching Tabbie's attention as she starts up the steps.

"Tabitha, can you be a dear and run down to the basement for some of the big bottles of pop while I change?" she asks, holding the fabric of her dress away from her body to prevent the sauce from dripping more. Tabbie and Demi stop to look at the mess, chuckling. Tabbie nods to her mother.

"I'll handle it in a minute. I'm almost done." She yells after her mother as Sister Kimball rushes up the steps. Tabbie shakes her head, watching her father scooping the mess into a dustpan. Demi leans into Tabbie's ear.

"Guess we know where we get our clumsy gene from." The girls snicker to themselves, getting a stern look from their father. Demi makes her way back into the kitchen as Tabbie finishes the setup in the serving area. Once it's laid out, she steps back, double checking that the dishes would have the appropriate utensils. Satisfied, she makes her way down the hall. Ahead of her, the bathroom door opens, and Elder Knight steps out, rubbing the last of the moisture from his hands. Tabbie stops abruptly in the hallway and smiles.

"You! Come help me in the basement." She playfully orders him, walking past him and grabbing his tie as she walks by him to tug him along. He gives her a dubious look before following her. 

"Isn't that how most horror movies start?" he asks. Tabbie gives him a mischievous look as she gestures for him to go down the stairway.

"I'm eager to find out. After you, Elder." Elder Knight feigns fear as he walks past Tabbie. She laughs, following him down the steps, closing the door behind her. She watches the sway of Elder Knight's shoulders as he descends the stairs into the basement storage. Along one side is a sizeable two-door fridge, two deep freezes sitting opposite to the refrigerator. The wall is covered in shelving units filled with dry pantry goods, with a small kitchen table sitting in the open space, four chairs surrounding it. Elder Knight looks around, nodding his head, before fixing his eyes on Tabbie.

"So, what do we need?" he asks, looking around the room. Tabbie pulls open the fridge, passing Elder Knight six bottles of soda, one at a time. She lets the fridge door close, then leans on it to watch Elder Knight. Elder Knight places the bottles on the table, then leans back on the edge, crossing his arms over his chest. His eyes search Tabbie's face.

"Are you doing okay?" he asks her, concern etched into his face. Tabbie's smile falters. She shrugs at him, moving to lean on the table beside Elder Knight.

"I don't know. I think so?" Tabbie tells him.

"Did your talk in relief society go well?" Elder Knight asks, reaching up to brush Tabbie's blonde hair from her eyes.

"That went well, sort of. Talking to a room of women, including my mother, about chastity and virtue was strange." Tabbie says. She fidgets with her fingernails, chewing on her lip.

"What made it strange?" Elder Knight inquires, leaning forward to catch Tabbie's eye. She looks up at him, then takes a deep sigh.

"Remember our conversation earlier?" she asks. Elder Knight nods. Tabbie takes a deep breath, squeezing her eyes shut. "My parents are having sex with other members." Elder Knight's mouth gapes open, stunned by the statement.

"W-what? So they are cheating on each other then?" he asks, trying to make sense of the statement. Tabbie chuckles softly, shaking her head. She pushes herself up from the table, slowly pacing in front of him.

"No, like they offer "sexual counsel" to the members. They have an open marriage so they can pretend that they're doing some kind of spiritual and sexual consultation." She says, shuddering her shoulders. Elder Knight gives Tabbie a quizzical look.

"But… How do you know?" he questions. Tabbie snorts.

"Walked in on my Dad knuckle deep in a female member, her husband practically taking notes. It's basically been a week of finding out way too much about my parents, and them making excuses and demanding that I offer them compassion and understanding." Elder Knight stares at Tabbie, completely speechless. Tabbie chuckles before she continues.

"My parents offer sexual and marital counseling in their bedrooms. Unless Demi is home. Since I found out, they're hiding it less, but Demi still has no clue what's happening under her own roof." Elder Knight closes his mouth, swallowing dryly.

"I… I don't know what to say to that." He tells Tabbie. She scoffs.

"No, the part that gets me is that I was the wrong daughter to find them. Since Demi came home, she's different. I'm pretty sure if she'd have caught them, she'd have forgiven them, and probably find some way to join them. You know, since these are lessons to empower the members of the church, and she's so holy these days. She'll do anything to gain our Dad's approval since he became Bishop." Tabbie says, a matter-of-fact look on her face, shuddering slightly. Elder Knight stands up from the table, pulling Tabbie into a tight hug.

"I'm sorry you're dealing with this." He tells her. Tabbie nuzzles her head into his neck, breathing in his scent as she takes a deep breath to settle herself. "So, how are you handling this?" he asks her. Tabbie lifts her head, looking into the Elder's eyes.

"I don't know. Dad has been letting me get away with more since I caught him last week. Mom has been stress baking all week, which is why everyone is getting takeaway baskets when they leave. I've just been questioning everything, you know? I don't know what to do with this." she slides her arms from the missionary's shoulders, taking a step back. "I've heard a lifetime of the law of chastity, the purity and sacredness of the sexual connection between a husband and a wife, and all this time… This is who my parents are. So, now I don't know what I believe. But I don't think I have much belief left for the church." she says, giving Elder Knight a shy grin. He brushes his fingers through his dark hair, chewing on his lip.

"MTC didn't prepare me something quite like this. I'm not sure what to say." He says, chuckling awkwardly. Tabbie smiles, reaching her arms out to him, taking him into a tight hug. He strokes her hair, doing his best to comfort her. She pulls back a little, her face inches away from his.

"I don't think there's much to be said right now. I probably have a lot of thinking to do." Tabbie says with a quiet grin.

"Is there anything I can do? How can I help?" he asks. Tabbie's eyes take him in, lightly chewing her bottom lip as she thinks. Something clicks in her mind, and she feels the last of her inhibition falling away. Tabbie gives Elder Knight a heated look.

"Help me forget." She says with a mischievous grin. Elder Knight looks into her eyes, the corner of his mouth curling up into a sexy smile.

"I think I can handle that for you." Elder Knight says, resting his hand on Tabbie's neck as he gazes into the pale gray of her eyes, before drifting down to the shape of her lips. She smiles, leaning her forehead against his, their bodies pressed together in their embrace. Elder Knight slips his hand to Tabbie's chin, guiding her mouth to his. Tabbie smiles into his kiss, tightening her arms around his neck. He moves her to sit back on the table, the kiss deepening. Elder Knight's tongue pushes past her lips, slipping into Tabbie's mouth. Tabbie lets out a small moan, pushing her body even harder against him. He grasps onto her waist, gently driving his hips forward against her. Tabbie's eyes pop open, happily surprised by the sensation; she'd never felt a man's erection before. Elder Knight trails kisses down to Tabbie's throat, feeling her pulse pounding through the soft skin.

Above them, the doorknob jiggles. Elder Knight jumps back from Tabbie, opening the fridge as the door swings open. Sister Kimball leans forward and sees Tabbie filling her arms with bottles on the table, then looks at Elder Knight in the refrigerator. He steps back into view, closing the door with an armful of bottles as well. Sister Kimball smiles.

"Oh, good. You two have the sodas handled, thank you!" Her eyes dart between the Elder and her daughter, giving them a wary look as she walks away, leaving the door open behind her. They look at each other, stifling their laughs. Tabbie pauses then laughs.

"Oh my gosh, come here," she tells Elder Knight, reaching out to him. She wipes her thumb over his lip. "You were wearing my lip gloss." Elder Knight flushes bright red, shaking his head in disbelief. Tabbie snickers, glancing up at the doorway before stealing one more kiss.

"Hey, what about the lip gloss?" Elder Knight exclaims. Tabbie makes her way up the stairs, glancing over her shoulder.

"There was none left!" she says, giggling as she turns the corner. Elder Knight shakes his head, following Tabbie up the stairs. They deposit the bottles at the refreshment table, then mingle in with the groups of people preparing their plates. Tabbie feels a hand on her shoulder, turning to see her father standing over her. He gives her a warm smile.

"I heard you delivered a wonderful presentation in Relief Society. You might be up for a position of your own with the ladies. Great job, Tabbie Cat." He leans down, planting a kiss on the top of her head. Tabbie pulls away slightly, shrugging her shoulders.

"Dad, I've been reading the new testament for my entire life. I know a few things on Jesus and forgiveness, and when forgiveness actually warranted." She tells him through narrowed eyes. Bishop Kimball squeezes her shoulder. His face is still warm, but his eyes give her a warning.

"Just let me be proud of my daughter." He quips, chuckling as he moves along the table to chat with other members. Tabbie looks back at Elder Knight, who stares back at her with concern in his eyes.

"Do you want just to sit and eat?" he asks, nodding his head towards the empty seats next to his companion. Tabbie nods, and they head to the table and take their seats. Elder Benson says a quick hello as they sit, then continues his animated conversation about plants and their uses. Elder Knight and Tabbie shrug at each other, enjoying the conversation. Demi approaches the table, taking a chair across from Tabbie. She eyes her sister, ignoring the conversation. Tabbie ignores her for a few minutes as Demi loudly eats, clearing her throat to get Tabbie's attention. Finally, Tabbie acknowledges her with a tired sigh.

"What, Demi?" she asks, staring at her sister. Demi smiles, straightening up in her seat.

"So, Tabbie. Where do you hope you end up for your mission? Think you'll cross the Atlantic like me? Maybe head south?" Demi asks Tabbie with a smug look on her face. Tabbie rolls her eyes, taking a bite from her plate.

"Even if I was going on a mission, it's not like I get to choose," Tabbie says, swallowing her mouthful. "What would be the point of getting my hopes up? You learned Spanish hoping to go South and ended up in Wales." Tabbie tells her sister, shoveling more food into her mouth. Demi rolls her eyes back at her sister.

"Dysgais i siarad Cymraeg yn iawn!" Demi retorts in flawless Welsh. Tabbie shakes her head.

"I don't care what you just said. It's pointless to decide where you're going before you've even sent in your mission paperwork." Tabbie says. Demi chews her food, looking at Tabbie.

"Okay, so you've filled out the paperwork?" she asks. "I can help you out if you need it," Demi says to her sister. Tabbie sighs, visibly annoyed.

"I don't need help with the paperwork, Demi. I know how to fill in a form. What I don't know is why I should waste my time preaching a gospel I'm not sure I believe in!" The table falls silent. Tabbie looks around at the others at the table, who look down at their plates. She tries to shrug off the awkward silence. Elder Knight's fork scraping the plate as he continues his meal is the only sound at the table.

"I'm not saying I don't believe in Christ. I just don't think serving a mission is for me." Tabbie says. Demi opens her mouth to respond, but Tabbie shakes her head, raising her finger.

"No. Enough. This isn't open for discussion. Change the subject." Tabbie tells her sister, then looks around the table. The table resumes eating, the tension in the air leaving the table uneasy. Elder Benson clears his throat.

"So… who's coming out to basketball tomorrow afternoon?" he says, looking around. A few members pipe up, talking about their plans for the day. Elder Knight gives Tabbie a look of concern, to which she shakes her head, continuing to eat.

"Don't do that." She tells Elder Knight quietly. He gives her a confused expression.

"Don't do what?" he asks, picking up his roll to take a bite. Tabbie shakes her head.

"Don't do the pity thing. I don't need it." Tabbie glances up at Demi, who clears her final bite, getting up from the table without a word. Tabbie looks back to Elder Knight and sighs. He watches as Demi walks into the kitchen, flitting between groups to gather up dirty dishes.

"She really hasn't figured it out?" Elder Knight asks Tabbie. She shakes her head, taking her last bite from her plate. She watches Demi as she chews, turning her head back to Elder Knight.

"No, she hasn't." Elder Knight nods his head, looking around the room.

"Do you think you should tell her?" he asks. Tabbie pauses, thinking deeply about the question.

"No, I don't think so. She's still riding the "Christ is good, the Book of Mormon is the way" wave. I think it would hurt her too much to know that her parents are… doing what they're doing." Tabbie says. She stands, gathering the empty plates and cups from those at the table. "It's either that, or she's been in on it all along. Which, honestly, I don't think I'd be surprised by at this point." She says quietly to Elder Knight before walking away to the kitchen.

When she enters the kitchen, it's empty. Tabbie quietly rinses the plates, loading them into the dishwasher. Elder Knight comes in behind her, leaning on the counter. He watches her as she works, a pensive look on his face as she moves around the kitchen. Tabbie looks back at him, one arm crossed over his chest, the other brushing his fingers over his chin as he thinks. She raises an eyebrow, grinning at him.

"What's on your mind?" she asks him, wiping her hands on a towel before stepping in front of Elder Knight, resting her hands on his shoulders. He puts his hands on her waist.

"Just… I used to feel like you do. Except my mother did my paperwork and sent it in for me because she couldn't bear one of her five children not going off to serve the Lord." He says. Tabbie snorts as she laughs.

"Wow. And you just went with it?" Tabbie asks, incredulous. Elder Knight smiles.

"Yea, pretty much. I figured I might as well get out there, see what's out in the world. I thought it might be good to see if my mission changed my mind about the church." He tells her, pulling her a little closer, linking his fingers behind her back. Tabbie lifts her hand, brushing his hair into place with her fingertips.

"Did it work?" she asks. Elder Knight laughs, shaking his head.

"I don't think it did, no. Not when I hear about corrupt practices by Ward Bishops." Tabbie laughs, touching her forehead to Elder Knight's shoulder before looking back up to him.

"At least it's consensual, I guess. It's all about counseling, don't forget." Tabbie snickers. Elder Knight chuckles.

"Well, I guess he's sort of doing his job. A Bishop is meant to lead and teach his congregation." He jokes. Tabbie groans, shaking her head.

"Ugh. That's awful." She says, chuckling as she shakes her head in disgust. Elder Knight shrugs.

"Am I wrong?" he asks. They laugh as Tabbie leans her body against his, hugging him close. She leans her head on his shoulder, tucking her head under his jaw. Elder Knight runs a soothing hand up and down her back, holding her body to his.

"Thanks for understanding," she tells him. "It's been a long week of secrets coming out, and I just… I haven't had anywhere to turn." Tabbie lifts her head from his shoulder. Elder Knight lifts his hand to her face, brushing the hair away from her eyes, giving her a gentle smile. He guides her face to his, giving her a quick kiss. Tabbie smiles before glancing past his shoulder at the doorway. Footsteps approach and Tabbie takes a step back from the missionary. Bishop Kimball enters the kitchen, Demi standing just a few feet behind her father, a snarky grin on her face and her arms crossed in front of her chest. They stop in the doorway to look between the two.

"No guilty faces here, I hope?" Bishop Kimball asks, looking sternly between his daughter and the missionary. Tabbie rolls her eyes.

"You tell me, you know all about what guilty faces look like." She says, glaring at her father. He lets out a deep sigh before brushing her comment off.

"What is this that I hear about you not going on a mission?" he asks Tabbie, crossing his arms over his chest. Tabbie rolls her eyes before moving towards the door. Her father steps in front of her, and she glares up at him.

"We're not getting into this." She tells him. "I have exactly zero desire to serve, and have even less desire to listen to you guilt trip and manipulate to try to get your way. Elder Knight, come with me. I'm in need of proper spiritual counsel." Tabbie grabs Elder Knight's hand as she glares daggers into her father, pushing past him.

erotic
1

About the Creator

Evie Dahl

Welcome to the one place where I write whatever I want.

I am a writer for a living, fulfilling other people's requests. When I write for Vocal, I write for me. There's no consistent topic, so pull up a seat and explore with me!

~ Evie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.