Filthy logo

Speaking Without Words

While Traversing Time

By nobodyPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
Like
speaking

Speaking Without Words While Traversing Time by Mr. Darek Michael Lucero

After date two your office work took your time management to another level. You didn’t just fulfill the obligations of the position you were hired for you excelled beyond others in the region with more years experience. I did my best to let you know my pride for you in your day-to-day moments. Based on the endeavors of your three children and two grandchildren doubting your genius was never an option. After accepting your friend request, perusing some of your posts displayed the wealth of knowledge for which they tailored that position. Having met other savant women in my past I recognized a wisdom in you that belied your southern drawl. What solidified you as a multitasking woman in life was the Christmas party pinwheels. Regardless of the simple recipe the end result was beyond description. What I said to my mother in the letter home was: “They tasted gourmet.”

Expressing my feelings about your accomplishments went beyond sibling, friendship-like, significant man-in-your-life pride and became spousal. Reading your evaluations and listening to the praise you received from your clients... it was as though you were conquering the fears of people one appointment at a time. The jealousy reflected in your co-workers behavior was validating.

After your “HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!” message I realized I had overslept. I responded in turn and asked if you needed a clown to brighten your day.

You invited me out with an,, “Of course.”

Thus began my day.

I puttered a bit while waking up and getting ready. Once armed with some candy and finished with my errands I was off to entertain a sullen lady in waiting.

I entered the office with the usual door chime and walked to the reception desk. I asked the receptionist, “Do you like Sweet Tarts?”

“What, “ she responded.

“Do you like candy?”

“Yes.” she replied with a child-to-parent-like smile. I gave her the lollipop and felt like a dad brightening his daughter’s work day during “Invite Your Dad to Work” day.

The receptionist glanced in your direction and informed me you were finishing up with a client. I patiently waited in the seating area. Waiting while you worked with your clients was never a chore for me. I felt privileged to know you also valued time with me. I felt less like Ulysses and more like a man seeking to know about a princess undercover in small town America.

Your appointment ended; and, your departing clients made a beeline for the snacks and coffee. The receptionist let you know you had a visitor. She mentioned you were ready for me. I walked in to a bright smile and your eyes dancing with accomplishment. I sat down; and, our working relationship began.

Glancing back in hindsight... working in any environment with you was as though working from home. Being near you made physically impossible feats seem as merely riddles to solve. I felt more like a superhero and less like a slave. Life can turn on a dime when in the presence of a perfect love match. Little did I know a bonfire was to be sparked.

While chatting about the week's appointments and working your way through training courses you reached into your desk drawer and pulled out chocolates. I snickered and reached into my jacket pocket pulling out a small handful of chocolate delights. You locked my gaze and returned my small laugh.

Like a buffet of “sweet meats” I laid the candy on your desk. You made your selection as I did mine from your proffered bag of savory sweets. By this time of the afternoon you were merely biding your time. You had finished the day's work and were patiently waiting for clients to walk through your door. For some building a returning client base takes eons of appointments. For you you were just you...like a charismatic leader of many.

I fashioned paper footballs from notepaper. We played desk football while the minutes ticked by. I asked if you had paper and pencil; you handed me a mechanical pencil and pulled a small piece of paper from a notepad. I began to draw something I had not tried in over twenty years: a cockatiel. I also drew a favorite mascot of yours. Keeping you entertained was simple and quite a diversion from your life in the day-to-day world of business. Corporate America isn’t your jungle; it’s your element. Watching and waiting while you worked behind your desk either face-to-face or on the phone I became mesmerized by your business acumen. I was in the presence of divinity and excellence. I became smitten.

We chatted about different life points and people. Before I knew it the sun had set and your co-worker was finishing up.

I asked if I needed to leave and you answered with, “No. Please stay.”

With exhaustion on your face and weariness in your eyes our conversation ventured into a calm silence; and, you laid your head on your arms. I kept lookout while your co-worker tended to her final appointment. I watched you relax into deep breathing and tried to sync my breathing in step with yours. I listened for the end of your co-workers appointment while you silently but peacefully dozed.

I could hear the appointment finishing. I placed my hand on your arm and gently whispered, “Tabatha, they’re leaving her office. Babe, wake-up.”

You lifted your head and met me with a sleepy smile. I could see future mornings of coffee in bed after waking you with a kissable salutation. Otherwise, the moment ended with the end of your coworkers appointment.

Again, I asked, “Do you want me to go.”

Softly you replied, “no.”

Your glowing smile was all the validation I needed that you enjoyed my company as much as I valued yours.

At your groan of pain and the grimace of displeasure I offered to massage what I could observe was a silent, pulsating migraine. Your approving smile was all I needed to help ease you back into a comfortable mindset. The strain in your voice while rubbing your temples created a need for you to express pain about your current life situation without speaking a word.

With a sigh of relief you replied with the all too familiar sufferer’s longing, “please.”

I rubbed my hands together to warm up the energy of my palms and began my attempt to rub out the crude energy of jealousy from the office inhabitant along with the predatory clients.

As as verbally re-positioned you I noticed you visibly relax into my fingering of each knot with my hand movements. I tried to keep healing energy at my core. However, I must admit there was more than just a caring and nurturing sense creeping in; I began to glow internally.

Working my way from your jaw to your temples I firmly but expeditiously replaced your pain with care. I worked my way to your shoulders and massaged while rotating them forwards and next backwards.

Trailing my percussionists fingers to your scalp I reminded you to breathe and focus on a favorite and private place to relax into. Working through the tresses of your transitioning Christmas haircut I kneaded and massaged out the headache and noises within your now less tense scalp.

Working through different areas of your skull I worked my way to your neck.

While verbally relaxing you, I pressed my thumbs and fingers into different points about your neck and shoulders. Gazing down your spine to where I need to work out more knots I happened to get a view of sinews, muscle, and skin...all which I desired to further explore at a different date and location...from underneath their colorful brassiere covering.

While helping rid your body of tension and stressful energy your co-worker stopped at your door long enough to bid good evening and exited the building.

I continued to work around your back. Verbally leaning you forward I inquired about injuries and pains throughout. Touching your shoulder blade I asked you to deeply inhale and exhale quickly on the count of three. Pressing into the pain while you exhaled seemed to relieve much tension in different areas. In less difficult areas I would depress your muscle tissue while you inhaled/exhaled...and still some combination areas needed more attention. Rubbing out the frustrations with the heels of my palms you relaxed enough to finish out your workday.

I excused myself to the men's room. Returning from the restroom I noticed you sitting with your back to me. Like an animal hunting prey I felt myself hurtling towards you with a flickering desire to seize a moment of capture. Wordlessly I approached you and pulled you to me. Grasping your belt and spinning you around I pulled you into my arms and kissed your lips with an intensity I had never experienced.

We danced a tango of passion within that kiss. You leading with presence and me following with my intensity you gently but insistently backed me up to the wall while I pulled you into me.

For what seemed like lifetimes we danced a kiss of a soul connection. I could feel regret and pain leave me as though the spirit of our ancestors were healing from our kiss. You validated this fact by smiling into me and I could ‘see’. You were reciprocating the healing from within. I felt validated.

We alternated movement and head tilt never breaking our connection. I could see sunrises and full moons. I felt elderly dying and children birthing. I felt a world reborn. I heard laughter of passion and sighs of joy. I smelled fiery feasts and beating banquets of an energy that could sustain life without tragedy. I was whole again.

While you swayed I moaned. Never leaving your lips I wordlessly professed my love from somewhere inside my broken soul and battered heart. You returned your love’s confession from your victimized soul and your vilified heart.

As we glided through time with our lovers' mouthy embrace I knew the evening had to end.

We gently but not regretfully concluded our tango. You had to finish closing; and, I gathered my belongings.

You padded into the break room area. I couldn't resist following you.

Again the predator stalking his prey I pounced. Once more your back to me I spun you around and pressed you into the wall while hungrily seeking to reconnect our lifetimes from alpha to present and towards eternity.

Like a blind man reading for his supper I explored your now healed spine with my hands. My mouth seeking like a wanderer in the desert I explored your mouth with my tongue seeking your loves treasure once more.

Once again time seemed to spiral through a history of earth's revolution around the solar system. Through a wordless action I could see places only Voyager had visited. I could see what was outside of us while never leaving your mouth. Once again you leaned into me as our worlds collided.

Never complaining but always tenacious you encircled me in an embrace, lifted me off the floor, spun me around, and pinned me into another kissable dimension.

As your hands explored my skin we traveled uncharted territory. Relaxing further into me I felt like a traveler weaving a trail as though hunting for water in a wasteland. I was incapacited by your loving strength. The gentleness in your face, never betraying your physical love’s strength, would normally send other men retreating in terror and shame. I instead stepped into our fiery ring of untapped love. I let go of my control and let you lead me on our journey of wandering feats.

While our tongues and mouths kept us connected, we waltzed and stepped our way across borders and terrain never before imagined. Our hearts beating in sync to an unheard rhythm you moved me this way and that like a boat drifting on gentle waves under a starry sky.

Breathlessly but tenaciously you guided me with an energy never matched and yet somehow familiar. I felt the birth of a connection never to be torn asunder. You touched me in a space only you could find. I felt you embrace me internally in a hada. I could feel families of enemies and hate heal and unite back with love.

I felt the earth sigh in hope.

We continued our universal dance of silence with instruments of verbal sound. With each tongue-ish twist and turn we beat messages of archaic love from a once buried langage. As though dancing through the universe I felt us become one entity of all love. I felt home.

Before concluding our kiss you tapped through to remove a malignancy from within. You and only you cured what was ailing me. I felt love like no other.

Wanting to continue we instead had to part ways. As usual I walked you to your car...only to depart when you were safe inside. Watching you drive away I felt as though I was home; and. in the not too distant future we would be sharing space to create our home together.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

nobody

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.