Filthy logo

Six is Company Teaser

Never Have I Ever

By Emery Grace Published 4 years ago 15 min read
1

Chapter 1

“This is how rumors get started,” I whisper in Cas ’s ear, as we pose before the photographers on our way into the charity gala we’ve spent the last month planning. His hand is resting far too intimately on my lower back, and I can’t pretend I’m actually protesting because of the gossip rags. In truth, it’s because I know the hot flush rising up my cheeks has nothing to do with the champagne served in the limo and everything to do with the way Cas ’s hand on my skin makes me want to prove the rumors true by pushing him against the nearest flat surface and taking him in all a matter of creative and carnal ways.

I would have thought that playing host to a widely publicized charity gala would have been reason enough for Cas to stop teasing me, but apparently, I was wrong. I would have thought that being the director of the show Cas stars on would have been reason enough for him not to start, but clearly that wasn’t the case either. It seems nothing will get Cas to stop his ever so tempting assault on my self-control. It’s been more than a year of his gentle caresses, dangerous innuendo and wicked smirks, and my defenses are none the better for it. I’m surprised I’ve even managed to hold out this long.

“There is nothing wrong with a couple of rumors, cara,” he says, grinning through the over-enunciated Italian term of endearment. He tends to toss it around when he’s being particularly flirtatious, as in right at this particular moment, when a hundred or so of Cas’s fans are watching from the other side of the velvet rope. They scream when he walks closer, and I resist my animal instinct to pull him into a kiss. These women worship the man he is on the screen, but I know the real Cas.

He’s not even mine, not in any sort of way that would justify the flash of envy that pulses down my back when they scream his name. I look down the red carpet to see Cas’s co-stars, Mason, Leo, and Paul. Cas is definitely not mine the way Mason’s girlfriend London is his, or Leo’s beautiful wife Simone belongs to him, in some complete and fundamental way. Despite this, I’m still feeling possessive, which should say something about something, but whatever that is, I’m ignoring it.

“Easy for you to say,” I whisper, trying not to think about how that rolling Italian tongue might feel on parts other than my ears. It’s become a daily occurrence, hourly, really, to think about Caspian’s tongue and fingers exploring my body. I focus my mind on a safer topic with some difficulty. “Your trove of fangirls is like to devour me whole if they think I’ve gotten my claws into you.” Never let that change the fact that I would very much like to get my claws into him, maybe run them down his muscled back and see what kind of noises he makes when…

“You’re flushing, dear.”

I turn to my left to see Leo and Simone standing beside us in the flood and bursts of the camera flashes. Leo’s grinning something wicked, and by the pink staining Simone’s cheeks, I have no doubt that he’s been turning the charm, quite successfully, in her direction.

“I’m embarrassing her,” Cas says, not a hint of remorse in his voice. “She thinks we’re going to start rumors.” Then, without another word, he wraps his arm completely around my waist and pulls me closer. The camera flashes increase with alarming ferocity, followed by a few shouts from the entertainment journalists. From the corner of my eye, I can see Cas’s wicked smile grow even broader. Every once in a while, rumors about us tend to pop up on the fans’ blogs or in the magazines, which I could use as a genuine excuse as to why I don’t want my picture taken with his arm wrapped around me. More than that, however, I’m afraid that if I let it happen once I’ll be inclined to never let go of it.

“You’re enjoying this,” I whisper, but the tone of authority is lost, because his finger is making slow, deliberate circles upon my hip and I’m feeling the effects of that simple touch far more than any rich champagne. “Remember, when it comes down to it, I am your boss.”

If I thought the smile on his face was wicked before, I was naive. He’s got the look of a man about to seduce Aphrodite herself, with the complete confidence he’ll be successful. I should hate that cocksure mentality, but Cas makes arrogant look like confident in a way I’ll never understand. My body doesn’t need to understand it to want it, however, and I feel a throb at the apex of my thighs. This is supposed to my goddamned charity dinner and all I can think about is the way that Cas makes my mind turn to mush with so much as his pinky finger—and what he might be able to do with more.

“And what does Harlowe Reynolds do about insubordination?” he whispers. Forget rumors about us dating, if Cas keeps whispering things like that into my ear there will be a video of us doing a lot more on a red carpet into a Save the Whales and Reef Charity Gala.

After the tone of his voice settles, however, I’m left with the delightful image of Cas splayed out on my bed awaiting his punishment. I really have to stop thinking like this. The gorgeous red silk dress I bought for the gala comes with some padding in the bust, but I’m not wearing a bra underneath it, and I doubt the little slips of cotton are going to do much in the way of protecting my reputation, if I let this imagining get out of control. Already I can feel my nipples beginning to pucker, and I turn my head away from him, smiling for the cameras. Damn Cas and his implications anyway.

“I’d suggest thinking about baseball,” Leo says, saddling up beside me, as we walk towards the main entrance of the building. “Otherwise those rumors are going to be the least of your concerns.”

I look down and realize that I’ve flushed up the length of my chest. I’ve always been an easy blusher, and apparently Cas’s words work wonders on turning me into a human tomato.

“That is, unless you’re trying to get caught.” Leo waggles his eyebrow at me knowingly, and Simone puts a light touch on his elbow.

“Leave her alone,” she says to her husband with a loving smile. “Now is not the time to thinking about that sort of thing.”

Leo turns to her and I know that any of the flirtatious grins he’s leveled in my direction are nothing more than play-acting. The expression on his face when he looks at his wife is what erotic fairy tales of made of—an age-old love, deep as time and sensual as the earth and forest and curve of a feather against the skin. My mind must be stuck on this topic, because it seems all of my thoughts keep coming back around to the same point.

“When I’m with you, I’m always thinking about that sort of thing,” he says, grinning mischievously and speaking loudly enough for the reporters to hear. There’s a response of scribbling and more cameras. They feed on the gossips and half-truths but everyone loves a good love story. When Cas tightens his arm around my waist and leads me into the building with a gentle promise upon his touch, I can’t help but wonder exactly what that means for me.

“Does he have to say sperm whale every time?”

Mason is one third of the show’s quartet of stars, and his girlfriend London leans over to me with a grin that I can’t help but return. Not only is she funny as hell, especially after a few glasses of champagne, but her running commentary is doing wonders to keep my mind off of the way that Cas’s thigh keeps bumping into mine every fifteen seconds. I know his thighs are muscled, I’ve seen him in a pair of fifteenth century pantaloons more times than I can count, but the sensation of those muscles pressing against my very thin dress is liable to set a fire. It doesn’t hurt that Cas cleans up nice in modern wares. The formfitting tuxedo he’s wearing tonight makes me want to untie the bow at his neck and use it to pull him closer to me.

“Maybe he’s trying to keep our attention,” I whisper back, drawing my own attention back to London with difficulty. I know for a fact that Cas’s hand just brushed my knee through the dress, but if I accuse him of it, he’ll only tease me more. I can barely handle this teasing, I don’t think I’ll be able to withstand the big guns. “It doesn’t seem to be working, does it?”

It isn’t. Around the room a good two hundred celebrities and producers appear to be vastly interested in the bubbles in their champagne glasses. Still, we had known that Doctor Richfield wasn’t the most interesting speaker in the world, but his expertise adds credibility to the request for money. A serious oil spill last month has done incredible damage to a lot of ocean ecosystems, killing plants and animals left and right. Given that our show takes place largely on the ocean, we thought we could do some good by hosting a gala to raise money for the wildlife, especially, unfortunately, the sperm whale. A pod of sperm whales had been mid-migration when the oil spill occurred. With the show in a short recess, we’d whipped up the event with surprisingly little fuss.

In addition to the gala itself, which we hope will raise a pretty penny for the cause, we also planned out a nice after-party at a hotel down the street. The thought is both exciting and a little nerve-wracking, because it’s going to be the perfect place for a seduction. Cas and I have been skirting around each other for over a year, flirting and teasing and tempting, but never even getting close enough to give in. And I want to give in. Tonight.

Because in the beginning I thought he was nothing more than a playboy television star, as hot in a pair of britches as a leather jacket, and full of his own ego and arrogance. After getting to know him while working as the director, I’d come to realize exactly how brilliant, funny and kind he really is. Sure, he’s had his share of affairs, but none while I’ve known him. It doesn’t hurt that Leo and Mason, two of his close friends, and increasingly some of mine, have convinced me of his character time and again, though I do think that’s because they have a bet riding on us. Still, it’s definitely reached a point – I don’t just want to sleep with Cas. I want to be with him.

None of that makes the distracting touches on my leg any easier to manage, as yet another scientist gets up on stage with a list of Sperm Whale Fun Facts that include the word sperm more times than a Harry Potter fanfiction.

Cas just oozes sensuality. It’s no wonder they cast him on a show where men all stride around in boots and breeches and prattle about chivalry and honor. He’s just dangerous and confident enough for the role, even if all of that danger and confidence is currently directed at my increasingly disappearing self-control. I want to be the one to seduce him.

I’m wondering how long I’m going to be able to last before I just drag him into the ladies room, when I hear my name over the speaker, along with Cas, Leo, Mason and Paul. Simone leans up to kiss Leo and London does the same to Mason. Given that Paul’s been checking his phone every five minutes for updates about his new baby at home, I can’t help but think about who I might be kissing the next time we attend an event like this one.

“Please give a warm round of applause to the director and stars that made this evening possible…” well, I wouldn’t go that far, “Harlowe Reynolds and the infamous pirates of Siren’s Song.” To the sound of thundering applause, the five of us walk up onto the stage. I’m definitely more of a behind the scenes type of person but there’s no denying the surge of confidence I feel, knowing that Cas and the rest of the cast are standing just beside me, as I’m guided to the podium.

I take a deep breath, aware of Cas’s strong form standing so close to me, conscious of the desire to lean back into his muscled chest and be anywhere but on stage in front of two hundred people. Like a bedroom... Oh, now is so not the time to be feeling anything untoward. I’ve already been called out on my blush once this evening, no need for a repeat performance. I pull my mind back to the importance of the cause and the reason we’ve been working so hard for the last few weeks to bring the event together. My aching, potent desire for Cas can wait ten minutes. I think.

“If one year ago, someone had told me I’d be working alongside such a talented cast and crew, I would have told them to dream on,” I begin, looking back to catch Leo’s friendly smile. “In just one year, I have watched these incredible men and our wonderful crew bring history to life on the screen, a challenging and romantic endeavor that I am so incredibly honored to be able to share a part in.” I pause, and in my quick breath I feel Cas’s fingers tangle in mine behind the podium. Oh, if only he knew what kind of distraction he is, how nothing more than a simple touch sets my whole body to flame in his presence.

“As most of you know, Siren’s Song is a tall tale upon the high seas. Times may have changed. Airplanes may have replaced ships. Online shopping has surpassed the East India Trading Company,” laughs come from the audience, “but we know the incredible value of the ocean. We know the role it plays in keeping our Earth a habitable, wonderful place to call home. We do not want to see its ecosystems shrink or its species disappear because we have been thoughtless in caring for our own home. And so, on behalf of the swashbuckling, charming men who join me on the stage, and the entire cast and crew of Siren’s Song, we want to thank you for helping us bring peace and health back to the ocean ecosystems hurt by the oil spill. We want to thank you for helping us preserve our seas, restore our coral reefs and keep our planet a safe place to live.”

I let out a deep breath, pleased to have that part of the evening over and done with. I’d much rather be on the other side of the screen, or stage in this case. The room rings in applause, and Cas tightens his fingers around me, sending shards of electric heat up my skin. The telltale glow at the apex of my thighs pulses in anticipation and I know it’s probably the best course of action to get off the stage before I give into Cas with an even bigger audience than before.

Before I get the chance, however, he steps up to the mic.

“She thinks we’re charming.” He smirks as the audience laughs and then turns to me. “You never told us that.”

I can’t help it, I lean into the mic to respond. “I take it back. They’re charming,” I say, pointing to the other men who are standing behind us, grinning like the Cheshire Cat, himself. Leo raises a teasing, knowing eyebrow, which I pointedly ignore.

Cas mocks offense at my insult and the room laughs. I give up on the gossips, there’s no way I’m getting out of this one without a torrid love affair popping up in the morning blogs. Eh, whatever. It’s nothing they haven’t written about before, and I’m just happy they’re talking about the show long enough for us to be renewed for another season.

“And here I thought you cared for me.” He sighs dramatically. Oh, if only he knew. He bows in the style of a fifteen-century gentleman and turns back to face the audience. “I would like to take a moment to thank our director, Harlowe—who does not think I’m charming —and to recognize her for all of the time and energy she put into this event and many like it. She’s not one for the main stage,” I blush again, damn it to hell, “but she’s incredible at orchestrating the most difficult parts of a production, whether that includes single handedly saving the oceans, or wrangling in the lot of us buccaneers. She is a driven, passionate, wonderful inspiration and we are all so very lucky to have her.”

What the hell is a girl supposed to say to that kind of compliment? Forget blushing, I could serve as a beacon to a returning space shuttle. Not the heat in my cheeks or the traitorous tears forming at the corner of my eyes, are enough to distract me from a glowing, powerful sensation in my heart. I know Cas cares for me outside of the physical, but there’s something about hearing it said in front of a massive audience that has my mind and body tangling in all sorts of messy questions. I don’t look at him, afraid I might either burst into tears or kiss him senseless.

We nod and turn from the stage, returning to our seats. If I had any doubts about what I wanted to happen tonight, they’re definitely assuaged. Between the success of the gala and the incredible, potent words Cas just said on stage, my confidence is at a peak – and so is my desire to have him every which way. This settles it. Tonight, I’m going to seduce Cas. I can’t wait.

Read the rest of Six is Company exclusively on Radish!

fiction
1

About the Creator

Emery Grace

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.