Filthy logo

Secret Marriage

Daniel and Margaret Elope

By Angela Denise Fortner RobertsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Secret Marriage
Photo by Jessica Favaro on Unsplash

It was late at night, but Daniel was sure he could hear someone sobbing outside his window. He switched on the lamp by his bedside and padded silently to his window in stockinged feet. Reaching the window, he opened it to feel a sudden gust of cool night air.

The sound of sobbing was unmistakable now, and in the moonlight, he could make out her figure.

"Margaret!"

"Daniel? I - I have to talk to you."

He reached for her and, grasping her under the arms, pulled her through the window and helped her to his bed.

"What's wrong?" His voice was barely a whisper.

"I'm - I'm pregnant," she gulped.

A shock went through him like a bolt of lightening.

"Are you sure?"

She nodded.

"I've missed my period for two months now, my breasts are all tender and sore, and I get sick in the morning."

"Does anyone else know?"

She shook her head.

"Who else could I tell but you?"

He had to admit she had a point.

"I'm scared, Danny! What am I going to do?"

She was crying again. He pulled her into his arms and held her close.

"Please don't cry, Margie! It'll be all right. We'll get married."

"But - who will marry us? The priest won't, and neither will the rabbi."

"We'll go to the justice of the peace," he decided. "First thing in the morning. I'll tell my boss I need the morning off to take care of important business. Tell your parents you have an appointment downtown. I'll meet you right outside the courthouse at eight o'clock."

Margaret sniffled.

"All - all right."

"Good. You'd better hurry on home now. It wouldn't do at all if one of my parents found you here."

She clung to him, reluctant to leave his side.

"I can't wait until I can spend the whole night with you without having to be afraid!"

"I can't wait for that either, Margie. It'll be soon. Very soon."

He helped her out the window and then got back in bed. He knew he wouldn't get a wink of sleep for the rest of the night.

As Margaret approached the courthouse, she could see Daniel standing on the front steps, waiting for her, and her heart began to beat faster with the thrill of anticipation. Very soon now, she would be in the arms of the man she loved, and nothing else would matter.

She'd seemed to have aroused no suspicion when she'd told her parents she had an errand to run in town. They'd both nodded with barely a word being said, occupied with their own cares of the day.

If only it could stay that way just a little while longer...

Daniel saw her coming and stepped toward her, entwining his arm with hers.

"There's not a moment to lose," he said, and she nodded, aware of how true those words were.

Once they were inside the courthouse, it didn't seem to take long at all. They signed in the appropriate places, said the appropriate words, and the judge pronounced them husband and wife.

Margaret felt as if she were walking on air as she left the courthouse with her new husband. She knew there would be many challenges to face, but she and Daniel would overcome them, together.

Seven Months Later

"Look, Danny, he has your eyes!"

Margaret held her newborn son close, gazing into his milky, dark blue eyes. She'd never felt such overwhelming love in her life. This tiny creature, so helpless and dependent, had been born of the love she and Daniel shared together.

"So he does." Daniel smiled as he felt his heart fill with love for his new son. Although both sets of parents had rejected the young couple, they'd never wavered in their determination to build a new life together.

"What shall we call you, little fellow?" Daniel asked, extending his finger for the newborn to grasp.

"The song 'Danny Boy' keeps going through my mind," said Margaret.

"Ah, that's a good name for you," said Daniel. "There's a much older 'Danny Boy' as well, you know. He spent the night in a lion's den without getting eaten."

Margaret laughed.

"I'm familiar with that 'Danny Boy' too, but my favorite 'Danny Boy' of all is sitting right here beside me."

erotic
Like

About the Creator

Angela Denise Fortner Roberts

I have been writing since I was nine years old. My favorite subjects include historical romance, contemporary romance, and horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.