Filthy logo

Seals and Bounty: The Hired Gun

Book 2 - She's in Shock - Chapter 2 - Short Story

By Ireland Lorelei Published 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Tally

Bang!

Bang!

Bang!

Grunt. Screams!

Bang!

Bang!

I can't catch my breath. What is happening? There's someone on top of me.

The person on me yells, "Diamond is secure."

More screams!

"Are you okay?" the person on top of me asks.

Looking up at him, it took me a moment to realize that it was the bodyguard that Doug hired for this movie shoot. "I am okay. Thank you for saving my life," I responded. "Are you okay? Because that is not my blood, at least I don't feel like it is."

"What?" he asked. "Damn it! Yeah, I am fine, but it is your blood. Looks like the bullet grazed your shoulder. You don't feel it because you are in shock. Let's get you looked at. Come on." He grabbed my other elbow, pulled me up, and walked me over to the EMTs that were on site for the event. Once the EMTs said that I was going to be okay, he walked away.

I just sat there looking at the EMT as she bandaged up my shoulder and asked me questions that I don't even know if I answered, trying to figure out what had just happened. I know the bodyguard fell on top of me, and saved me, but this had to be some kind of random shooting, right? It wasn't meant for me?

"Tally! Are you okay? Are you hurt? Where is your bodyguard? I am going to fire him for not being on his post?" Doug is yelling as he is walking up.

"Doug, I am fine. It's just a scratch. The bodyguard saved my life, brought me here, then he walked over to where the police officers are," I said pointing in his direction, not even realizing I had been watching him with my eyes the whole time.

"Okay, as long as you are okay and he did his job. But that looks like a pretty big scratch," Doug replied.

"As he was throwing me down the bullet grazed me, just barely. I actually thought it was his blood," I replied.

Looking at the EMT Doug said, "Is she really okay? And how bad is it?"

The EMT turned to face him and said, "It really is just a scratch and she will be just fine. If the bodyguard didn't throw himself on her, it probably would have been a lot worse."

"Okay, thank you," Doug said to the EMT. Then he turned back to me and said, "I will be right back. I am going to find Mr. Parker."

"Who is Mr. Parker?" I asked.

"Your bodyguard. Tally you really need to pay more attention when I introduce you to people, especially the people that are hired to protect your life," Doug said as he rolled his eyes and shook his head at her.

"Well at least I remembered his face," I said very rudely.

Doug walked off as a police office walked up and said he needed to ask me a few questions.

"Ms. Lane, I am Officer Strong. I need to ask you a few questions if that is alright?" he asked.

"Sure that is fine, but I didn't see anything," I replied.

"Ms. Lane, I need you to understand that we don't think this was a random shooting. We believe that you were the target. All of the bullets were found in your vicinity and one actually grazed you. I need to know if you have received any threats recently. Have you gotten any dead air phone calls? Any threatening calls, texts, emails, mail, or any other communication?" Office Strong asked.

"What? You really think that someone was trying to shoot me?" I said. I stood there are minute or two just shaking my head. I know he probably wanted answers to his questions, but I just couldn't wrap my head around the fact this was not some random shooting.

"Ms. Lane," Officer Strong said.

"Ms. Lane," Officer Strong said again. "Are you okay? I know this is a lot to take in?"

Snapping out of my daze I replied, "I think so. I just don't understand. I haven't gotten any of those things you mentioned. And I can't wrap my head around anyone wanting to kill me."

"Okay. So, no threats. Do you know of anyone that might be angry with you? A friend? Old classmate? Old boyfriend? Family member? Anyone come to mind that is mad at you? You don't even have to think that they are mad enough to want to kill you. It's our job to figure that out." Officer Strong asked.

"No! No one!" I replied with tears pouring down my face. I cannot believe this. Who in the world would try to shoot me? I can't think of one person that I have ever done anything wrong too that would be so angry at me that they would want me dead.

At that moment Doug and some ruggedly handsome man were walking towards me talking. The mans biceps were bigger than my thighs! And he had to be about 6'2". I wonder who he is?

"Doug," I said with a shaky voice, "I have been looking for you. Where have you been? I am ready to go."

"Tally I had to go find your security detail, Mr. Parker," Doug responded with a concerned look on his face. He then turned to the EMT and asked, "Are you sure she is okay? She doesn't seem to remember our earlier conversation."

The EMT responded and said, "She was in shock. She is probably just getting her bearings back."

I am not understanding.

I turn to the EMT and Doug and say, "Are you two saying that I spoke with you earlier and I don't remember because I was in shock?"

"Exactly," the EMT responded.

"Okay, then," I said. "Then I am assuming I know who this Mr. Parker is?"

Doug replied, "Yes, he's your bodyguard."

"The one that saved my life?" Doug shook his head yes and I continued, "Mr. Parker, thank you again for saving my life."

"You're welcome Ms. Lane, but I am just doing my job. And please call me Kadon," Kadon replied.

"Tally I have hired Mr. Parker, Kadon to be your 24/7 detail since the attempt on your life today. He will go everywhere you go and will stay in your hotel room. He will also have one of his team come work with him when you leave the room. I need you to cooperate with whatever he advices. He is here to keep you safe," Doug said.

"Kadon, I promise you I am not going to give you a hard time. I will say that there is only a couch in the living room area of my suite. I am sorry about that. And I greatly appreciate you protecting me. I already know that I am in good hands since the incident this morning," I said.

"Okay, then. I am glad that is straight. Now let's get you guys to the hotel," Doug said.

erotic
Like

About the Creator

Ireland Lorelei

I am an erotic romance author. If you like what you are reading leave a tip! You can also buy my books on my website www.irelandlorelei.com, Kindle, Nook, Kobo and Apple Books. https://www.facebook.com/ireland.lorelei.7/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.