Filthy logo

Penthouse Pet & Author Sheila Kennedy

Pet Sheila Kennedy appeared on the cover of Penthouse magazine a record 4X.

By Glenn KennyPublished 8 years ago 5 min read
2

The lively Sheila Kennedy recounted her life during Penthouse magazine’s Guccione Era: “I was with Bob for ten years back in the 1980’s, and he shot me in Paris, Italy, and all over the world. We were international ambassadors for the Penthouse brand. I think. Bob put me on four separate Penthouse covers, which I think was a record. All that was great and lovely. I lived in the mansion for some time, with Bob, Kathy, and his extended family. We had holidays there and I felt like family too.”

Along with Corinne Alphen, Sheila aspired to be an actress, and the two Pets went on auditions together in Hollywood. “Spring Break was on of my early movies. Corinne had a bigger role but I had the title role in a backwoods black comedy called Ellie, which had a fabulous cast. There was Edward Albert, Shelly Winters, and George Gobel, just to name a few. We shot it in Texas and it was a blast.”

“I had a son when I turned 30, so I got out of the biz for a while, but in 1994, I did a small part in Don Juan De Marco, playing one of Johnny Depp’s conquests. It was a nude scene, and all the nude scenes wound up getting cut, either bemuse the studio didn’t want to alienate Depp’s female fan base, or they need a PG-13 rating. Maybe it was both. It was a great time, though. We shot in Hawaii and I got to do a love scene with Depp. I spent some time working in the music industry after that and when my son turned 16, I found myself auditioning for reality TV series. The ad that I answered read, ‘Are you looking for your soul mate and do you want to win half a million dollars?’ As a single working mom, that sounded great. I said YES and Yes. I didn’t know at the time it was Big Brother.

It was reported that Sheila’s teen son knew more about the show than she did. “He said there was no way I’d last on the show. He described it to me: ‘It’s like Survivor but you’re stuck in a house where you have to do competitions in order to just eat and sleep.’ I asked him why he thought I wouldn’t last and he said, ‘Basically you have road rage and you’re a bitch.’ Thanks, son! Well, I was very proud to prove him wrong, because, although I did not win, I made it to the final three. My costars knew nothing of Penthouse. When I won Head of the Household one week, they had one of my Penthouse headshots in a frame, so then they knew. The housemates and the viewers were blown away.”

With Big Brother having put her back in the public eye, Sheila has been a demon on social media as she also works to complete her memoir, No One’s Pet. The title is not a dis on the Penthouse years though. “I’m so proud of my photos,” Sheila says, “Bob Guccione is the only one who ever photographed me and I’m very proud of that too. My relationship with Bob was amazing. We had a falling out, caused by the meddling of a busybody who shall remain nameless, but let’s just say they wanted the Pet of the Year spot that I got. Fortunately, we were able to mend fences and by the time Bob passed, we were on very good terms.”

No One’s Pet has been completed and is expected to be released February 15, 2016. A cautionary tale of a woman’s struggle to define herself in a male-dominated egocentric and sexually charged world, the book is available here.

No One’s Pet: The Autobiography of Sheila Kennedy is a new tell-all book from Jerrick Media that shares Sheila’s inspiring story. Co-authored with Glenn Kenny (Robert De Niro: Anatomy of an Actor, A Galaxy Not So Far Away), No One’s Pet tells the insane and hilarious adventure of a legendary Penthouse Pet. Sent to media mogul Bob Guccione after being spotted by famous photographer Stan Malinowski, Sheila Kennedy went on to appear on a record four covers of Penthouse magazine. Her autobiography features an amazing and amusing supporting cast including Michael J. Fox, Mets all-star Ron Darling, Axl Rose, Wayne Newton, fellow Penthouse Pets and housemates Corinne Alphen and Divina Celeste, heartthrob Scott Baio, and many more, the book gives insight into a previously unimaginable and inaccessible world.

No One’s Pet has been completed and was released February 15, 2016. A cautionary tale of a woman’s struggle to define herself in a male-dominated egocentric and sexually charged world, the book is available here.

No One’s Pet: The Autobiography of Sheila Kennedy is a new tell-all book from Jerrick Media that shares Sheila’s inspiring story. Co-authored with Glenn Kenny (Robert De Niro: Anatomy of an Actor, A Galaxy Not So Far Away), No One’s Pet tells the insane and hilarious adventure of a legendary Penthouse Pet. Sent to media mogul Bob Guccione after being spotted by famous photographer Stan Malinowski, Sheila Kennedy went on to appear on a record four covers of Penthouse magazine. Her autobiography features an amazing and amusing supporting cast including Michael J. Fox, Mets all-star Ron Darling, Axl Rose, Wayne Newton, fellow Penthouse Pets and housemates Corinne Alphen and Divina Celeste, heartthrob Scott Baio, and many more, the book gives insight into a previously unimaginable and inaccessible world.

For the first time in the history of the iconic adult magazine Penthouse, the curtain is lifted on life in Bob Guccione’s mansion. No One’s Pet: The Autobiography of Sheila Kennedy reveals the inner workings of the media magnate’s private sanctum. The tell-all Penthouse Pet book exposes a unique perspective on the free-for-all fun of a historically important period in pop culture.

bob guccioneeroticliteraturepenthousevintage
2

About the Creator

Glenn Kenny

Senior editor and chief film critic of Premiere magazine, 1998-2007. Appears as Dick Filth in David Foster Wallace's essay "Big Red Son." Author and Editor. New York Times Writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.