Filthy logo

Magic Words

A Fictional Tale of Forbidden Love

By Shameka S ErbyPublished 3 years ago 37 min read
Like

I looked down at my phone. The number lighting up the screen didn’t have a name assigned, but it wasn’t foreign to me. It was where I’d just come from, in fact. The person on the other end probably knew me better than anyone I’d ever met. And no one called me more often than the number lighting up the screen. But still I continued to stare, not answering. It wasn’t lost on me that I refused to save a number that called more frequently than any other, but that’s just how it is. I have to regain some control over this situation. This is how I’ve chosen to do it. My voicemail kicked in and the ringing stopped. I looked up and out the window. The city raced by, all dark spaces with pockets of light from storefronts and street lights. I sighed. I leaned my head back, hoping to close my eyes and doze for the rest of the ride. But the ringing started again. The phone in my hand lit up, vibrating and squealing. I felt like it was yelling at me. Yelling that I wasn’t in control, that I never would be. I pressed the button and held the phone to my ear, pissed.

“What?” I bit out.

“Please. I didn’t want… can’t you come back? I just… Danny please,” her voice on the other end, pleaded with me, pulled me. I’d just left her, dammit. I’d just untangled my arms from hers, my mouth from hers… I am done. I’m in control.

“No. We’re not doing this anymore, Cree. I’m done. I said it and I meant it,” I replied. I didn’t normally use her name. Normally, I called her Baby, Boo, Love. Normally I was going to her, and not leaving. Normally. But not tonight. I’m done and I’m in control. She gasped at my tone, and at the use of her real name. Then, the line went silent. But I knew she was still there. She was always there.

“Danny… baby. Please,” she begged again, her voice breaking, on the brink of sobs. I could imagine her lying on the couch, legs splayed, one hand holding her phone, the other, tangled in her luscious hair. I’d just had my hands in that hair, tugging, pulling, dominating. I blew out my breath angrily.

“Cree, stop. Just don’t. You know I can’t--and you know why. You’re making this worse. I never should have been there. I never should have-”

“Danny, I need you. I need you, baby. Please.” Those words were followed by a click in my ear as she hung up. I continued to hold the phone to my ear, still. She’d done it. She’d said those words, the words that would trigger my urgency, my desperate compulsion to be with her, on her, inside her. It made no sense; the words were so simple, so generic, so basic. But as soon as she uttered them, in her sultry, sexy, voice, my soul vibrated. My body hummed, my hands shook, my dick jumped. When she said those words, in that voice… every no was a yes. And she knew it. She knew me. I’m done. I’m in control. But I put down the phone and cleared my throat.

“Hey man,” I said to the cab driver, “can you um… can you turn around and go back? To where you picked me up?”

“You want me to take you back?” the cabbie asked, confused. I stared at the phone in my hand. I heard the last words she said like a mantra, pounding my brain over and over.

“Yeah, my man. Just take me back. Thanks,” I answered him and threw my phone down on the seat. I am done. I’m done and I’m in control. But I was on my way back to her. I was on my way back.

Cree Hunter is 5’8” of beautiful cinnamon skin and sensual fire. She’s as full as a plate at Sunday dinner: full breasts, full lips, full hips, thick thighs. Her amber eyes were round, her hair dark brown and usually pinned up in an elaborate style like the women in the Youtube tutorials. I knew this because I’d once asked her where she learned to do it. I wanted Cree the moment I saw her, loved her a second later. It was bad, it still is, and my obsession with her is only matched by hers with me. The air I breathe is thinner when I think of not being with her, my only solace is between her thighs. I’m consumed by how I feel about her. She is my greatest temptation, my greatest weakness. My only weakness. And the trigger is those words.

The first time I made love to her, was fast and desperate, fraught with urgency. We clung to each other, frantic. I don’t think my dick had ever been so hard. Sliding into her body, filling her up, was a coming home I’d never expected, and everything I’d ever needed. And as she came, over and over, her juices wetting us, her hands gripping me, she’d whispered, “Danny. I need you,” over and over. And they became the words that subjugated me, that controlled me. They became the words she used when I tried to back away, the words that didn’t let me. The reason I wasn’t in control.

When the cab got back to her house, I paid him and got out, standing on the sidewalk. He peered out of the window.

“Sure you don’t want me to wait, buddy?” he asked. I turned to look at him,

“You know what? Yeah. I’ll be right back. I just forgot something.” I said the words and then went up the front steps. I pulled out my keys and opened the door. I slammed it and locked it, hurrying into the living room. Just like I thought, she was lying on the couch, legs splayed, rubbing her nipples. I could see her chest moving up and down as her breath speeded up.

“Get up Cree. Get up and talk to me,” I demanded. She sat up, her t-shirt falling down over her bare breasts. She licked her lips.

“Danny, baby. I knew you’d come back. I knew-”

“No,” I held up my hand to stop her speech, “I’m here to tell you we’re done this time, Cree. I can’t--we can’t do this anymore. And before you ask me why, you know why.”

“Listen to me. We can be together, babe. We can. I just have to plan it right. I just have to-”

“Cree, we’ve been over every way. You know it’s impossible. We’re playing with fire right now. I shouldn’t even be standing here.”

“Danny, sweetheart, please just listen. I don’t think I can live without you. I don’t think I can. You’re everything I’ve ever wanted. This isn’t fair,” Cree replied to me, getting up from the couch. She walked over to me, her slender feet dancing lightly over the wood floor. She stopped in front of me, biting her lower lip. She knew I had a particular fondness for her mouth, that I loved watching her lips. Upon closer inspection, I could see that the t-shirt she was wearing was mine.

“I know it isn’t fair. But we have to be mature, here. Life ain’t fair sometimes. And this shit is out of control, Cree.”

“Why are you doing this? Why are you trying to push me away? Not spending the night, calling me Cree. Every single conversation is ‘Baby,’ ‘Boo,’ ‘Love.’ You never call me Cree. Don’t you start now. Don’t you start acting like you don’t love me, Danny. I know better,” she said, her voice getting louder. Her curvy body was taut with anger, and her beautiful face flushed. I wanted to pull her into my arms and put my tongue down her throat. I clenched my fists. I’m done. I’m in control.

“It doesn’t matter how I feel, Cree. It doesn’t matter how you feel. This is the real fucking world, and in the real world, this is impossible.”

“Don’t call me Cree. Act like my man, Danny. Act like the love of my life, because that’s what you are. And that’s why you’re here. Because you know it’s true,” Cree told me, defiant. I closed my eyes and took a deep breath. This woman might really be the death of me. My mind was made up. But my heart and body had been on alert since the moment I walked back in. And it showed. My dick firmed at the sound of her voice, even when it was frustrated and angry. Cree walked closer, rubbed him, kissed my neck. I opened my eyes, let her see the want, the love. She smiled. Then she dropped to her knees.

“Danny, I need you,” she whispered, opening my pants. I put my hand into her hair, that thick, luscious hair.

“Baby, I can’t. The cab…” I started to speak, not even noticing that I’d gone back to the pet name. Cree got my pants open, pulled my dick free, hard and ready, like I hadn’t just spent myself inside her twenty minutes before. I looked down. She licked her lips slowly, and then winked.

“When I’m done, I’ll send him away,” she whispered, and then her lips closed around me. As the pleasure consumed me, I had the thought that I wouldn’t stay with her. I’d get back in the cab and leave. It was a thought. It was all I had. I’m supposed to be done. I’m supposed to be in control.

The next morning, I eased Cree out of my arms and sat on the edge of the bed, pensive. The night before was in the front of my mind, as was the day ahead. There wasn’t a place in that house where I hadn’t made love to her, no place that hadn’t seen us entwined and spent. No place where I hadn’t panted out my love for her in a hurried, sexual frenzy. And no place where she hadn’t done the same. But that didn’t matter. None of it mattered, because it shouldn’t have happened. Because it couldn’t happen again. A hand touched my back, stroked lightly.

“I know you have to go. But once more?” she whispered. I laughed humorlessly.

“You know once is not just once with you,” I replied. Her hand stroked harder.

“Danny…”

“I can’t, love. I have to go.” I said firmly. She sighed. I wasn’t facing her, but I knew her full, succulent, lips were pouting. I smiled a little. I stood up and turned. She reached for me, and I backed away. I went into the living room and found my clothes. I’d gotten into my boxers and pants successfully when she came in. She found my t-shirt she’d been wearing the night before and slipped it over her head. Her dark brown hair was a cloud around her face, and I found myself wanting to reach out and touch it. But I knew if I did, I’d never get my shirt on. I finished dressing while we stared at each other. I was mentally willing my feet to the floor. When I was dressed, I grabbed my coat and headed for the door. I wanted one more taste of her mouth before I left, but experience had taught me how foolhardy it was to attempt kissing her goodbye. A kiss had turned into me taking her against the front door more than once.

“I’ll call when I can, Love,” I said, opening the front door.

“I love you, Danny,” Cree said in response.

“Love you too.”

Once I was outside, I walked up the street three blocks to a coffee shop. After I bought a coffee, I walked six more blocks to a nearby park. I sat on a bench and pulled out my cell phone. I hit the 3 on my speed dial and put the phone to my ear.

“Mr. Marcus?” came the voice of Miles, my driver.

“Hey Miles. I’m at the park on 26th and Middleton.”

“I’ll be there right away, sir,” he replied and hung up. I sat back against the park bench, drinking my coffee, waiting for my ride, and thinking. I sighed deep. There was no way for this situation with me and Cree to have a happy ending of any kind. It just wasn’t in the cards… not for us, anyway.

I’m a wanted man. In the literal sense of the word. I won’t tell you what I do, I’ll just say it’s definitely not legal. My operation spans the entire city I live in, and the neighboring counties as well. I’m a man of power, of stature, of menace, and intimidation. I’m respected and feared in this corner of the world, but also hated and despised. As you can probably guess, the man who hates me most is a cop, one who is connected to Cree Hunter in a way that makes me an even bigger target than I already am. He’s her older brother. Cree’s late husband was a cop as well, killed in the line of duty some years ago. So there’s no way I can have her in this life. And there’s no way for me to get out. Besides death or jail, of course. But I can’t give her up. I’ve tried. I’ve tried over and over. But she calls, and says she needs me, and I can’t say no. I know I’m a step closer to getting caught up everytime I see her; I know I put her in danger every time I touch her. I know, dammit. But this love and this lust is crazy, for the both of us.

“No,” I said out loud, sitting up straight on the bench, “I’m done. I’m in control.” My driver pulled up. I checked my watch and got into the car.

“Home, Miles,” I said easily.

“Of course, Mr. Marcus,” he said back and pulled into traffic. I sat back against the seat. The phone rang. The number lighting up the screen didn’t have a name assigned, but it wasn’t foreign to me. I sighed and stared, wondering how long I could keep from answering this time.

I met Cree at a charity ball thrown by a local politician. Everyone invited had donated money to the new children’s wing at the hospital and they’d asked me to give a speech, my donation being the biggest. Cree had been there with the chief of police, on behalf of the department and their donation. As the widow of their most decorated officer, they’d made her a kind of sexy ambassador for them. I couldn’t be mad at it. She was fine, and funny, and educated. She was a great spokesperson for them. Most of the people in attendance thought I was just a wealthy businessman--and I am. I’m just not in a business that’s legal. The chief of police knew what I really did, he just didn’t have any proof, so he couldn’t lock me up for it. As you might have guessed, that pisses him off. So he never has more than a frown and a middle finger for me. But Cree? I met her eyes across the bar and it was over. I’ve never had a woman affect me so fast. I felt like I did that time I forgot to block my middle sparring with my brother. I ended up bent over, wheezing and gasping. That’s exactly how it was when I saw Cree for the first time. Like I wasn’t paying attention, and someone knocked the air right out of me. Her lips perked up in a delicate smile and all was lost for your boy. I wanted her. We had a couple of looks from across the room, but it was hours before I’d get to talk to her. I stepped out onto a balcony for a phone call and she was there, just watching the sky.

“You look beautiful,” I said, taking in her form-fitting black dress and sparkly high heels. She turned and smiled, her perfect lips painted in red. I think my heart stopped.

“Thank you, Mr. Marcus,” she said back. She walked over to me and I put my phone away. I reached for her hand and kissed it gently. She blushed and her eyes lowered.

“You have the advantage. I don’t know your name.”

“I’m Cree Hunter. And it’s not an advantage, really. I was warned to stay away from you at all costs. That’s the only reason I know your name.”

“I see. And who issued this warning?” I asked, as if I didn’t already know. Cree pulled her hand from mine and moved closer, touching the lapel of my jacket. All I could think about was taking her home.

“Chief Brennan says you’re a dangerous man. A man my husband would have locked up with no hesitation. He says I should avoid you.”

“I see. And what do you think?”

“I think you might actually be a dangerous man, Mr. Marcus. I have no idea. We’ve only just met. But I’m a grown woman who doesn’t appreciate having my dead husband’s name invoked as a way to make me behave. The officers on the force do that a lot, and as well-meaning as they might be, I don’t need a babysitter,” Cree finished. I smiled.

“Then it’s lovely to meet you, Cree Hunter. Please call me Danny. And I’m sorry for your loss,” I said, taking her hand again. Her fingers gripped mine and I found myself wishing I could pull her into my arms.

“Thank you. I’m sorry too. Gabe was a good man, a great man. And I loved him very much.” After speaking, she turned to look out at the night again. But she never let go of my hand. I stood there, taking in her beautiful brown face. I watched her, and she watched the sky. We stood like this for a while until other people started working their way out to the balcony to get air. I smoothly separated myself from her and went to the other side of the large balcony to make my phone call. Then I headed back in to get my coat and find Miles. I had done my civic duty and I was ready to go home. I didn’t get to see Cree before I left, but I wasn’t worried. I had plans to find her.

My ringing phone took me out of my thoughts. But it wasn’t Cree. It was my brother. I pressed the button and lifted the phone to my ear.

“Miles is pulling in now,” I told him and ended the call. My house is a four-story renovated Colonial, with a red brick exterior and black shutters on the front windows. The concrete steps were gray, lightened by years of scrubbing, with a swirl pattern similar to a marble countertop. I had black wrought iron railings and a heavy black wooden front door with an ornate oval glass panel. Miles pulled into the garage next door and I hopped out, heading to the inside door and entering the code to deactivate the alarm. The alarm disarmed and I opened the door, heading into the kitchen. My brother David was at the island, eating what looked like a bowl of pasta, while Michelle, my cook/ housekeeper, stood over him, smiling fondly. Michelle is an aspiring child psychologist, taking graduate classes and doing research in between cooking my dinners and cleaning my house. She lives here with me, and has her own apartment in the basement. Michelle is the younger sister of my best friend Vincent, who’d been killed three years ago. Vince had been the third man in our partnership; now it’s just David and me. We’ve been taking care of Michelle, since she and Vince hadn’t had anyone but each other. I’ve told her a million times that she can just go to school and live and I would take care of her (and her tuition) and hire someone else to cook and clean. But Michelle likes earning her keep. It took me months to convince her to let me pay her.

“Hey,” I spoke. David looked up at me, gave me the head nod, and went back to eating. Michelle looked up and grinned.

“Hey Danny. Want some pasta?” she asked. I grinned back. I took off my coat, threw it over a chair, and sat at the island with my brother.

“Sure Chelle. I’m starving. You get your paper done?” Michelle’s grin faded at my question and her lips went into a pout.

“I’m gonna do it, Danny. I promise. It’s not due for a week.”

“Doesn’t mean you should procrastinate. Work on it tonight. Don’t worry about dinner,” I told her. David laughed softly and Michelle sucked her teeth.

“Fine, you were right. I owe you twenty bucks,” she grumbled and got a bowl from the cabinet. She spooned some pasta from a pot and sat the bowl in front of me with a fork in it.

“I bet her a dub you would bring up that paper she hasn’t written yet,” David said, chuckling between bites. I laughed as well and Michelle rolled her eyes.

“Whatever. I’ll work on it tonight,” Michelle said. She turned back to the stove and I started eating. The pasta was mixed with vegetables and some creamy, cheesy, sauce. I dug in, realizing how hungry I was. A night of Cree’s thighs wrapped around me had sapped all my energy, not that it was the first time. I was absorbed in my food, but could still see the longing looks and surreptitious glances shared between Michelle and David. They’ve been in love for a while now, but David is adamant that Michelle won’t have any part of this life we lead. And he’s been sticking to that, even though I know it hurts him. They keep it as casual as they can. Once in a while, they even attempt to date other people. It never lasts though, probably because you can feel the heat whenever they’re in the same room together. Michelle is the main reason David is always here instead of in his very expensive, upscale condo that our “corporation” is paying for. He never crosses the line though. If a woman is off-limits, he has enough discipline to honor that. Just one of the many reasons my brother is a far better man than I am.

After eating, I left Michelle and David alone and went upstairs to my suite. The second floor was just my bedroom and bathroom. The third floor has two offices, one for official business, and one alarmed and soundproofed for my “unofficial” business. I showered quickly and was looking in my closet for something to wear when the phone rang.

“This is Danny.”

“Danny, where have you been?” Cree was in my ear, demanding, pleading, her voice both a balm and a nuisance, scrambling my thoughts, hardening my dick. I sighed. I went to the bed and sat down.

“Baby, don’t be this way. You know we’re not supposed to be talking like this.”

“I know that, but last night was so special. The way you touched me… we have to find a way to be together, Danny. It’s time. I’m tired of waiting,” Cree said. I put my head in my hands.

“Boo, I love you. You know I do. And I know you love me. But we both know there’s no way for us to be together, in the open, that doesn’t end with me dead or in jail. There’s way too much exposure in trying to go public with you. I don’t want you in this life--at all. Plus, you’d lose your brother behind me and I won’t have that. You need him.”

“Danny, I don’t care about him. I ne-”

“Don’t,” I interrupted before she could let those will-crumbling words escape, “Listen to me. If anyone finds out about us, anyone at all, you’re in danger. Any enemy of mine could find you, get to you. Do you know what they would do to you out of hatred for me? Plus, your brother and his band of boys would run up on me so fast. They’d use you against me, Cree. You know they would. And that would mean open season on anyone else in my life. What about Michelle? What about David?”

“I don’t want anything to happen to any one of us, Danny. You should know that. But I crave you. I don’t know how to stop. I can’t be calm. I can’t be reasonable. God, I know what the dangers are. And I do care. I’m not a fucking monster. I’m just a woman in love with you.” When she finished, I could hear her breathing hard, trying to choke back her tears. I wanted to punch a wall. I hated making her cry.

“Cree, you are everything I have ever wanted,” I said, my voice low and serious. I needed her to fully grasp what I was about to say, “I have never loved a woman the way I love you. I will never love a woman again, the way I love you. But if your brother and that chief find out about us, they will try even harder to get at me. And you know what kind of man I am. People who come for me are automatically my enemies. And I destroy my enemies, Cree. It’s how I’ve gotten to where I am. Right now, they’re just cops. When they become my enemies, I will have no choice but to treat them as such. But they’re your family. Will you still love me if I destroy your family? And if they get to me, and catch me… if they destroy me, Michelle, David… what then?”

“I don’t know,” Cree choked out, sobbing, “I don’t know. I’m so torn, Danny. I loved Gabe. And you are the opposite of everything he stood for. But I love you so much. More than I’ve ever loved anyone. And I don’t know what to do. Jesse is my family. The police are my family. But you… you’re my everything, Danny. And I don’t know how to reconcile the two.”

“I don’t know either, baby. I don’t know how we do this. I just know it’s dangerous to keep going on this way.” There was a long pause on the line while we listened to each other breathe. Finally, she spoke.

“You’re right. You’re completely right. This is crazy, and foolish. I guess I have to learn to live without you, Danny. I guess we have to learn to live without each other. I don’t know how we’re going to do that. But I guess we have to.” she hung up after speaking, the click in my ear sounding loudly. I sighed and fell back onto the bed. I’m done. I’m in control. But Cree’s heart is broken… and so is mine.

Two days after the charity ball where I met Cree, I knew everything about her. My resources were vast, and she was a civilian, so she didn’t have anything to hide. I learned she was a CPA working out of her apartment, she was childless, never extravagant, and that she never spent a dime of the police pension she’d been awarded after her husband died. It was all in an IRA that was invested very modestly. The businessman in me wondered what she was saving for. I also found out that she loved to sit on a bench in the park on 26th and Middleton every Wednesday afternoon and people watch. The Wednesday after the charity ball, I had Miles drop me off two blocks from the park, walked up and sat right next to her on the bench. She looked over at me and smiled.

“I knew you’d find me,” she said in a soft voice. I smiled back.

“Did you really?” I said.

“Yeah. I mean, I knew you had the resources. And I did tell you my name. You left without saying goodbye.”

“It got a little claustrophobic. I needed some space. But I apologize. It won’t happen again.”

Cree laughed. “I hope not. So… I assume you checked on me. I checked on you too.” That made me sit up and pay attention.

“You did?” I asked, incredulous. She nodded.

“My brother is a police officer too. So after the ball, I told him you were the guest speaker and asked him why the chief hates you so much. He told me some… interesting things,” she said.

“Interesting things, huh? Do you believe them?”

“I guess I do. I’ve never known my brother to lie to me. But he made you sound so… evil. And I don’t think you are.”

“I’m not evil. I’m just cautious, calculated. I don’t leave loose ends and I’m always in control,” I told her. She nodded again.

“I see. And the other things my brother said? About what kind of business you really run?”

“I’m just a businessman, Cree. I’m just me. And for my own reasons that’s as much as you’re ever going to know about what I do. If you’re not okay with that, I’ll get up right now and I won’t bother you again,” I said. Cree took a deep breath. Then she bit her lip, thinking over her options. I wanted to reach out and touch her, hold her, kiss her. My dick was hard as a rock and the suspense was killing me. For a man so cautious I was certainly throwing it to the wind. I had no business sitting here with the widow of a cop, who was the sister of another cop. I definitely knew better than this. But something had drawn me to her. And I knew it was the same something that was making Cree think instead of getting up and walking away. Finally, she turned to me.

“Let’s go to my place. I live up the street,” she said to me and stood up. I stood up as well and followed her to a third floor walk-up a half block away. We barely made it inside before we were grappling with clothes, hands and mouths mingling. I took her half dressed against the front door the first time, falling in love with every stroke, our hearts and bodies imprinting on each other. And that’s when the magic words surfaced.

“Danny, I need you.”

After I hung up with Cree, I spent the rest of the day in my office, brooding and grumbling, and yelling at anyone who asked me anything. When I snapped at Michelle, and she ran downstairs on the verge of tears, I knew I’d gone too far. And I wasn’t the only one who thought so. Ten minutes later, my brother appeared.

“What the fuck is wrong with you?” he demanded, walking into my office. He sat down in the chair in front of my desk and stared at me, waiting for an explanation.

“It’s nothing, man. Look, tell Michelle I’m sorry, aight? I didn’t mean it.” David shook his head at me.

“Nah dude. You the one that acted like a dickhead. You can tell her yourself. But first, you need to tell me what’s going on. I mean, the shipment’s a little late this week, but you can’t be this mad about that,” he said. I sighed.

“It’s not that, Dave. I’m good. I’m just… I got some shit on my mind, that’s all.”

“Then maybe you need to get out, do something, get your mind off it. Meet a woman. You ain’t been checking for nobody since you backed off that cop’s sister.” David said, ever observant. After two months of seeing in Cree in secret, I finally told my brother, because… I tell my brother everything. He told me how stupid I was, and made me promise to back off. That was six months ago. He didn’t know I’d continued to see Cree, had moved her into a small townhouse, and was currently trying to untangle myself from her. He didn’t know how far I’d gone. And I wanted to keep it that way. It’s not easy for me to admit I’m not the man he thinks I am. I’ve been putting us all at risk, when it’s always been my job to protect us. I don’t want David to know how far I’ve fallen.

“Yeah. Maybe I will go out tonight. Maybe that will clear my head a bit,” I said. David nodded with satisfaction.

“Great. Feel like handling a little business while you’re out?” he asked. I looked at him, confused.

“Why, what’s up?”

“Well, that state representative, what’s his name--Jones, or something--anyway, dude is throwing himself a birthday party at the Oswald Manor tonight. I heard Senator Grant is a confirmed guest so I copped a couple of invites. You can go in my place. It’s a good chance to get all dressed up, drink, charm a lady or two. Plus, you can talk to Grant about that venture we discussed. What you think, bro?” David finished and smiled at me. I smiled back. It was time for me to get back to business as usual.

“I think I’m going to a party,” I said back. I laughed and then got up to find Michelle and apologize.

When I got to the party, it was already live and loud. People were dressed in their best semi-formal wear, dancing and drinking, and schmoozing. It was the perfect opportunity to see and be seen. I took a deep breath and headed to the bar. I figured I’d keep it casual for a while, and then find the senator later, when he was appropriately liquored up. When I got to the bar it was fairly crowded, but the crowd parted for me. My wealth and business stature meant that I knew quite a few of the people in attendance, some casually, some a little more so.

“Bourbon, double, neat,” I said to the bartender. He nodded and poured, handing me a glass. I took the glass and nodded in thanks, turning to lean against the bar. I sipped slowly, appreciating the bourbon’s quality. I scanned the room quickly, trying to see if there was someone there I cared to make conversation with. I spotted Senator Grant, holding court in the east corner with the birthday boy, Rep. Marvin Jones, and some other lower level minions. As my eyes moved west, I stopped short. Cree was standing there, looking good enough to eat in a short, blue dress, her left arm threaded through the right arm of the police chief. I sighed and closed my eyes briefly, hoping it was just a trick my mind was playing on me. I should have figured the chief would show up here. I could only fathom that he was sowing the seeds of his future political career. Too bad he hates me. I could have helped him out. But why the fuck was Cree here? This wasn’t even her scene. I threw back the rest of the whiskey and headed toward Cree. As soon as she saw me, her eyes widened and her luscious mouth opened slightly. I made a quick turn and headed into the crowd, making sure to lose myself and block her view of me. I found the bar on the other side of the room and ordered another double.

“Hi Danny,” a sultry voice greeted me. I turned to see Lana, a secretary in the Mayor’s office and a party girl I used to make scream before I met Cree.

“Lana. How you doing, sweetheart?”

“You know me. Same old, same old. You uh… here with anyone?” she asked. I nodded and signaled the bartender. I put up two fingers and pointed to Lana, indicating that he should refill the both of us. I looked Lana up and down, taking in her tight silver dress and stiletto heels. I knew the bottoms were red and wondered which one of the men on her roster had paid for them.

“I’m here with you now,” I answered and handed her a drink.

Lana clung to me the rest of the night, except for the few minutes I pulled Senator Grant to the side and hashed out some details about our joint venture. I kept Cree in my line of sight, so that I could make sure we avoided each other. I saw her glance my way a few times, her eyes ice cold, a frown on her face. I knew she was pissed and having Lana clinging to me like this was overkill, but I needed to make Cree see that we were done. If I had to hurt her to do that, then so be it. After a while, my duty was done and I was ready to go. I knew if I asked Lana to go home with me she’d say yes. Hopefully she’d keep her mouth shut long enough for my dick to get hard. She teetered to the bathroom to get herself together and I headed to coat check. Cree was there, holding her ticket and waiting. I walked up and reached into my jacket pocket for mine. The attendant took both tickets and disappeared into a large closet.

“She’s cute. If you’re into that. Way to go, Danny,” Cree said, her voice angry. I sighed.

“You’re judging me? I can’t even have a night to process losing you without you appearing everywhere I fucking go,” I said back, my voice just as angry. Cree turned to me, her face flushed and scowling.

“Obviously I didn’t know you’d be here. One of the chief’s kids got sick and his wife asked me to accompany him in her place. I’m supposed to be home crying my eyes out. But here I am. And not only did I have to be in this place, but I had to watch you drink and laugh and touch another woman’s ass all night. So yes, I’m judging you. You’re a piece of shit, Danny.”

“And you’re a spoiled brat. What you want me to do? Follow you around all night? If I hadn’t had a distraction in here, you’d be somewhere naked with me dicking you down right now. You know we need a buffer, Cree. And I didn’t know you’d be here, either.” I finished my rant as the attendant reappeared with our coats. I took mine and walked away quickly. When I got back to the main hall, I didn’t see Lana anywhere. I stopped one of her friends walking by, Clarissa or something.

“Hey. Where’s Lana?” I asked her. She giggled drunkenly.

“She passed out in the bathroom. Manor staff put her in a cab a second ago.” she replied and stumbled away. I sighed, frustrated. I shook my head in disgust and went to find Miles.

An hour later, I was sitting in my office, in the dark, staring at the ceiling. My phone flashed and a message appeared from Cree’s number. I opened it to a video. There was darkness at first, then the camera light came on, showing a pair of open thighs. Cree’s thighs. She spread wider, and began to touch herself. Her fingers rubbed her clit, slid in and out. Then I heard her moan. My pants suddenly felt tighter and my mouth was dry. I watched her touch herself, heard her pleasure as she moaned and whimpered. A few moments later, her fingers went faster, hurrying to her impending orgasm. Suddenly she stiffened and gasped.

“Danny, I need you,” she called out and then the video ended as the phone dropped. I sat back in my chair, struggling for air. Then I got up and went downstairs, heading to the kitchen and grabbing my car keys from the hook. I got into my Tahoe and hit the button for the garage door opener, pulling into the street. I raced through the streets, anxious to get across town to Cree’s house. I’d bought it after we’d been together three months. She’d lied and told everyone she’d bought it with her saved pension money. I made sure she wasn’t anywhere near me, and normally I also made sure never to drive to her house, since she didn’t have a garage and I didn’t drive the most inconspicuous car. But tonight was too urgent to wait for a cab. She’d said the words. She’d moaned the words. I was going to make her scream the words.

I parked a block away and ran to the house, using my key to get in the door. I locked it behind me and headed up the stairs to the master bedroom. Cree was lying in bed, naked. She looked to be asleep. I dropped my coat and went over to the bed. I climbed in and spread her legs, diving in with my face. My tongue found her clit with the accuracy and precision of someone who’d found it many times. And I had. I began to lick, my hands climbing up to her breasts and rubbing. Cree gasped, and then screamed. I think she came before she was even fully awake.

“Tell me,” I panted out, as I tasted her thoroughly, feasting on her. Cree shook and put her hands on my head, pushing and tugging, the pleasure so intense she didn’t know if she wanted to pull me closer or back away. I put her legs over my shoulders and used my arms to lock her thighs in place.

“Hold still. Tell me what I want to hear,” I said in a low voice, before going back to tasting her. Cree’s moans were broken, tortured, sounding like sobs. Her cream dripped from her body to my tongue. She came again, and again. I didn’t stop. I didn’t know how to stop.

“Danny, I need you,” she yelled, her body going into spasms. I lifted my mouth, kissing her thighs one last time before I sat up and moved up her body. I kissed her, letting her taste herself. She loved tasting herself. She reached down and unbuttoned my pants quickly. I was inside her five seconds later. I thrust hard, biting her neck, my head spinning. Cree moaned and held on to me.

“Danny, I need you,” she whimpered, her legs shaking. I fucked her hard, needing to bury myself in her body and forget that I was losing my mind. Cree had yet another orgasm, screaming my name and I came, the pleasure intense, and pumped my nut right into her body. A low moan escaped me and I gripped her thighs so hard I was sure I’d left handprints. Our mutual orgasms were always the best. I fell onto her, trying to catch my breath. Then I pulled out, moving to the side of her and pulling her into my arms.

“I’m sorry, Danny. I know I shouldn’t have done it. But I had to see you,” she said, breathless. I kissed her forehead gently and didn’t respond. Because it wasn’t just her. I certainly shouldn’t have come. And I certainly shouldn’t still be here now. I knew I was going to pay for this. I knew we both would. But she’d said the words.

An hour later, Danny and Cree slept soundly. They didn’t hear the masked man, who entered the bedroom and stood over them. They didn’t hear him raise his silenced weapon. Two shots. Minimal noise. They died instantly, in each other arms. The man left the house silently, the way he’d come in. He walked two blocks to a car and got in. He took off his mask and wiped his tear-streaked face.

“Home, Miles,” David Marcus said quietly and sat back against the seat. He’d warned Danny about that cop’s sister. He’d warned him she was a liability. But he refused to listen. So they both became one. David Marcus wiped his face and sniffed. It was done. He was back in control.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Shameka S Erby

Writer. Storyteller. Creator and wordsmith. Hip-hop lover. Fat Girl. Whiskey Queen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.