Filthy logo

Love Despite Reality

Chapter 2

By Veronica PollardPublished 2 years ago 40 min read
Like

CHAPTER 2

Once aboard the flight to Austin West fires up his laptop once again. Three urgent emails keep him busy the entire flight. Before boarding their flight to Jacksonville Larissa changes clothes in record speed

"You look amazing, but where's your uniform?" West asks when she comes out of the restroom

"In my bag, I'm a passenger now" she replies

They sit in first class just the two of them and an older gentleman in a business suit.

"This flight is a few hours" Larissa tells West

"I know, are you tired?" West ask quite seductively

"Not yet! We have to work on your membership!" Larissa whispers

"I do think your trying to seduce me Miss Mathews" he says in a soft voice

Glancing down at his lap she asks

"Is it working?"

Standing up she walks towards the restroom and glances back with the most carnal intent. All too willing to oblige, West stands and follows her.

Once they've landed, they collect their luggage and exit the terminal

"Did you drive" West asks

"No sir" Larissa states

"Good, I ordered a car, this way." he says

"How did you know I didn't drive?"

"What can I say, I know you! Come on you look tired" he says sweetly

As they climb into the car West says

"Can you give the driver your address, please?"

"Finally, something you don't know!" she smirks

"I know what I want it to be!" he says with a silly grin

After about a half hour drive, they arrive at a huge, gated subdivision. It's almost 3am and Larissa has nodded off, becoming a member of the mile-high club must have been exhausting. They pull up to a beautiful custom-built Mediterranean estate.

"Riss, we're here, I think!" West says softly

"What do you mean you think?" Larissa says as she sits up. Looking around she says

"Yes, home sweet home!"

She sits up and pulls out her house keys

"Go ahead and open the door and I'll bring our things" West says

Inside Larissa says

"Make yourself at home!" as she kicks off her shoes

There is a spacious formal living room with high ceilings as they enter. A huge dining room and a large gourmet kitchen. Through the kitchen and out the back door there is a beautiful pool.

"Come on, we can shower and go to bed. I will give you a tour in the morning?" she murmurs

West takes her hand and says

"Sure, lead the way!"

Upstairs they walk into a large master bedroom, Larissa walks into the bathroom and turns on the shower.

In the shower West asks

"You live in this house alone?"

With a sleepy grin she says

"Yes! What makes you ask that?"

"This house has to be at least five bedrooms! Don't get me wrong, it's a beautiful house. But honestly how many twenty-eight-year-old, single flight attendants live in a house like this!" he states

"So, are you volunteering to be my roommate?" she smirks

"Just an observation!" he says leaning down kissing her forehead

"Let's just say I'm not the average twenty-eight year old and I like my space!" she smiles and continues

"Come on, I'm sleepy!"

The early morning sun light shines through the blinds. Larissa rolls over and studies West as he lies quietly sleeping next to her. Climbing out of bed Larissa heads downstairs to start breakfast. West wakes up just as she walks back into the room

"Good morning beautiful!" he smiles

"Good morning!" she says giving him a quick kiss

As she pulls away he tugs her on the bed and mounts her.

From beneath him she asks

"Are you hungry?"

"Starving!" he replies as he presses his groin into hers

"That appetite is never ending but I made breakfast" she says

"I'll be right down" West says getting up walking into the bathroom

As they sit eating breakfast Larissa asks

"How does it feel being a member?"

"Words cannot describe!" he says and they both laugh

"This breakfast is amazing!" he adds

"Not as good as yours, but thanks." she teases

"Can't argue with that!" he states

As they finish breakfast, she asks

"Ready for your tour Sir?"

"Absolutely!"

Once they've toured the entire house, they end up back in the kitchen.

"I'll help you clean" West tells her

"No, I got it, don't you need to check on your resort or something?" she replies

"I'll do that once we're done, please let me help"

Wrapping his arms around her, he pulls her close and gives her a long lustful kiss.

West picks her up then sits her on the counter and they quickly christen the kitchen.

"Larissa, I want you in my life!" he whispers softly as they stand in the shower

"And I want to be in your life, I really do!" she replies

"This past weekend has been a dream come true!" West states

"I just have some things to figure out." Larissa says

"We have so much catching up to do!" he adds

"Speaking of catching up, there is something we need to discuss."

"What?" he answers a little surprised

"I haven't been on birth control for quite some time, I haven't needed any. But we've had a very busy weekend!" she pauses

West closes his eyes then exhales

"You're right, I'll go to the store today!" West replies as he opens his eyes, then continues

"Quite some time!"

"I mean, we used a rubber maybe twice. But we can't keep being so careless" she pauses

"Yes, quite some time West!"

"I think we'll be fine, it's only been like" West stops and recaps the weekend

"Wow, we have been doing a lot of catching up!" he chuckles, and Larissa says

"Yes, we sure have! Come on let's get out before you try to do some more."

"Come on one for the road!?" West asks with a silly smirk

"Would you behave, we just..." West kisses her cutting her off mid-sentence.

That now familiar quiver resonates deep within her and instantly she becomes moist.

This orgasm is mind-blowingly intense and instantly she becomes exhausted.

"It's almost noon, I need to call the office before they leave for lunch, I won't be long." West tells Larissa

"No problem, you can use the office downstairs if you want" she replies

"Thank you" he states

A few minutes later when West returns Larissa asks

"Do you remember when we started play dating in ninth grade?"

"Yeah, we did some crazy things back in high school! It was playing for you, but I was serious! I knew since the summer before ninth grade, when you spent the summer in Ohio that I was in love with you." West confesses

As freshmen Larissa and West came up with a plan to pretend to be a couple, so they could avoid the pressures of dating. That plan is what led to the transition between best friends to sweethearts.

The two decide to watch some tv and before long Larissa falls asleep.

After some time

"Larissa!" West states startling her.

When she opens her eyes, he says

"Your phone was ringing"

"You have three missed calls from Pam" he says as he reaches her the phone

Larissa gets up and heads downstairs returning her friends call

West joins her in the living room as she hangs up.

"Ok, I'll see you in a few" she says as she turns to him.

"My co-worker Pam's condo is flooded and she needs a place to crash while they do repairs, so I told her she could stay here." Larissa says by way of explanation

"I hope you don't mind"

"Of course not, this is your mansion!" he replies with a chuckle

"That is very nice of you!"

"She'll be here in thirty minutes" she adds

"Great that gives us plenty of time!" West says

"Time for what?" Larissa asks

Leaning in he whispers

"To christen another room!"

"O no! West I'm tired." she says quickly as West reaches for her hand.

"We have thirty minutes, I'm sure I can help you find some energy" he says in a low seductive voice

"We haven't been to the store yet!" she adds as an excuse. He giggles and reaches into his back pocket.

"You are still a sound sleeper!" he whispers. Larissa glances up then smiles

"Rain check!" she says sweetly giving him a quick kiss

"Ok you win, let's eat" West says in defeat

"While I was out, I got sandwiches." he adds

"What time is it, how long was I sleep?" Larissa asks

"It's almost seven" he answers

"I'm so sorry, why did you let me sleep all day. I wanted to take you out. And it was my turn to treat you to dinner." she pouts

"You were tired, and you needed some rest. You are the only site I want to see! And you buying is out of the question!" he says with a lustful smile

"And I promise you'll get full access before we leave. We will revisit the buying ordeal later." she says as she wraps her arms around his neck and kisses him sweetly

"Thank you so much for dinner, I'm starving!"

West passes Larissa the food and grabs them some drinks from the fridge. Sitting back down at the table, West says

"So, just so we're clear, you did say before 'we' leave! That means you are coming back to Orlando with me."

"If you want me to!" she replies

With a huge grin West says

"While you were sleeping, I thought about whether or not you would be coming with me."

"Were you now?" she smirks and after a beat she says

"And what were your thoughts?"

"Let's just say I'm pleased with your decision!"

Just as they're clearing the table the doorbell rings

"That must be Pam" Larissa says as she heads to the door

Walking back into the kitchen with Pam, she says

"Pam, this is West, West, this is Pam!"

"Nice to meet you Pam" he states

"The pleasure is all mine!" Pam replies as she shakes West's hand a little too long

Larissa nudges her and says

"Stop it!"

"I'll be back in a second." she tells West

"Pam let me show you the guest room" she says leading Pam out of the kitchen

After showing her where she will be staying Pam tells Larissa

"I'll be back in a little while, I have to go get some of my things"

"You have a key, just let yourself in. We'll see you later" Larissa replies

As she shows Pam out, West grabs some fruit and wine and heads upstairs

"Babe, where are you going?" Larissa asks

"I'm running a bath, and you made me a promise Ms. Mathews!" he replies as he glances over the balcony

"Don't you mean Mrs. West!" she says under her breath as she follows

Once she's upstairs West says

"Really Larissa! You have one little smart mouth"

"What do you mean?" she asks not knowing he heard her

"You can't whisper Mrs. West" he says.

Larissa giggles

"Miss whatever your name is!" West smirks

"You made me a promise!"

Larissa walks over and pops a grape in her mouth. Then taking his hands she places them around her waist and wraps her arms around his neck saying

"I know, and I liked the sound of Mrs. West!"

"So, do I!" he replies

"But right now, let's focus on this promise!" he adds as he reaches and turns off the water.

After some early morning role playing, they are finally dressed, packed and on the road back to Orlando. West chooses to drive Larissa's Lexus IS instead of the Mercedes-Benz.

"I'm more than thrilled that you're coming back with me, but I do have a late evening today. I have a few meetings scheduled this evening." West tells Larissa

"Is there any particular reason why you didn't tell me this while I was still at home?" Larissa asks

"Well, I didn't want you to change your mind and stay home." he replies watching her reaction

"That's not fair West! What makes you think I want to sit around waiting for you to live your dreams, running your empire!" she asks teasing him

For a moment they ride in silence, Larissa not giving anything away. West unable to tell whether or not she's mad, he begins to feel guilty as they continue to ride in silence.

"West, relax, I was only kidding!" Larissa laughs and grabs his hand after a minute

"I know that you've been away from the office for several days and have work to catch up on! That's fine. That will give me time to enjoy some of the amenities I didn't get to last weekend" she adds

"Riss that's not funny, and to believe I actually started to feel a little guilty." he replies

"I'm sorry." Larissa apologizes

West pulls into the spot next to his car marked reserved just after noon and climbing out he walks over to open Larissa's door.

"Here's your key" he says handing her the car keys

"And this is your parking spot." he adds

He waits for her to move so he can close the door, then they head inside.

"I need to check in and see if I have any messages. You can wait, or I'll meet you upstairs." he states

Unsure of his mood she chooses to go upstairs. On the elevator she realizes West had attached two keys to her key ring, so she tries the one that resembles his room key and to her surprise it works.

Not even ten minutes later West walks in the door, with some young guy and their luggage.

"Thank you, Noah!" West says as he hands him a tip

Not liking the vibe in the air, she attempts to walk over to him and just as she does, he walks in the opposite direction and goes into his office.

"West!" she calls out

"Yes!" he says abruptly looking up from his phone

"What's bothering you?" she asks as she walks over to him

"You said you were joking in the car, but you sounded serious. This was our dream and I need you in my life in order for any of this to mean anything!" West states

Wrapping her arms around his neck she gathers a response.

"West, seriously I was just kidding. Why are you still thinking about that! I even apologized." she says

"Larissa, I'm still in love with you and I've fantasized my entire life about this past weekend! And after all my success and achievements, there has still been one thing missing and now you're here! I never considered that you might not feel the same way!" West states

Standing there searching each other's eyes West's phone rings, breaking their concentration. Lowering her arms Larissa says

"Answer it, please, it's fine!"

"This is West!" he says answering the call

"Hey Ma, how are you?" he says

"Ok, when?"

"I can't go this week, try and reschedule it for next week some time."

Listening to West's one-sided conversation she tries to walk away, and he tightens his arm around her.

"Alright, tell Dad I said hello, and email me the information about the house, I have to go." he says rushing her off the phone. Hanging up he says

"I'm sorry, where were we?"

Grabbing his phone, she lays it on the desk and then reaching for his hand she leads him into the living room, and they sit down on the couch.

"West, I still love you! I always have, and I always will! Seeing how successful you are and realizing that you have above all expectations achieved everything that I always knew you would! There is no place I would rather be than here with you. I am extremely proud of you!" she pauses then continues

"Since my parents, I've felt alone and lost. I know it's crazy, but I feel comfortable with you. Even though it's been years, being here with you is comforting. I don't feel so alone in the world anymore."

"It wasn't until Friday that I really started to appreciate all that I have! You are the one thing that has been missing and I don't want to lose you again." West says leaning forward kissing her with a fervency that she'd never felt before. Leaning her back on the couch he undoes her jeans and pulls them down.

Stepping out the shower West says

"Will you help me this evening? Did you bring something you can wear?"

"Depends on what you need my help with!" she replies

"It's business, not pleasure. I like this outfit for that!" he says tugging on her towel

"I'll see what I have" she says

"I'm sure you have something!" he states

West finishes getting dressed and says

"Come to the office for a minute then we can eat something. Are you hungry?" he asks

"I would love a Caesar salad"

"Salad it is then! I'll order you one." he replies

Once they're in the office West says

"I just wanted to give you a quick rundown of what I'm dealing with this evening."

"Ok Mr. West, should I take notes?" Larissa asks sarcastically

"That's up to you Miss Mathews" he replies

"What happened to Mrs. West?" she asks

"That is yet to be determined!" he says matter-of-factly

"Not funny!" she pouts

"I'm kidding. I decided that a long time ago. Now focus please!" he replies

"Ok! I'm ready!" She states all business this time

West goes down a list of issues going on with staff and management and near future plans.

"I'm still wrapping my head around the fact that you really own a resort. So, you still handle all the day to day stuff?" she responds

"I haven't acquired this all on my own. I've held off from hiring a resort manager for now. That's where you would fit in perfectly. I started the resort with four other investors, including my dad. I currently have only one left to buy out! I plan to handle the day to day for another year or two, then I'll take a step back for a year or so and reevaluate" he states

"Have you created a business plan for your expansion?" she asks ignoring his comments about her working at the resort

"Of course, almost two years ago!" he states

"You mind if I take a look at it?" she asks

"Absolutely not, I'll print you a copy when we go down to the office." West replies

"I have a few questions if that's ok." Larissa asks

Before West can answer there is a knock at the door

"That must be our food!" he says

"Let's take a break and eat" he states

West answers the door and it's Noah with their food.

While they sit and eat West tells Larissa that his mom wants to show him a house in the next week or two and he wants her to come with him.

"I would love to, if I'm here." she replies

"I really want you to go with me, so just let me know when you can go, and I'll have her plan it around your schedule" he says

"You're buying a house?" she asks

"I am not! My mother wants me to buy a house, so it has become her hobby. I'm not interested but it gives her something to do, so I go look at them to entertain her." he states

"Ok!" she responds

"You said you had a few questions"

"Yes, the maintenance issue, when you get the contract may I take a look at it?"

"Sure, no problem!"

"Housekeeping, if you have to replace them do you plan to promote or hire?" Larissa asks

"Promote, I have two staff members coming to interview this evening" he responds

"Will you take me to see the property your thinking of buying?" she asks

"Sure!" West replies

"Last but not least, you will be getting an invoice for my consulting services!" Larissa says very businesslike

"I wouldn't have it any other way! Just don't bankrupt me please. I'm a small businessman!" They both giggle then Larissa says

"There is nothing small about you Mr. West!" in her sweet seductive voice

"Babe we have to stay focused until after the interviews" West says

"And what are you wearing?" he asks

"What's wrong with this?" she asks sweetly then walks around the table and stands next to him in her short pink mini dress

West slides his hand up the back of her leg then up her thigh and says

"I love this dress, but I have a business to run and would love your help. We won't get anything done with you in this." he replies

"I wouldn't want to stand in the way of success! I'll be ready in ten minutes" Larissa gives him a quick kiss and disappears into the room

Less than ten minutes later she emerges in a casual peach blouse and khaki dress pants with leopard high heels

"You look stunning Riss!" West says as he stands

"Ready?" she asks

"Yes ma'am!" he replies

Leaning over he whispers

"I can't wait to see you in just those heels!"

Smiling she turns and strolls toward the door.

West already has a spot set up for her next to him on his desk, with a copy of the maintenance agreement, business plan and tablet.

"Make yourself at home, let me know if you need anything else" West says as they settle into his office

"This is a little much!" Larissa states a little amused

"While I'm doing interviews, you can take notes and review the contract. And this is nothing, I'll be working on setting up your office soon." West states

"You're getting a little too comfortable with this, West!" she says softly

West winks and smiles at her. Before she can respond there is a knock at the door.

Two hours, two interviews and two meetings later West has figured out that he needs to acquire a new maintenance company. They sit waiting for Rebecca, the VP of communications to come fill West in on the upcoming commercial shoot that may or may not be taking place.

Arriving late, Rebecca informs West that the shoot is scheduled for three weeks out, Wednesday and Thursday and that they are requesting he be on-site during the shoot hours.

"I haven't approved the budget for the shoot, so how have you confirmed the dates?" West asks scolding her

"Yes, sir I will email you a copy of everything" she says

"I can't guarantee to be on-site the entire time, what are the hours?" he asks

"8am to 8pm Wednesday and Thursday."

"24 hours for a two-minute commercial! That's not going to happen!" he says sharply

"That alone has put us over budget. 6am till noon on Wednesday and 6pm till 10pm on Thursday, that puts you under 12 hours cutting your budget in half and gives you am and pm shots." West waits for her response but she just nods

"Send me a revised budget and I will call you after I've reviewed it. If we can't get everything in order before the end of the week the commercial will have to be postponed. Thank you." he says dismissing her

Rebecca exits the office and West follows behind her. A minute later he returns and says

"You ready babe, it's getting late." standing to follow West she sees the clock on the wall reads 7:49.

When they arrive, upstairs West asks

"Will you take a bath with me?"

"Of course, I'll run it" Larissa replies

West sits at the computer in his office a minute later Larissa walks in and asks

"What are you doing now?"

"Checking my email" he replies

"West you were just in your office for over two hours, can that wait?"

"I just want to see if she sent over the budget for the commercial." he replies

"It's 8 o'clock! Do you see it?" she asks

"Not yet!" he responds

"You can check for it in the morning! I thought you were going to take me by the property." she states

"Yes ma'am, I'm sorry! It's late and you won't be able to see anything tonight. I promise I will take you soon." he apologizes

In the bath they wash each other. Then Larissa lays back on West's chest and they relax.

"It has been a long day" West says

"Yes, it has, and I need to tell you something." Larissa says softly

West looks down at her and says

"Go ahead!"

Leaning over she peers up at West and says

"I'll be heading home Thursday morning!"

West stops breathing then mumbles

"Why?"

"I have a house guest. I've been away from home for almost a month now. The purpose for me coming here was completely derailed when I ran into you. I'm not saying that was a bad thing, but I just need some time to clear my head and regroup."

West leans his head back and closes his eyes

"Riss" he starts but can't find the words

"I know you have a business to run, I don't expect you to come with me." she says

"But I...!" West replies sitting up

"I know but I really just need some time. This past week has been incredible!" she acknowledges

"Some time! " West says a little uneasy

"I'm getting out" West states abruptly

Quickly climbing out of the tub, he dries off and puts on some pajama pants then leaves the room, without saying a word. Larissa makes it her mission not to let this ruin their night. After soaking a few more minutes she grabs her silk pink nightie and slipping it on she sets off to find West.

Dressed in her short, thin, pink nightdress she walks into his office and closes the door behind her causing West to look up from his computer. West's mouth drops open and he stills. Leaning on the closed office door Larissa says

"Are you mad at me?" as sweet and seductive as she can.

He sits back in the chair and after a beat he pushes away from the desk. They both stare taking in each other as the temperature in the room spikes. West stands up, slides down his pants and sits back down, not saying a word. Larissa gazes at him and he finally asks

"Do I look mad?"

"You look rather pleased, but I'm not sure if it's with me!" she responds

West stands up stepping out of his pajamas then slowly walks over to her and whispers

"Let me reassure you!"

Kissing her lustfully he reaches under her night dress

"You seem pleased to see me too!" picking her up she wraps her legs around him he carries her back to the bedroom.

"Good morning sleeping beauty" West greets Larissa

"Morning!" she replies

"What time is it?" she asks

"Only 7:40!"

"Why are you up so early?"

"I had some work that I didn't get to finish last night!" West smirks

Laughing she says

"No one is up this early. Are you done?"

"Yes, why?" he asks

She gets out of bed and walks towards the bathroom and says

"I didn't want to take a shower alone!"

"Of course, not" he replies

After their shower they decide to cook breakfast together.

"Why did it feel like you were breaking up with me last night?" West asks out of no where

"I'm not sure. I think you're overreacting West! I just need some time to think. My parents died right after I graduated so to escape that reality I became a flight attendant. But that has gotten old and I don't know what I'm going to do next. I feel lost." she states

"So, I'm in the way of you thinking?" West states

"No, West! That is not what I'm trying to say."

"Larissa, this is an option, you, me here at the resort. This was always our dream, to own and run a business together."

"I know West and you've made that clear. You want to be my knight in shining armor, I get it and I'd love that but your forgetting I live in Jacksonville. That's not right around the corner."

"I feel like you're not telling me the whole story" West states

"West! This isn't about you or us or your resort." she replies

"What is it about then?" he asks

"I'm going home tomorrow!" Larissa says as she gets up from the table.

West quickly gets up and follows her into the kitchen

"Riss, I'm sorry! Please! I just don't want you to leave."

"I know West and I completely understand but..." West puts his finger up to her lips

"You don't have to explain" he says replacing his finger with a soft kiss. Pouring all their emotions into the kiss they stand breathless and aroused.

"Let's make the best of today" West says as they get dressed

"Thank you!" Larissa replies

"What would you like to do today?" he asks

"As long as we're together it doesn't matter!" she states

Following their day out on the lake downtown, paddle boating, feeding swans, West plans a romantic dinner at Ocean Prime later that evening.

As the valet opens Larissa's door West's phone rings.

He quickly takes it out and powers it off

"Answer it, it could be important!" Larissa whispers

"It can wait until tomorrow!" he replies

"West!" she says trying to persuade him

"No distractions tonight!" he says

As they walk in the waiter escorts them to their private round booth. Soft classical music plays in the background giving the restaurant a romantic ambience.

"I'm going to miss you West!" Larissa says as they sit waiting for their drinks

"I'm going to miss you more! I can only promise that I'll try to give you your space. You might have another stalker if you stay away too long." he says softly

"Please don't make this harder than it already is." she petitions

"When are you going back to work?" West asks

"I'm not sure, I took a few weeks off." she answers

"Just promise me you won't make me wait another ten years." he says

"Of course not!"

As they finish with dinner West tells Larissa that he's scheduled a limo ride through downtown.

"I do believe you are trying to convince me to stay!" she says with a grin

"You can't blame a guy for trying." he replies

"You have been nothing but perfect! That's made this decision very hard for me." Larissa says then smiles

"I've dealt with regret for years. This is my opportunity to make sure you know how much I want you in my life!" West confesses

"I understand, but the reality is you live here, everything you've worked so hard to build is here and my life is two hours away in Jacksonville." Larissa replies

Realizing at that moment her life, the one she'd been running from for years was not the life she wanted to live. The life she wanted, the life she'd been hoping for, was right in front of her. West had single handedly made both of their dreams a reality. All she needed to do was accept it, which was easier said than done.

As they stand at the curb waiting on the limo West takes her hand and asks

"Are you ok?"

"Yes, I'm ok." she replies

"Are you sure your up for a ride?" he asks

"Of course!" she smirks

Just as they settle in West leans over and nibbles on her ear, then kisses her neck. As he continues down Larissa's phone rings and they both ignore it.

"Larissa, wake up." West says as they arrive back at the resort

Back in the penthouse Larissa says

"West, you have become everything I knew you would be." then continuing she says

"But I'm lost!" tears begin to pool in her eyes

West sits on the couch and pulls her to his lap.

"Please don't cry." he says softly

"Not only are you young and extremely attractive but you're smart, intelligent and fully capable of doing whatever it is your heart desires. Your only problem is you have to decide what that is." he says as he wipes a tear from her cheek

"Thank you!" she says as she leans in and kisses him emotionally, pouring her soul into his

"Larissa you are so unsure of yourself, but you complete me! My life looks perfect...."

"Stop, please!" Larissa says as she plants a salty kiss on his lips once more.

West pulls away and Larissa says

"Please!"

The next day West is up bright and early in the gym running on the treadmill. After an hour work out, he jumps in the shower. As he washes his hair, he hears Larissa coming into the bathroom after a minute she joins him.

"Good morning" Larissa greets him

"Morning! Not sure how good it is." he replies

"You should really think about my job offer." West adds

"If I agree to think about it will you drop it." she says

"Yes, of course!" he assures her

"Do you have time for me to make you breakfast?"

"Of course!" she says

After breakfast West helps Larissa down with her luggage and is forced to say a heartfelt farewell.

"Drive safe and call me as soon as you get home, please!" West tells her

"Yes Sir" she replies as she gets in the car

West steps back and watches her drive away. Feeling a little empty inside he goes upstairs and calls her

"West, what's wrong?" she asks answering the phone

"I miss you already!" he states in a sweet somber voice

"West stop it!" she replies

"I don't know what I'm going to do now that your gone" he says

"You have a successful resort to run! I'm sure you'll find something to do! I can't wait to see what you've accomplished when I get back." she says comforting him

"Drive safe!" he says hanging up the phone

Two hours, twelve minutes later Larissa pulls up to her driveway to find the garage door halfway up and the front door open. She quickly takes out her phone and calls Pam.

Pam answers on the first ring

"Hello!" she says

"Hi Pam, it's Larissa, where are you?" she asks concerned

"I'm at the store, is everything ok?"

"I'm not sure. Did you leave the garage door up or the front door open?"

"No, I've been gone about an hour. I locked everything up. You've made it back?"

"Yes, and the front door is open, and the garage door is up. I'm going to call the police."

"Ok! I'm on my way I'll be there in a few minutes."

Hanging up Larissa calls 911 to report the incident. Two officers arrive on seen within minutes, moments later Pam pulls up behind them.

Jumping out of the car she walks over to Larissa and says

"Larissa, oh my gosh, are you ok?"

"Yes, I'm fine. I didn't get out until the officers arrived."

They stand talking while the two police officers check the premises

"Did West come back with you?" Pam asks looking around

"O crap! No, and I was supposed to call and let him know I made it." Larissa states as she walks back to her car to grab her phone.

At the car she picks up the phone and sees that she has two missed calls from West.

She quickly calls him back

"This is West!" he answers

"West it's Larissa" she says

"Hey babe, I just wanted to see if you made it ok" he says

"I'm sorry I did. I got here about twenty minutes ago." She says unsure if she should tell him about what's going on

"West, I have to tell you something. But I don't want you to overreact." She says slowly

"What's wrong Larissa, I won't!" he states

"Promise!"

"I'm not promising, just tell me!" he states

"When I pulled up to the house," she pauses "someone broke in."

"What!" he snaps

"It's ok, it sounds a lot worse than it is, honest!" she tries to ease his nerves

"Are you ok?" he asks

"Yes, I'm fine. I wasn't here." she responds

"What about your friend?" he adds

"She is fine, she was at the store. When I pulled up the front door was open, and the garage was up. So, I called Pam to see if she had left it up and that's when I realized what had happened. I stayed in the car until the police arrived and they are still searching the house." she explains further

"Are you sure you're ok?" West asks again

"Yes West, I'm fine!"

"Do you want me to drive up?" he asks

"No, we're fine. I will keep you posted"

"Ok, if you change your mind let me know." he says

"I will, thank you. Looks like they're coming out. Let me get things squared away here and I'll call you back. Please don't worry!"

"I'll be waiting on your call, and of course I'm going to worry!" he states

Several hours later Larissa and Pam finish with all the cleaning and repairs and decide to order pizza and watch a movie. When Pam leaves to get the food Larissa calls West

"Larissa, how are you?" he asks

"I'm fine, how are you?"

"I could be better, but I'll survive! Tell me about this break in?" he asks

"Not much to tell, they were only able to get a few partial prints. Whoever it was rummaged through a lot of my things mainly papers and pictures. And they left a dead cat in the kitchen, which was the most disturbing of all." she explains

"So, they didn't take a tv, jewelry or your car? That doesn't sound random Riss." West says concerned

"Quite a welcome home!" he says sarcastically

"Are you ladies going to a hotel?" he asks

"No, we've cleaned up and had the doors repaired" she answers

"I'd rather you not stay there alone Larissa, they could come back!" West says

"West, I have an alarm system and security patrols throughout the night. I'm a big girl please don't. And I'm not alone, Pam is here!" she scolds

"Don't what Larissa? You had all of that before and they still broke in!" he explains

"I don't want to fight!" she says softly trying to get West to rein in his temper

"I'm sorry! It's our first night apart in a week and I want you to be safe." he says by way of explanation

"I know and I am. Trust me!" she states

"When am I going to see you again?" he asks softly

"You just saw me this morning. Absence makes the heart grow fonder!" she teases

"You've been absent for almost ten years!" West reminds her

"Pam and I are about to eat and watch a movie, I'll call you later tonight." she says as Pam walks into the kitchen

"Ok, enjoy your girls' night. My bed will be very cold without you!" he replies

"Mine too!" she states

"I'll be back in a few weeks." she murmurs quickly

"Few weeks! Is that negotiable?" he asks

"West, Please!"

"Talk to you soon, bye!" he says reluctantly as he hangs up

Halfway into the movie Pam starts to doze off. Not wanting to wake her Larissa quietly heads up to her room and takes a shower. Momentarily replaying the past week and the several steamy showers her and West had taken together. Her incredibly successful entrepreneur who after all this time just wants to pick up where they left off. It just seems to perfect to be true. His world is so perfectly organized and well planned. Hers on the other hand she could walk away from in a heartbeat.

Once settled into bed she texts West.

Are you busy?

He instantly responds

Never too busy for you!

Are you still in the office?

Stop texting and just call me, like you said you would!

"Evening Larissa" West answers in a deep sexy seductive voice that makes her regret going home

"Evening James!" She responds knowing he hates for her to call him that

"How was your day?" he asks

"It was ok, rather dull compared to the past week. And yours?" she states honestly

"I got a lot of work done." he replies

"What are you doing now?" she asks

"Sitting at my desk daydreaming about you in that silk nighty!" he responds as he lets his mind wonder

"Oh really! I'll be sure to get a few more!" she responds

"Did you set the alarm and double check the doors?" West asks changing the subject

"What if I said I wanted you to come tuck me in?" she teases

"Don't tempt me, I've been fighting the urge to drive up there all day!" he warns

"I'm sorry, yes I set the alarms and checked the doors!" she answers serious this time

"Ok, good! Any plans this weekend?" West asks

"No, not really. Just hanging out around the house and you?"

"Work. I have to stay busy. Speaking of work, I want to send you the business plans for the expansion. I should have a few prospective layouts of the property by Tuesday. I will also send them to you if you don't mind reviewing them. I would love your feedback" he says all business like

"Ok sounds great!" she replies

"I know you have a house guest, but I really hope you get some alone time to think. A few weeks is way too long" West states

"I know, I will try." she replies

"I'll let you get some rest I know you've had a long day. Sweet dreams!" he says in almost a whisper

"Night West!" she replies then hanging up she rolls over

The following morning Larissa finally puts her gym to good use. Missing West is making her stir crazy, after her workout she decides to research some much-needed birth control. She also schedules a meeting with her realtor to discuss putting her house on the market. Knowing that West would never tell her he's busy she calls the resort

"Hi, may I speak with Mr. West!"

"Sure, may I ask who's calling" the young man asks

"Jackie Vaughn." she lies

"Just a moment Miss. Vaughn" he replies

A moment later he returns to the line

"I'm sorry Miss. Vaughn, Mr. West is in a meeting. May I take a message?"

"No, that won't be necessary. I will try back later. Thank you." she replies sweetly

"Have a nice day ma'am!" he says

Looking for something else to do she end up packing for the trip back to Orlando, which is still supposed to be almost three weeks away.

Later that evening Larissa's phone rings. It's West!

"Hello!" she says trying to mask her excitement

"Well hello Miss Mathews, how are you this evening?" West says in a smooth almost seductive voice

"I'm well Honey, how are you?" she replies

"Last night I was James, tonight I'm Honey! I'm doing ok" he replies

"Just ok?" she asks

"Yeah, just ok. You must have had a busy day today." he implies

"No, not really. I did get a lot done though. How about you?" she asks

"Somewhat, just work." he answers

"That's good, did you get a chance to send me the plans?" she asks

"Yes, I sent them last night? You didn't receive them?" he asks

"I haven't checked!" Larissa confesses

"You have any plans this evening?" he inquires

"No sir, I'm in bed!" she replies

"Oh, really, so am I. I'm sure we could have found something to do if you were here." he states with a few things in mind

"I wish I was there in your arms tonight. I really miss you!" she confesses

"I miss you too! Remember I didn't want you to leave." he says a little despondent

Changing the subject West tells her about his day and his plans to have dinner with his parent's tomorrow night, and how he wishes she was there to join them. Larissa tells him about breaking in her home gym. After about an hour of conversation they say their good nights then hang-up.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Veronica Pollard

Loving house wife and mother with a passion for writing. With hopes of one day becoming a published author and script writer. This is the place to find a drama filled love story you'll love! Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.