Filthy logo

LOVE & LOYALTY

NINE: EVERYTHING TO LOSE

By Alicia FisherPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

"Divorce?? Divorce?? Is he serious? After all these years I have given him, he wants to talk about divorce?" Ebony could not believe that she was being served divorce papers!! She forgave Anthony when he brought a child home and he wants out? She thought he was head over heels in love with her! Love does not just switch off like that! He took good care of her! He got her EVERYTHING she wanted, and he even catered to her when he was home from work! He married her! He loved her, how could he not love her? All she needed to do was be alone with him, and not his new toy! She's only been around, what, a couple of weeks. Ebony has been around for life, and nothing can come between the bond that her and Anthony had created over the years. She needed to talk to Anthony!

She picked up the phone and called the dealership where Anthony was working. If there was one thing she knew about Anthony, he was gonna work. He handled his business. He had always been responsible. That's the main thing that attracted her to him.

"Hello? Rick? May I speak to Anthony?"

"Hey, Ebony? Anthony? He hasn't been here in a couple of weeks."

"Weeks?? What is he on vacation?" After thinking about it, maybe he had to take some time off to get through everything with her and Marcos.

"He must have finally taken time out to go on vacation. Where did he decide to go?"

"Ummmm......Ebony, he quit!"

"Quit??!!" Ebony almost dropped the phone. She could not believe what she was hearing. "Quit??!!! What do you mean he quit? Did he tell you to tell me that when I called?"

"No.....its no joke or lie. He came in and resigned a few days ago."

Ebony hung up. She felt like her world was coming down. She was losing control. What did he mean? Anthony would never quit the job that he had been at for years! She grabbed her things. She was going to his house. She could care less whether his new little thing was there or not.

As she pulled up to his house, Anthony's Rolls Royce was parked out front, and he was loading his lawn mower in the back of his work truck. She was so furious about him crashing her car, she thought about doing the same to his truck, but decided to be on her best behavior. She parked right in front of his car and hopped out.

"Anthony!! We need to talk!"

"Ebony, what are you doing here? We have absolutely nothing to talk about."

"You promised that you would never leave me. You promised that turning your back on me was never an option!"

"I made those promises under the pretenses that you would never make me look like a clown! You were out here laying with someone close to me without a care in the world. And since you are doing such an awesome job pretending not to know the extent of your betrayal, hold on, I have something to show you!" Anthony turned and walked into his home. When he returned, he had two binders in his hand. He gave both binders to Ebony. "Carmello got these out of Marcos's house the day I got my keys back. If there's nothing else I know, I know your handwriting, and Ebony, it seems like you were not only sleeping with my friend and head of my company, but you were helping him rob me!! You should have been smart enough not to deal with the help." He looked her directly in the eyes and noticed how she had not been taking care of herself. He knew that she kept her hair and make up fresh. "You thought what we had would last forever, but I am so sorry that you could not continue to cloud my vision and keep me as your clueless financial puppet. I think it is my time to enjoy the company that enjoys me."

Ebony stood there with her mouth wide open. She opened the yellow binder, but closed it as soon as she saw her handwriting on the first page. She realized then that she had lost him forever. He knew everything! There was basically nothing more she could do or say to make him wanna spend another minute with her. "Ant...., Babe. Anthony, don't believe that I had nothing to do with this. I would never do this. That is not my handwriting. I can see where you would think it's mine. But,--"

"Ebony, it's insulting enough that you have done all of this, but, for you to stand in my face and blatantly lie to me about your role in everything, it's outright disgusting!"

Anthony snatched the binders out of Ebony's hands and turned to go into the house. Ebony desperately grabbed Anthony's arm, "Anthony, please!! Wait!"

"Ebony, I waited long enough for you to love me! There is nothing else that I need to waste more time waiting for." Anthony tore his arm away from Ebony and stormed into the house.

When he got inside, he called Alyse. "Alyse, I need your help with something."

"Sure, Anthony. What is it?"

"Are you any good with writing things in someone else's handwriting."

"Yea, I mean, I am quite sure I could do something like that. I was pretty good writing notes in my mom's handwriting in school."

"Good. I need you to copy everything EXACTLY like it is in my books. I will bring the books and the paper I want you to use. I want you to write everything like it is in there, if they have a mistake, make the same mistake. If they change the color of their ink, I want you to do the same. I know it's tedious, but it would be greatly appreciated and I will pay you back big time."

Alyse had no idea why Anthony had her doing this, but he was a pretty smart guy and she was all in for it.

"Hey, Marcos. We might be in more trouble than I thought." Ebony walked right into Marcos's living room. "How did you let Carmello get his hands on both of the logs for Anthony's company, or can I ask, why in the hell did you keep Anthony's logs, the altered ones, out in the open for anyone to just grab?"

Marcos looked around the room. He ran to the area he kept the binders in. He moved everything in the area, and sure enough, the binders were gone. "I never expected anyone to just come in here and take them. I didn't think anyone would know what they were, or that they would even be a big deal. You know, I never expected Anthony to catch on, I guess, to anything." Marcos hung his head low as if he was ashamed. "So, what? Does he know about the money we used from the company?"

Ebony nodded her head slowly. "He knows everything! And he is done with me. What am I gonna do? Where am I gonna live? With my parents? Whose gonna take care of me?"

Marcos fell to his couch and dropped his head to his hands. So many thoughts ran through his head. What has his world came to? How did everything just come crashing down so fast? What was he gonna do now? "Ebony, what are we gonna do? If he goes legal, I could to prison, and you know I am not going there."

"We need to get those books back, or--, or--"

"Or what?"

Ebony sat there with tears in her eyes. She couldn't believe what she was thinking, but she needed money and Anthony was taking any and all of her sources of income when he left this marriage. She knew she had an insurance policy on him, and all she had to do was get rid of him and she would be paid. "Or Anthony could have a little accident, you know, an accident that he can't walk away from. If Anthony is dead, then we would not be facing any prison time, AND I would be getting my hands on a nice lump of cash."

"A nice lump of--? Ebony, what are you talking about?"

"Marcos, if we kill Anthony, I get $1,000,000 and we do not have to worry about anyone putting anyone in prison."

"Would I sound bad if I told you that does not sound like a bad idea? You got anything in mind?"

Ebony smirked at Marcos, thinking of how she might get to be with the guy of her choice after all. Marcos was more her type. She loved his rough, bad boy image. "No, I don't have anything in mind, yet, but we gotta move fast, before the divorce is done. Let me have a few days to get things right in my mind."

"Right, and this is gonna be the one thing that will make our bond so much more tight."

Ebony kissed Marcos, forgetting that she was even upset about her husband no longer wanting to be married. "Our bond will be tighter if you leave that little heffer, Monae, in the gutter where she came from."

Marcos scoffed and waved his hand as if Ebony had mentioned a name that was so far fetched. "Monae who?" He leaned in and gave Ebony a kiss that she had missed. They drifted off into one of the most romantic moments they had ever experienced.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Alicia Fisher

I'm just a small town girl that uses my fiction writing as therapy. I never expected my writing and passion to blossom as far as it has. I love all constructive criticism and feedback.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.