Filthy logo

I'm Gonna Get Lucky With My Wife's Best Friend Tonight

And best of all, she set it all up for me

By Rick MartinezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
I'm Gonna Get Lucky With My Wife's Best Friend Tonight
Photo by Samuele Giglio on Unsplash

True story, and no, it's not anything weird that involves some kind of alternative lifestyle.

Not that there's anything wrong with that.

So look.

Just hear me out.

About twenty-one years ago, I was a freelance night shift ER nurse. It was the month of March and St. Patrick's day was upon us. It's kind of a big deal to celebrate St. Patty's day in our city, so like all good party-goers, we planned on doing just that.

So a group of us ER nurses decided we'd pony up and go out to 'Howl At The Moon', a local piano bar.

I was the only fella in the only fella in the group, so needless to say, I was pretty much on cloud nine. In a very "male way", I was confident I'd have to fight these mama-sans off of me once we had a few green beers down the hatch.

Despite my certainty of having to fight them off later that night, I decided to hedge my bets. I asked one of my ER friends, Lisa, to please, please, PLEASE be sure that Amanda was going.

Amanda was her best friend at the time.

In my mind, Amanda was a sure thing. If you know what I mean.

Look, I won't lie.

I was single, Amanda was single, and in my mind, we were a few green beers away from, well, you know... bumpin' uglies.

So Lisa said, "Yep, I'll be sure Amanda goes."

We met up at Lisa's crib around 7pm or so, and off we go, about 6 of us, me the only dude (did I mention I was single?), and the night was off to a rocking start.

Howl at The Moon had these dueling pianos, and man, were we all into it.

Beer was flowing…

Music was rocking…

My spidey senses were all-a-tingling because little Ricky and Amanda were surely gonna end up "lucky."

"Time for another round!" someone yelled above the dueling piano guys, and being a good homie, I got up and made my way over to the bar to order up.

Beers in hand, music on blast, and fun being had, I walked back over to our table and..well…hmmm…nobody was there.

Weird.

Was I at the wrong table?

But I knew the answer.

They had ditched me.

Seriously…like they had all left.

One big ole' Irish exit while yours truly ordered a round.

Except one of them.

Lisa.

I honestly don't know if she stayed because she knew they were ditching me and felt sorry, but what happened next would change the rest of my life.

And hers.

Lisa was still sitting there waiting, so we sat together…beers in hand…maybe a little awkward at first, but we started talking.

And I really HEARD her.

And I really SAW her.

And like a 1950's black and white Hollywood movie, the sound seemed to fade away, and the smokey air seemed to clear up, and all we heard and saw were each other.

Yeah.

It happened…

Just.

Like.

That.

I think I fell in love that very night with my friend and one day wife to be Lisa.

And who would have ever thought that on the day my wife set me up with her best friend, I fell in love because I got dumped.

The LUCKIEST day of my life.

Thank you for reading and sharing our true love story, so lemme end with this:

"Wherever you go and whatever you do, may the luck of the Irish be there with you." Irish proverb.

Now go on.

Get outta here.

Go get lucky.

erotic
1

About the Creator

Rick Martinez

I help CEOs & entrepreneurs write & publish books that give them authority & legacy | Bestselling author | Former CEO turned ghostwriter |

California born, Texas raised.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.