Filthy logo

Empowering Myself

An Ex-Stripper Saga

By Foxxy MomBossPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

So this is a little known fact of my life that only select people get to know about (aka my friends). Because my life has been interesting in so many different ways, I have often been told I should write a book. I'm not so sure about that, but this story and the others in this Saga are just a few of the crazy things I've done in my life, and so far have lived to talk about them.

So when I was about 26 or 27 and I found myself unemployed....again. I really needed money, so I made the decision to become a stripper (dancer) for a period in my life. I asked myself what I was Willing and Not Willing to do for work, and I'd always been a good freestyle dancer, so I thought it would be my best option. So I applied with a resume (what??) and my Id. I was cleared and they asked me if I wanted to dance that night.

Seriously that night??!!

Nope, no way. In fact on my first night it took me almost all night to gain the courage to get up on that stage, I was so scared. But I told myself that I could do this! Eventually, and with the help of cannabis, I was able to get my ass up there. It wasn't a great performance, and I screwed up a lot. Like your first grade recital screwed up. But I was hooked.

By Artem Labunsky on Unsplash

I went home and thought out my music and choreography in my mirror. I was gaining a new found confidence and happiness that I could only attribute to my freedom. It was the very first time I didn't have to answer to anyone, not a boyfriend, not a parent, not a roommate. I lived alone and I was able to regulate my own vices, so I went to work and just tried to wing it.

God I was terrible! I can't hustle to save my life! I spent too much time talking to guys so that I could get used to the environment, I had no pitch, and no gimmick, and no confidence. I started out by biting men's ears... yeah I thought it was a great thing to do....and they liked it. Turns out that's not ok. Then when I managed to get a private dance, I was grinding on the guys, turns out that's not ok either.

I really had no idea what I was supposed to do, and I was just finding my sexuality. I had no idea awkward was sexy, but it worked for me. When I was on stage, when I tuned out the people and felt the music, it was magical. I still regret that it was a time when I wasn't allowed to record myself, so I had no idea how it ever looked, but it felt amazing.

Some nights I was on fire.... literally. I used to do this matchbook trick with a cardboard match on my nipples. Perfectly coordinated to Babyface & Desiree - Fire, even the regulars sang along with my song, they knew it was all part of the show. Fun Fact- I burned my nipple the night I danced after going to a Bob Dylan concert with a friend. I was so drunk and stoned I couldn't see my boobs. I just let it burn when it was placed wrong, I couldn't feel it, so it didn't matter at that moment. It certainly mattered the next morning and I still have that scar.

There was a month when my dance moves landed every time, and I was totally on point for all my shows. It was a very proud time in my life. And there were also a times when I stumbled in my shoes all night, and couldn't stay on beat to save my life. But I was so confident, nothing could break my spirit for long. I even started doing more nude modeling because I was already naked on stage, and I wasn't ashamed of it. During the 2 years I worked in a total of 6 different clubs in two provinces. Not nearly as many as the girls who knew how to hustle (see the movie Hustlers, it's a really good explanation) but I also didn't have a drivers license, so I was limited. But no matter how many stories I have about that time of my life and the way it shaped me, I don't regret them at all. I learned how resilient I am and how I rise above my circumstances, and now I know I can handle anything. Also having kids really shows you how resilient you can be.

So this was a first peek into my fabulous two years as a dancer. I have so many stories to share, and I look forward to having more followers read them. And this is my very first story on Voice, so I hope you'll take the journey with me, down Memory Lane.

By Maik Garbade on Unsplash

industry
2

About the Creator

Foxxy MomBoss

I'm a happily married Mompreneur with 2 young kids. My past is very sordid and fraught with lots of adventure. This is my outlet to tell some of those stories without getting roasted by my family or risking my integrity as a business owner.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.