Filthy logo

Burlesque to Boudoir: Reclaiming My Body. Part 2

Tinka Boudit returns! Slightly more prepared, just as naked, and devastated.

By Tinka Boudit She/HerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Photo by Karen Legault. Legault Images

Continued from Part 1

It's been four weeks. May of 2017. Let's do this! I'm gonna get naked on stage this weekend and I wanna win!

*ring, ring*

...

...

...Crap. Mama Boudit calls and gives me the news, Grandpa passed away in their home. He was my last grand parent. The three days leading up to the show are a blur. I can barely focus at work. I can't focus on rehearsing.

But the show must go on! I have a new costume to finish. I have my previous performance to tighten up. Fabric to buy. An egg to bejewel. What the fuck is wrong with me?!

It was several years back when Mama Boudit told me something when people you love pass away. "It's okay to be happy when you're happy. It's okay to be sad when you're say. What's not okay is to feel guilty. You have no reason to feel guilty."

*Deep breath* You can do this. It's okay to do this.

Lady Gaga wrote "Edge of Glory" for her grandparents. Grandpa danced with Grandma. He's dancing with her now.

I can do this. I will do this.

SHOW TIME!

Photo by John Lombardi

Start strong, Tinka. You can do this!

Photo by John Lombardi

Good face. Keep it up. You got this. You're sweaty and scared, but they don't know it!

Photo by John Lombardi

Aaaand what is that stance? That face? Why? What are you doing? It's not as bad as last time. It's fine. It's fine!

Photo by John Lombardi

Photo by John Lombardi

Have fun with it. Look at who's out there for you. Look at their faces! Make it worth it for them.

Photo by John Lombardi

You're taking off your pants wrong, but they have no idea. Don't let them know you're screwing up! Is my face burning? My face feels like it's burning.

Photo by John Lombardi

Keep smiling. Have fun with it. They're YOURS!

Photo by John Lombardi

You don't care that you're not graceful. Graceful is not the point of this performance. It's not what you do. Leave that to the others.

Photo by John Lombardi

Okay. You're a little graceful. But don't push it.

Photo by John Lombardi

Excellent. Negate that gracefulness by looking at your own boobs. What else is new?

Photo by John Lombardi

No. I don't dance well, but I got these huge boobs. And the best punchline...

Photo by John Lombardi

Googly-boobablly eyes and jumping-jacks. That never gets old. My heart feels like it could explode out of my chest. There is something so bizarre about being the only topless one on the room...

Photo by John Lombardi

...the only intentionally topless one in the room. Oh, in case you forgot, you ruined your favorite, discontinued lipstick trying to make that smiley face on your stomach again.

Photo by John Lombardi

You are a damn cartoon clown...I've never been so proud of you. *wipes away a tear*

You are a powerful lady!

Photo by John Lombardi

You defy fucking GRAVITY! You make back fat and cellulite look good!

Photo by John Lombardi

Your face is burning. You're sweating. Tinka, your eyes are closed but the looks on the faces of the people in the people in the crowd are damn entertained.

Photo by John Lombardi

THIS is being alive. This is your story Tinka. That is YOUR five dollars balled up by your knee.

Photo by John Lombardi

Like Mama Boudit said, "It's okay to be happy when you're happy." And I'm overjoyed. This went so much better.

...Now to do the performance that I more or less dubbed, "I have an idea of what I want to do, now improvise!"

My second performance was inspired by a song I heard on Youtube: a cover of a cover of the Game of Thrones theme song.

The idea behind this performance was to depict Daeneryes Targaryen in Season 1 of Game of Thrones

Photo by John Lombardi

This one was hard. Not because I had very little planned, but because I had NO IDEA what to do with my face. The song allowed me to go slow and pace myself, which is really good. Yey, with the characterization, I didn't know how to exude the look.

Photo by John Lombardi

At the beginning of the season, Dany is scared, meek, and sad...how do I make that sexy? Do I make it sexy? Do I know how to try and be sexy?

Photo by John Lombardi

Okay, Okay Tinka. Um...go for, um, thoughtful. Yeah! Introspective. That might work. That might avoid the dead fish face!

Photo by John Lombardi

Yes! That's it! You're scared and alone. You want to go home to Westeros!

Photo by John Lombardi
Photo by John Lombardi

No, you don't have HBO money, but that's okay. Put your sparkly dragon egg on the pyre and try not to look like a fool. You timed your performance to the song. You know when you have to take your costume pieces off. It's everything else in between that's the tough part.

Photo by John Lombardi

Convey you're getting plowed by Drogo, but you're...not happy about it...yet? Man this is hard and weird! My face still feels like it's on fire. Okay, come on, you got this!

Photo by John Lombardi

Alright. You got this! It's interpretive...yeah, that's it. In here, he is your Khal. The line from the show, 'Don't make love like a slave.' *looks down at nothing and no one.* The audience gets it, right? Maybe? Keep going!

Photo by John Lombardi

"Fire cannot kill a dragon." ...That's great, but my face is still burning and I can't stop sweating.

Photo by John Lombardi

Connect with the audience. Look at the egg; look at them.

Photo by John Lombardi

"Now you're thinking like a queen. Not a queen. A Khalessi."

Photo by John Lombardi

"I will be your Khalessi. You will be my Khalessar."

Photo by John Lombardi
Photo by John Lombardi

Bah! You were doing better. The face, the posture! Fix it!

Photo by John Lombardi

Better! You are no longer Tinka Boudit. You ARE Daeneryes Targaryen. Breaker of Chains.

Photo by John Lombardi

Queen of the Andals and the First Men. Protector of the Seven Kingdoms.

Photo by John Lombardi

The Unburned.

Photo by John Lombardi

And Mother of Dragons.

Photo by John Lombardi

Out of the ashes of last month's loss, failed performances, painful loss of my grandfather, arose Tinka Boudit, stronger than yesterday.

Photo by John Lombardi

Tinka Boudit: What she lacks in shame, she makes up for in imperfection. The Punchline of Sexiness. Borrower of Pasties. The heart of discord. Real and Spectacular.

Photo by John Lombardi

Stage call!

Who will win?!

Photo by John Lombardi

Alas, another loss for Tinka Boudit. Winner was Sinnasaurus Vex, the one in the white tuxedo shirt.

This wasn't my time to win, and that's okay. It was another great experience. It's okay. I rose from the ashes. Oh, and it turns out that face burning? Wicked chemical burn from the adhesive keeping those gems on my face. I had red dots on my face for a month after that.

...

This isn't Tinka's end. It's only the beginning of my road.

What's that down the road...pole dancing classes?

...Until Part 3.

photography
1

About the Creator

Tinka Boudit She/Her

contact on FB & IG

linktr.ee/tinkaboudit

The Soundtrack BOI: WA

FP

Bette On It: Puddle, Desks, Door, Gym, Condoms, Couch, Dancers, Graduate.

Purveyor of Metaphorical Hyperbole, Boundless, Ridiculous, Amazing...and Humble.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.