Filthy logo

Black and Naked:

The Day I Embraced My Melanated Skin

By Merlin MystiquePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have been a naturist since the age of fourteen. I had a knack for being naked. I didn't understand why I hated clothes, but I knew that I felt better without close pressuring my mind, body, and soul. Nakedness liberated me from society's ideal body type.

Although I found that nakedness was liberating, I felt ashamed. What could be the reason for such shame? Religion taught me that being naked like Noah would surely bring a curse. Society taught me that if I didn't look like a class-A bodybuilder then my body should not be showcased. The pressure even heightened as I grew older and acknowledged that I am a Black, queer individual.

In September 2013, my idea of my body and Blackness changed entirely! It began with me connecting and joining a nudist social networking site. I had connected with nudists of color, nudists that were Caucasian, and mixed race. I even learned about nudist etiquette. From those connections, a humble older, yet experienced nudist, named Roger invited me to hang out nude a few times.

He told me about a nudist resort in Dewy Rose, Georgia called "The Rivers Edge." Roger described the scenery and all that they had to offer. They offered the perfect trail where one could hike in the buff. They even offered special events on the weekends and icebreakers. My favorite part was that it was LGBT owned and operated.

My heart began to burst with joy. Roger and I made plans that following weekend to go to Rivers Edge and to indulge in some naked fun! In the midst of excitement, my mind raced with thoughts other patrons would find me ugly. I also feared being fetishized. Despite knowing naturist etiquette, this Black body had never been naked in front of others unless it came down to sex.

Well, that time had arrived for Roger and me to enter the gates of Rivers Edge. My heart pounded ferociously. My hand quivered as I got a slight erection. I hadn't even taken off my clothes and I had shaken my nerves straight to hell.

As Roger and I approached the pool area, I disrobed. I splattered on some sunscreen and ventured into the world of nudity! I became more relaxed as I greeted the other patrons.

I was greeted by a tall, statuesque gentleman by the name of Aashiq.

"Hi There. I'm Aashiq. Is this your first time here?" he said.

"Hello, I'm Yannick. This is my first time," I replied.

"I'm Aashiq. Our names rhyme," he replied.

I nervously looked for other Black nudists, but so far it was Aashiq and me that were the only naturists of color. However, within minutes more patrons began to fill the venue.

As they began to enter into the pool area, the melanin levels rose. Suddenly there was at least 20 Black naturists and other naturists of color. We didn't get cliquish, but we all made conversation and just communed with each other.

No one commented on the size of my genitalia. No one made me feel less human. I did receive compliments on my recent tattoo and my haircut at the time. Mind you this was before I began the transition from male to female.

As I began to enjoy my time at the resort, I began to break the chains that society taught me about my Black body. I learned that my Black body is beautiful. I may have been of small stature, but that is no factor in my value. Finally attending a nudist resort taught me that no matter a person's size, height, or width, their body is a masterpiece.

Since that time I have visited several nude beaches and other resorts. I've been fetishized online because of the stereotype that Black, transwomen are well endowed. I have also been targeted just because I'm Black. I am not discouraged to stop nudism at all!

I love my melanin and my melanin loves me. I am thankful that nudism has taught me to embrace myself and not just my body. Nudism has taught me to embrace myself as a whole and that I am a precious gem that was crafted with love, joy, peace, and beauty.

This is the day that I embraced my Black, naked body without shame. The lies of religion have been removed. The chains of society have been demolished. I am proud to say that I am Black, nudist, and I am not ashamed!

beauty
Like

About the Creator

Merlin Mystique

Hi. I'm Merlin. I'm a Black Transgender Woman. This is My Evolution

Twitter MerinMystique

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.