Filthy logo

Arrival

They knew that this was different. That they were different.

By F. Leonora SolomonPublished about a year ago 6 min read
7
via Unsplash by Katie Salerno

Gen was overwhelmed by everything that happened between her and Kent in the previous story--what is going to happen next?!

The next day at work was almost impossible for Gen.

When she got to the office, Kent was not at her desk working on her computer, she never saw him for the entire day. He worked from home and she felt guilty because she knew he was not there because of her.

She had had the female equivalent of blue balls when she went to bed the night before because she had ached for him. He took her not wanting to sleep with him as a rebuff. The truth was she was terrified to sleep with him and lose him like she had lost Kevin. She was terrified to feel anything for someone and then have it yanked away from her again. Gen had learned that that was too easy to have happen.

But all she felt now was yearning for Kent as she typed on her MacBook. She could not deny that what she had known of the feeling of him and his scent had gotten under her sheets with her last night. She felt desire for him that she could not have anticipated that she would have felt.

His name was accompanied with a green light by it currently in her instant message screen, but she did not feel like she could utilize the green light at all. Even now, she had work to do at home because she still had insane deadlines and his name was still green, meaning he had the same work dynamic as her. Normally they would have been messaging each other until one of them was offline and still have managed to get something done for the day.

And then it happened. Her computer had a blip and Gen was not sure what she was going to do. The program that she needed to work on kept freezing, and after troubleshooting she knew she needed help. Kent was the after-hours point person in their IT department, which was why she had gotten so close to him in the first place.

She was terrified to reach out to him, but she had to.

Kent, my pdf viewer keeps freezing. Can you help out when you have a chance? she messaged him.

Usually, when he was green, he started typing right away. It seemed an eternity before he replied and she saw the tiny bubbles in his dialogue box moving on her screen. She saw that she had a remote connection on her desktop.

I am checking now Gen, let me see what is going on. As usual, with a few taps and movements on her screen, he was done. There you go. You should not have any trouble now.

Thank you so much.

No problem.

Missed you at work today.

Nothing.

After a bit, tiny bubbles appeared.

Someone had an emergency today, and I was working on it remotely for so long I just stayed in my apartment. I would have rather have come in…

So it was not me? Gen gasped after she typed that sentence and the delay that followed.

Then she saw the tiny bubbles populate on her screen.

No, Gen, it had nothing to do with you.

Okay.

See you tomorrow? Or do you need me to come over and look at your computer?

Yes, I think I need you to take a closer look…

When Gen opened her apartment door, Kent was panting just a bit in the hallway. She almost wondered if he had run from his apartment to hers. They lived relatively close to each other, but she was pretty sure he was not a runner.

It did not matter.

She was so happy to see him. It felt like her teeth would break as she looked up smiling at him. He looked down at her as he started breathing regularly and smiled before he hugged her. Gen literally felt like she melted into him because with just a hug, she wanted to take all of him in.

Kent walked her back into her apartment and locked the door behind him.

“I missed you,” he said and she legitimately melted then against him.

“I missed you since I locked my door last night,” she started. “I missed you when you got out of the car before me because I did not want you to.”

His nostrils flared as he looked at her, his eyes darkened.

“I didn’t come in to work today because I did not want things to be weird Gen, I still don’t.”

She pressed her face to his chest and he held her close.

“So it was me…”

“It was because I did not want you to feel awkward with me, or me to feel awkward with you.”

“I feel awkward without you,” she said looking up at him.

He leaned down and kissed her forehead.

She took his hand and they walked into the kitchen where she handed him a glass of wine. He took it and she smiled as she saw him look at the bottle which was one of his favorites. She always had a bottle for when he came over and she realized that she had liked him more than she had thought for a long time.

“My favorite.”

“I always keep a bottle for when you come over as a thank you.”

He took another sip but she saw the smile about his lips as he did and she joined him in taking a sip from her own glass.

“I just wanted to see you Gen, this is nothing more than that.”

“I know, why does just seeing you, just being here with you feel more intimate than sex?”

He spit a little bit of his wine, and she did too as they burst into laughter.

“Because it is,” he said looking at her. “Because we know that this means something…”

Gen nodded, because she knew he was right. It meant something that he asked to come over, and that she let him come over. It meant something the way they were looking at each other, without saying anything. They knew that this was different. That they were different.

They had arrived at a new place and as he walked over to her putting his glass down, she put her glass down too. He leaned down as she leaned up, so hungry for his kiss. The feeling of his lips slanted across hers and their tongues grazing each other softly…

It felt like everything.

This is one story in a series, you can read the beginning here.

Read ALL of my stories here.

Read every FILTHY story here.

Read more stories by me on Medium.

Loving favorite new creator on Vocal, Burk.

fiction
7

About the Creator

F. Leonora Solomon

writer/ex-poet. more from me here https://medium.com/@fdotleonora and here https://fdotleonora.substack.com. https://twitter.com/fdotleonora

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Wow, I love the tension you are building between these two.

  • Testabout a year ago

    So real, so intimate, like a slice in time of their life. So lovely and poignant. 💙 Anneliese & Pernoste

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.