Fiction logo

Zhane & Vitani Chapter 10

Halloween Havoc

By Kylecovey SmithPublished 8 months ago 13 min read
Like

Chapter 10 Halloween Havoc

Zhane was fast asleep in his bed two days before his big boxing match with Trayquel Goldwire.

He dreamed that he was facing off with the thug inside the ring, but Trayquel suddenly grew 10 feet tall with glowing red eyes. The dream quickly became a nightmare, and the monstrous Trayquel overpowered Zhane with punches, until he woke up in shock.

Oh man. What did I get myself into?

Vitani kicked opened Zhane's bedroom door full of excitement.

Good morning! Who's ready to start their training and kick Trayquel's butt?!

Zhane flopped down on his bed.

I don't know Vitani; I'm starting to have second thoughts about this.

What! Are you kidding? Where's that fire you had when you socked that fool in the face, and gave him a bloody nose?

That was the adrenaline going. He was beating up Tommy. I couldn't just let that happen.

Well find that fighting spirit again bro.

I don't know if I can. Trayquel is out for blood, and he is gonna be as vicious as ever.

Vitani turned her back.

Okay, it's no big deal. Trayquel is bigger and a gangbanger. Those guys are known for fighting. The whole school knows about it, even mom knows about it. Plus, the whole gang was rooting for you. But I get it if Trayquel...intimidates you.

Zhane thought to himself.

I'll do it!

That's the spirit! There's no time to lose, let's get started. Everyone is waiting downstairs.

Wait. Everyone?

Zhane and Vitani went downstairs, and the twins saw all of their friends waiting on the couch.

Well, it's about time dude, said Michael.

All of you are going to help me train for my match, asked Zhane.

Of course, we all high fived on it, remember, said Ruby.

I normally don't approve of fighting. But son, show no mercy, said Mom.

Kimiko whispered in Vitani's ear.

Whoa, your mom is tough.

You have no idea, said Vitani.

Hey, what are we waiting for? Let's whip Zhane into shape, said Tommy.

Always ready for action aren't you Tommy, said Jose.

Well since everyone is onboard. Let's get to work, said Vitani.

The group took turns training Zhane and had him do different exercises every two hours.

Jose had him do 50 push-ups and 50 sit ups.

35, 36, 37. Come on Z, just a couple of more push-ups, then we'll get to the sit ups after a ten-minute break, said Jose.

Ugh, how do athletes do this every day, said Zhane.

Like the old saying goes no pain, no gain. Now Keep going.

Next Ruby had Zhane run 5 laps around the track field.

You need to build stamina when you go into boxing. The guy who can go the distance and have the most endurance wins, said Ruby.

Zhane struggled to catch his breath. Point taken. I have two more laps to do.

Zhane worked on his punching technique with Michael.

Faster strikes Zhane. Think about Muhammad Ali; he wore down his opponent because he was fast with his punches. Once you tire Trayquel out, go Mike Tyson style and strike him with heavy hits, said Michael.

Gotcha. Speed first, power second.

Kimiko had Zhane do Tai chi.

If you don't mind my asking Kimiko. What's the purpose of Tai Chi?

Tai chi helps build flexibility and peace of mind. You'll need both in your match, because you don't want to get stiff nor frustrated when you fight Trayquel.

Oh, well I do want to keep a cool head, and not get a cramp during the match. Let's continue.

Tommy was Zhane's sparring partner and he taught Zhane how to move around the ring.

When you get in the ring learn to box at every corner and side. Also don't become predictable, keep your opponent off guard at all times.

Hey this reminds of Apollo Creed training Rocky, said Zhane.

Really? Well, you want ring the bell?

Haha. Ding-ding.

Finally, Vitani did some weight training to help Zhane build muscle.

Keep going Zhane. You need to build power in your arms so Trayquel can fell every impact of your punches.

I can't even feel my arms sis.

That's good. You're increasing the durability.

Zhane held the 30-pound dumbbells in his hands and mustered up enough strength for one last lift.

There. Phew. I've never done this much exercise in my whole life, said Zhane.

It's called conditioning. You don't want to be out of shape, said Vitani.

Hey watch it. I'm far from out of shape.

Chill out. I was just kidding. What's up?

I was wondering if all of this training will be enough. I have to be honest. I'm scared Vee.

I hear it, but I don't believe what I'm hearing.

Hmm, said Zhane.

This is the same guy who hit 8 homeruns in little league baseball, cleared my name when Rachel framed for stealing from the mall, and ran up to one of the biggest thugs in school when no one else had the guts to do that. Scared is something you're not Zhane, and you remember that.

Zhane's face lit up.

You really mean that?

Duh. I don't think you can beat Trayquel. I know you can beat Trayquel.

You know you're right Vitani. I didn't get this far to back down like a punk. Besides, being known as coward for the rest of middle school is the last thing that's gonna happen.

Now that's the Zhane I know.

You better believe it. I can't hold back at Halloween Havoc, and even I lose, which I don't plan on doing. I'm going to do in style.

Zhane picked up the dumbbells and Vitani started counting.

One, two, three.

It was the day before the big match and Zhane decided to go for a morning jog.

He parkoured around the neighborhood before he saw Trayquel and his friend Bruce messing with Alyssa.

Come on Alyssa just one little peck on the lips and we'll leave you alone, said Trayquel.

How about you back off and I won't slap you in the face, said Alyssa.

She lifted her hand, but Trayquel grabbed her right wrist.

Whoa. Let's not do anything crazy alright.

Too late. I'm already looking at it. Now let go of me!

Girl you better watch your mouth! Now I'm done asking!

Go ahead and give her a big wet one Tray, said Bruce.

No, stop!

Zhane marched towards the thugs. He couldn't stand anyone messing with Alyssa.

That's enough Trayquel!

Oh no, not you. What are you Superman?

No. But if I was, I'd melt you with my heat vision. Now I'm only going to tell you once, back off.

You think just cause you sucker punched me, you think you're tough, said Trayquel.

I know I'm definitely not scared of a punk like you, Zhane replied.

Don't let that fool talk to you like that Tray, said Bruce.

Nah, nah. Chill out. Let Zhane trick himself, because tomorrow when I size up with you. Trust me, it ain't gonna come from nowhere.

Yeah? Well remember this. When we face off, I'm not just gonna hurt you physically. I'm gonna hurt your pride, said Zhane.

We'll see.

Trayquel and Bruce walked off.

Are you okay Alyssa?

Yeah, no harm done. Thanks.

When did you become so tough?

Let's just say the recent events in my life have been intense.

Well, I like this side of you and that was really sweet what you did, she said shyly.

Oh! No problem. Happy to help.

I was heading to the store and those creeps popped up.

They're bullies and it's time to cut them down to size. That's why I'm doing this fight. I gotta finish my parkour so I'll see you later. Oh yeah, don't forget to come to the gym and see me whoop Trayquel on Halloween.

Zhane, wait!

Zhane turned around and Alyssa gave him a kiss.

Good luck in your match, said Alyssa.

Uh... thanks I appreciate that.

Zhane ran off with a big smile on his face.

Whoa. I just kissed a girl on the lips.

Halloween finally arrived. Zhane, Vitani and all of their friends were in the locker room of the gym.

You got this bro. Just remember everything we practiced, said Vitani.

Trayquel may have the size advantage, but you have the edge on smartness. So, you gotta outthink him, said Jose.

Don't forget what Tommy and I went over. Wear him down with fast strikes and hit hard afterwards, said Michael.

Got it, said Zhane.

Zhane. It's time, said Kimiko.

Zhane took a deep breath.

Here we go.

Vitani placed her hand on Zhane's shoulder.

Take him down Zhane.

Zhane walked through his side of the gym with Vitani and his friends following him to the ring. Zhane was shocked at the amount of people who showed up for the match.

Wow. I was not expecting this many people, said Zhane.

Don't worry about that Z. Just focus on beating Trayquel, said Vitani.

Right.

Knock him out son, yelled Mom.

Zhane gave his mother a thumbs up.

Trayquel finally walked out with other gangbangers trailing behind him.

This is it dude, don't hold back, said Tommy.

Both boys stared daggers at each other as they came face to face.

I'm gonna make you regret that bloody nose gave me punk, said Trayquel.

Well, I owe you some--no alot of payback. For waving a knife in my face and coming after my friends. You're gonna get what's coming to you Trayquel.

The referee approached Zhane and Trayquel.

Alright boys, keep your strikes clean and nothing below the belt.

The ref called for the bell to start the match.

Trayquel wasted no time throwing punches left and right. But Zhane managed to dodge most of them and struck Bull in his right shoulder and chin.

Okay, I see you're actually putting up a fight, said Trayquel.

Oh, I'm just getting started, Zhane replied.

Zhane launched himself and landed a powerful left hook to Trayquel's stomach that knocked the wind out of him.

Trayquel staggered as Zhane threw a fury of punches that backed the older boy into a corner of the ring.

Ther bell rung to end the first round.

Great first round Zhane. Trayquel knows you're not playing around now, said Vitani.

Just remember to pace yourself and wear him down like Ali, said Michael.

Everyone patted Zhane on the back for encouragement.

Thanks guys.

Meanwhile, Trayquel angrily sat in his corner.

Tray don't let this kid psyche you out. He has a grudge against you and will hurt you if you don't take him seriously, said Bruce.

Shut up! If you think I'm about to let that fool win this fight. Think again.

The bell rung for the second round.

Before Zhane could react Trayquel hit him with a hard right that left him dazed.

The bully was relentless, Zhane tried to block his strikes but was still dizzy from the first punch.

Come on you think you're tough? Fight back! Cause I ain't playing around anymore, said Trayquel.

Yeah? Well, I'm not playing either, said Zhane.

He hit Trayquel a few times in the stomach, but he brushed it off. Trayquel fired back by hitting Zhane 5 times in the left arm.

Ahh! Zhane screamed in pain as he fell to the ground.

1.. 2.. 3, the ref counted.

Zhane got up was holding his arm.

Vitani waved for a time out.

Are you okay, she asked.

Ugh no. I think my arm is separated.

Don't worry I can help, said Jose.

How?

I'm gonna pop it back in place.

Wait no don't-

Jose grabbed Zhane's arm and twisted it a few times.

Ahh Jose! Oh. My arm is actually back in place. Thanks.

How did you do that, asked Ruby.

My uncle is chiropractor.

Anyway, Zhane this is the third round. Trayquel is pissed off. So, you have to be just as aggressive as him, said Vitani.

Remember what you learned in Tai Chi, don't get frustrated. Make him get that way, said Kimiko.

Zhane shook his head in agreement as round 3 began.

I'm gonna put you down for good this time, said Trayquel.

I have my family and friends backing me, and I won't let them or myself down, said Zhane.

Good to hear. Too bad they're gonna see you get knocked out.

You'll try.

Both boys swung at each other, matching blow for blow with neither giving the other an opening.

You know I gotta give you props no one's ever stepped up to me, said Trayquel.

Yeah? Will in a way I have to thank you, said Zhane.

Say what?

Beating me up at the park and all the other stuff that has happened, made me realize I had to toughen up.

Getting tough ain't gonna help you, Zhane.

Trayquel threw a couple of punches, but Zhane blocked them.

You know I actually feel sorry for you Trayquel.

Sorry for me? What's that supposed to mean?

This aggressive gangbanger you front as. It's just pathetic.

Boy you better watch your mouth!

Trayquel swung rapidly at Zhane but missed every hit.

Think about it. You've been held back two years, can barely read, and people don't respect you, they hate you!

Shut up you don't know squat about me!

Maybe not. But at least I don't disappoint my mom, because you're nothing but a lost cause.

Trayquel's eyes stretched with anger and unleashed a barrage of punches at Zhane, who took a few hits before landing a direct punch to Trayquel's face that gave him a bloody nose again, and both boys fell to the ground.

There was 30 seconds left on the clock and the ref began his count.

1, 2, 3, 4.

You can do this Zhane, yelled Vitani.

Show him who you are son! Mom yelled.

Then everyone started cheering Zhane's name.

Zhane, Zhane, Zhane!

6, 7, the referee continued.

Zhane mustered up enough strength to grab the ring ropes and pick himself to his feet.

Trayquel was on his knees and tended to his bloody nose.

8, 9, 10. Ring the bell, the ref ordered.

Everyone in the gym cheered in excitement.

The winner of this match. Zhane Archer!

Vitani and friends dashed into the ring and lifted Zhane on their shoulders to celebrate his victory.

Way it go bro, said Vitani.

Awesome job Zhane, said Tommy.

Thanks Vee, and thank you everyone, said Zhane.

The group glanced at Trayquel holding a towel to stop the bleeding.

What do you think is going to happen to Trayquel now, asked Kimiko.

He's been physically hurt and publicly humiliated. I say he's gonna lay low for a while, said Ruby.

Serves him right, said Jose.

You know it, because my homeboy Zhane just just whooped him, said Michael.

Mom walked over.

What do you say we celebrate this moment with some pizza!

Yeah! Everyone yelled.

Hey Vitani. Thanks for sticking by me.

Right back at you Zhane. That's what brothers and sisters do.

Twins nodded their heads and gave each other a big hug.

Satire
Like

About the Creator

Kylecovey Smith

Historian, Linguist, Author (Voyages of the 997 & The Method Mission), YouTuber/TikToker (Master Mojo) and now Vocal writer enjoy and critique my writing as please.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.