Fiction logo

You keep me tamed, I'll keep you wild

Let's close our eyes...

By Savannah DaringflowerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Rizky Sabriansyah

When I first escaped the mad house that I had once called home...I ran as fast as I could, tightly holding the headless mannequin from my mother's store. It was the closest thing that I had to a doll, and the closest feeling of a mother's embrace.

I kept running... without looking back. Running faster than the running thoughts in my head.

It's not as if anyone called me from behind. And even if they did...the raging voices in my head would quickly dominate. These voices drove me wild, but other times it was comforting knowing I wasn't alone.

Photo by Rizky Sabriansyah

Suddenly, I had seen a magical door. So I listened, wondering what had been on the other side.

"Hello?" I had asked, "Is anybody there??"...

Nothing. I waited all night, crying, laughing, and running around...until I eventually fell down onto the grass, falling asleep on the softness of the warm grass...

I had expected to be woken up by the sun's embrace, but my hopes had been interrupted by a sudden shouting that was outside of my head.

I jump up in fear, falling over my delicate mannequins body, and into the magical door.

I was flying through what seemed like the inside of a hurricane. And before I could think about a way to fly out, I found myself seated on a dragon's back, flying above what had looked like a fantasy world, I had only seen in childhood books before.

"Was this all a dream?" I thought. And before I could figure that out, I fell off the dragon...and flew down onto a magical, mystical world.

There were fairies everywhere- and they were HUGE. Not like the little fairies that you see in bedtime stories. These were giants, even bigger than the dragons...

I walked around, whilst others stared. I realized I was the only human, and so dainty, compared to anything that could look like me.

I was stopped in my tracks, by a giant fairy man, who looked about my age...

He picked me up so gently, as if I was the most fragile thing he had ever held. He was able to hold me safely in his hand, as if I were his little fairy. I had no wings. But I had him...

I looked up at him, in awe of his piercing eyes, that never blinked. There was something about him that promised me I was safe.

He told me to close my eyes, and I heard his seductive voice say "don't trust so easily"....

"WHAT??" I suddenly opened my eyes confused, stressed, anxious.

He disappeared. "Where is he??", I wondered with panic.

I cried, screaming "WHERE DID YOU GO??!!"

The creatures of the valley all looked at me, with fairies coming towards me!!!

Until...a dragon swooped me onto his back again, distracting me from my fears, flying me up into the sky.

"I can see fairies trying to fly towards me, they are so angry!! "Why??" I thought!

After what felt like a few seconds, everything around me suddenly disappeared...

But I wasn't back home...my arms were tied to a bed, and all I saw was white walls, and a blurry image of a man pointing a needle towards me.

With a stutter, I asked the man: "uh, sir...where am I?..."

"Melody, everything will all be okay, you are safe" he said, whilst injecting a needle into my arm.

It didn't hurt, and I didn't feel much, as I drifted into a dream-like state.

I was awake, but it all seemed to be a blur...

There were people that came in to feed me, with these old, rusty looking spoons.

Everything in this place felt so anxiously cold.

And as I closed my eyes, hoping this was all a dream, a few seconds later, I hear footsteps, and then the warmth of a hand, caressing my face.

I was too afraid to open my eyes...so I kept them closed.

I heard a husky male voice say to me:

"Melody, you are safe now".

I opened my eyes, and there he was...the fairy man with the piercing eyes.

But, this time, we were the same size- he was without wings, as if he had transformed into a human being.

He said to me: "I think all of us, deep inside have dark desires and wild dreams, but some of us are able to hide our demons deeper than others..."

And in that moment, although helpless and tied up, I felt safe knowing that at any time...he and I could escape...

Photo by Amina from Pexels

AdventureFantasyLoveMystery
Like

About the Creator

Savannah Daringflower

I write stories that trigger daydreams and everything fun in between...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.