Fiction logo

You Can't Stop The Cold

For the Vocal MicroChallenge

By MegPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
4
You Can't Stop The Cold
Photo by Ozgu Ozden on Unsplash

When the snow fell, I finally realized it was over. All the weeks of preparation, days of consolation, hadn’t been able to prevent the inevitable. Sitting in my velvet chair next to the den window, I felt bittersweet watching the snow fall. As each flake flew past, I felt the distance between me and Summer grow.

For hours, I had desperately tried to search through the windowpane, for a hint of Summer. Eager to see the tiniest sign of her struggle. A sprouting daisy, fledging learning to fly, or a lush tree branch. Instead, the longer I stared, the more I was confronted with a desolate self-portrait.

Silly to hang on to something as temporary as a season, I know. Especially when you plainly see the storm of winter approaching. Yet I held hope. To me, Summer was more than a season; it captured an essence. Summer was the carefree feeling of running through grassy meadows. Summer was the joy of vibrant wildflowers. Summer was ice cream on the beach with your toes in the sand. Sure, Summer wasn’t always great. There were days when Summer was so hot we didn’t dare sit in the sun. Summer nights when the mosquitos would eat us alive in the haven of her humidity. But in Summer I could be myself, just a little more.

Looking back, I’d been a fool to think I could capture Summer forever. No matter how much you enjoy her sun, you can’t stop the cold from coming.

---

Thanks For Reading :)

Excerpt
4

About the Creator

Meg

I'm here to explore the depth of human experience and to stop procrastinating my passion.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Gagnon2 months ago

    I too prefer summer to scraping windshields and shoveling driveways, but for me, it's Fall that is the best of all worlds. Nice story, Meg!

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Summer nights when the mosquitos would eat us alive in the haven of her humidity- what a great line. The warmth is so needed and loved but there is a price to be paid.

  • Amanda Rue2 months ago

    I'm so ready for spring and summer yet I am currently still trying my best to embrace winter.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.