Fiction logo

Works of Writing

Readers and Writers

By Victoria WadsworthPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
An Open Book

Written works of literature have been around for at least the past few thousands of years. Passed down from the Greeks, through Shakespeare, the Brontes, Jane Austen. For every story you come across, there are different versions through different genres. It may be the same story, but it is written differently.

Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers. It permits me to be more than I am, Writing permits me to experience life as any number of strange creations. There is something delicious about writing the first words of a story. You never know where they will take you. I write to give myself strength. To be the character that I am not. I write to explore all of the things that I am afraid of. I write through my fear, my anger, my sadness. When I write, everything I feel goes into it. I do this in order to get all those feelings out, no matter how good or how bad they may be, instead of keeping them all bottled up inside myself.

But whether I am reading or writing, I do not stick to one particular genre at a time. I prefer to jump between different types of genres. These genres include Science Fiction, Romance, Poetry, Mystery, Thriller, Fantasy, and Fanfiction. I like to read the types of short stories and/or novels that have vampires, witches, warlocks, and werewolves in them. But that does not mean that I will not read books like Pilgrim’s Progress, or even the Holy Bible.

A reader lives a thousand lives before they die. Just like writing, reading permits you to live vicariously through characters in these works. Normally I like to read books such as Hamlet, Romeo and Juliet, and other such romance novels. I have never been one to turn down a good love story. Especially one that ends in tragedy. But when it comes to specific authors. I prefer to read books written by Beth Fantasky (Jessica’s Guide to Dating on The Dark Side & Jessica Rules The Dark Side), Lauren Kate (The Fallen series and The Teardrop Trilogy), C.C. Hunter (The Shadow Falls Series), Becca Fitzpatrick (The Complete Hush Hush Saga), P.C. Cast & Kristen Cast (The House of Night Series), and Kelley Armstrong (The Darkest Powers Series).

But not every writer is the same way, nor are the writers. Not everyone likes the same kind of genre, that is why there is a diverse genre system. Romance, Mystery, Thriller, Fantasy, horror, Poetry, Fanfiction, Science Fiction, Historical Fiction, Fiction, Non-fiction, and Crime. They are all a part of the same diverse reading system. Personally, when it comes to myself? I will take a stab at any genre, especially if someone I know or even if a complete stranger suggests a book they thought was good. But that does not mean that it will be a genre I am familiar with.

To this day, there are genres I am still learning about. Genres I did not know even existed. Genres such as Memoirs, Short Stories, Suspense, Young Adult, Fairy Tale, Biography, Autobiography, Drama, Satire, Folklore, and even more. Personally though, I will take a stab at any genre, especially if someone suggests a book they thought was good. Like possibly the kind of book you would read at a book club. It is simply just the kind of reader that I am.

So that is all I know about me when it comes to reading and/or writing. Those are the kinds of genres I like to read. But here is my question for you: what kind of reader and/or writer are you?

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Victoria Wadsworth

I am an altruistic person who likes to help others. In my free time, I like to read other people's writing samples, as well as write my own. I believe that writing in itself is a form of communication from the heart and mind onto paper.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.