Fiction logo

Wishing Flower

Microfiction

By Kristen BalyeatPublished about a year ago 1 min read
21
Wishing Flower
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

"Grandma, it's a wishing flower!"

Hazel plucked the dandelion from the side of the path and pinched the stem between her tiny fingers. Closing her eyes tightly, she conjured the biggest wish she could and gently blew the flower through pursed lips, releasing weightless magical seeds into the breeze.

She smiled hopefully and squeezed her grandmother's hand as they continued down the gravel trail. Rounding a large bend, they were met by a never-ending field of fluffy white dandelions.

"It came true!" Hazel gasped.

They spent the rest of the afternoon lingering in a field of wishes.

LoveShort StoryfamilyAdventure
21

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Another wonder-filled piece! Great job. 😊

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was beautiful Kristen

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Aww, loved this! The last line, "lingering in a field of wishes" was so perfect.

  • Kristen, this was magical, transporting me back to childhood, this land of infinite wonder, & grandmothers who were always willing to linger & play. Thank you for this. It sent shivers of joy up & down my spine, brought tears to my eyes, & quite simply made my day.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    I love dandelions. What a great story to smile through. Nicely done Kristen! 💖

  • Mohammed Darasiabout a year ago

    Beautiful story 😊.. it really captured the innocence of a child and how they view the world

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Microfiction Magic indeed. 🪄 My son really does believe in magic (so do I). I’m teaching him the 12 universal laws, not just Law of Attraction. But he wishes on dandelions and absolutely believes. I love that you captured the world through a child’s eyes. I hate that most people outgrow that world view.

  • Andrei Z.about a year ago

    Lovely story! Dandelions are nice and sweet as long as they didn't start to invade your vegetable garden though 😅

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Beautiful! Great job, Kristen!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Awww, a field of wishes! What a feel-good story. Loved it!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Simple, succint and beautiful! lovely job Kristen!

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    'lingering in a field of wishes...' is perfect.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.