Fiction logo

Winter of the Silver Twilight

True love never dies...

By Nakia RobersonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Snowflakes sparkle like diamonds as they fall to the ground. Glancing up I could see the moon through the curtain of falling gems. Looking down I continue deeper into the forest. I hurry because I hear the villagers behind me. Silent tears slide down my cheeks as I make my way through the dense trees. My heart aches to see him again, my love, I know it is impossible.

"She went this way, hurry!"

My heart skips a beat as I recognize that voice. Father? My own father hunts me now. He, as well as the villagers, think me a monster. I am not, but that does not quell the hatred in their hearts. They want to blame someone, why not the widow of the man them deemed a monster.

I have not done anything to deserve this!  I scream inside my mind. I help those who need it. I heal those who are sick, and this is what I get in return!

My tears dry, sorrow no longer heavy in my heart, anger remains.

"How could they," I hiss as I continue though the snow, now rising to my knees.

"Mira...” was that? I look up into the trees, but nothing hid among their crystal branches.

As I turn, I can see an opening in the trees and beyond that I only see shadows. It feels as if I am being drawn toward the darkness by something...familiar.

"Mira come to me...”  The voice flows through me once again; the richness warming my body.

"Could it be?" I whisper as I make my way to the opening. As I walk through, I glimpse a dark figure at the center. My feet glide over the snow as I float toward the shadow. My heart stops as I see the silhouette, I cry out in joy, disbelief. "No, you can not be him! You cannot be my Joseph!" Tears stream down my russet cheeks.  I step close fearing this was a dream.

The dark figure smiles down at me; he is in literal darkness as a dark cloak covers his shoulders. His hair blows around him covering his body in strands of snow and darkness.

"Please do not cry, my love. I have come back for you."  His voice is a gentle caress against my heart.

I look up into his eyes, seeing swirls of silver as he gazes down at me. "I thought you were dead." I whisper as I step into his open arms. He holds me close. Warmth surrounding me, the bitter cold disappearing; the sounds of the villagers are no more...

"The villagers hurt you, I saw them..." my tears began to flow once again.

"Shh, my love …" His voice flows through me as I snuggle closer.

"I want them to pay for what they did to you...," my voice soft, bitter.

Joseph chuckles as he smiles down at me and that is the moment I saw them. They are white and sharp, glistening like pearls in the moonlight.  I know what he is, and I am not afraid.  He is my husband, my love, my life.  I see love in his eyes as I smile, tilting my head.

Silver eyes shine with love as he looks at me.  "They will," he lowers his head sinking his fangs into my willing neck.

I moan in pleasure as his voice caress my mind, "Yes my love, they will all pay with their lives.”

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.