Fiction logo

WHY IS SOMEONE'S ATTITUDE REFERRED TO AS WITCHCRAFT?

WITCHCRAFT

By Sekou SesayPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
Like
WHY IS SOMEONE'S ATTITUDE REFERRED TO AS WITCHCRAFT?
Photo by Halanna Halila on Unsplash

WHY IS SOMEONE'S ATTITUDE REFERRED TO AS WITCHCRAFT?

WITCHCRAFT!

Photo by Elena Mozhvilo on UnsplashIn this short blog post, I would love to address who a witch is and what witchcraft is per my definition and understanding of human behavior.

A witch is a female who exhibits the characteristics of a witchcraft while a wizard is the male version of a witch. It is wrong to call an individual a witch or a wizard without him or her exhibiting any characteristic of witchcraft; it is right to openly rebuke witchcraft activities toward you but not to kill individuals who practice acts of witchcraft. I have not studied witchcraft at any level but through movies, personal experiences, and stories I have heard from others, I would like to address the issue of witchcraft.

I am not concerned about the witch that flies at night, the witch that eats flesh, or the witch who practices witchcraft to protect his/her family- if there are any of these witches, I do not care about their practices. My object is to address the witchcraft practice by individuals who seek to prevent anyone from achieving greater heights especially when he/she hasn't reached such height or such individuals who are trying to achieve greater heights aren't under their control.

I would want you all to pardon me for my ignorance on this topic because I love Science and hardly believe in spirituality; most of my claims in this blog are based on observations.

When I was growing up as a child, I was very curious; I loved listening to stories from elderly people and from people who had first-hand experience from events they had participated in or observed. I heard stories of individuals with spiritual dragons who operated at night when there was a full-moon to destroy their enemies; I heard these dragons compelled their owners at night to go out seeking victims. I heard these dragons are inherited; they operate by swallowing the shadows cast by their victims during a full-moon, and within days, their victims would die- I am laughing so hard right now as I type these words. If an individual in the society is known to have such powers, the relatives of the victims would directly or indirectly go to that individual and rain insults on him/her; I must admit, publicly disgracing these suspected witches brought an end to witchcraft practices against the members of their homes.

As I said, I was a kid with a curious mind; I loved listening to almost everything exciting. I remember some of my elders used to rebuke me for listening to their conversations, but I always used to find a way to listen; I remember seeing a new baby mama insult a suspected witch for tormenting her child at night. Some of the bases- I remember- on which these witches were suspected were: they owned cats, they mostly lived alone, they didn't work, THEY LOOKED BAD OFF, they slept during the days, and were active at night, etc. I must admit, one way or the other, after insulting and exposing these suspected individuals, these witchcraft activities stopped.

These are some of the reasons why I call some individuals witches after observing some characteristics; normally, I think it is an individual against whom a witchcraft activity is done against can identify a witch/a spirit of witchcraft. These individuals work very hard and are productive but certain individuals vowed that no one would do better than them or that if anyone must do great, that individual should be under his/her control- these things are territorial. They believe within a territory- a household, family, company, nation, etc- they are the boss so no one should do greater things than them, to some extent, some of these individuals extend this dominant attitude to even their children. These individuals who know their potential and won't stop working, have to put up some form of resistance to break out of these dominant spirits. I think this is why especially in Africa, some famous individuals like a musician, soccer stars, scientists, etc, parents or someone who has that dominant spirit has to die before they can become great unknowingly to, and other would say THESE INDIVIDUALS USED THEIR PARENTS AS SACRIFICES TO SUCCEED. If this is the case, some people who have this spirit and won't change must die for the youth/ members of their family to become great! Some of these individuals have to resort to insulting and exposing their oppressors before they can be set free. If my philosophy is right, individuals should keep working, exposing, insulting- if there is no option- and praying to the point where their oppressors would give way.

Conclusion: If someone identifies you as a witch and publicly says it to your face, you have the right to ask the person questions. If you are an individual who torments others' lives and prevents them from reaching their full potential and all they can do is expose you as a witch, so shall it be.

Author: Sekou Sesay.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Sekou Sesay

Love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.