Fiction logo

Why Do I Bite Your Leg?

Here's my story

By Gal MuxPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - March 2023
26
Why Do I Bite Your Leg?
Photo by Museums Victoria on Unsplash

I see how they look at me. How they coil when I move. How they squirm like they would seeing a toothless man suck on a crunchy chicken thigh attempting to bite it. 

I see how they jump and I hear how they scream when they see me. Would they behave the same if I had legs?

I know my slithering is daunting and brings chills down the spines of many. But I wasn't always like this. I used to walk the earth like many of you. I wasn't always without legs. Until my friend the millipede needed to go to his daughter's wedding. 

He had come to me the day before talking about how he wanted to out-dance everyone at the celebration, and that he needed my legs to add to the movement of his. 

Well, it was going to be a lazy weekend anyway as harvesting time had not yet arrived. And in exchange for me lending him my legs for the day, and for watching his farm while his family was away he would help me harvest my crops. 

It sounded like a good deal. Plus I wasn't a big fan of ceremony so I was glad he hadn't asked me to accompany him to the wedding. 

We could hear the beat of the drums from all the way. The cheers brushed through the leaves in the lands making many that had been left behind want to rush there and join the party.  

My friend Millipede must have been having the time of his life. I could imagine him giving my legs the time of their lives as he had given me a taste of it before he had left that morning. 

"All lands shall be speaking my name by the time I am done with them," he told me laughing as he left. 

I knew he had harboured some dancer dreams when he was younger and he would break a leg or two many a time when he would be singing while working on his field. It felt as though he planned to relive his dream during these wedding celebrations. 

He was an old man now with a daughter he was marrying off. I was happy for him that he could get to showcase his moves to an audience before his bones wouldn't break anymore and I looked forward to him coming back with my legs and flamboyant stories of how he killed it for he was also a gifted storyteller. 

At sunset on Sunday, after the drums had long died down, I waited to see the Millipede return with my legs. He didn't. 

What might have happened? I wondered. Had he been too tired to walk back home from all the dancing the previous day? 

I thought he would come back by midday on Monday. But he also didn't. Had my friend lost his shame? He knew that one must be careful to never overstay a welcome, especially when visiting inlaws. 

I wasn't worried though. With harvest on his farm still undone, I was confident he would be back somehow. A man must eat. And store the rest for the tough times. 

But that was until I saw a poster announcing a dance festival by a group of performers. Millipede was at its centre with my legs in the air. 

On the poster were comments about what a thrilling dancer he was. And below the comments were many dates of the many villages they were going to visit with the troupe. 

I never saw Millipede ever again. Or my legs. Only on such posters. 

And that's why I slither about the earth still waiting for Millipede to bring back my legs. 

Why do I bite on your legs you may ask? Because sometimes anger consumes me and I curse the day I lent my legs to that thief. 

Is it out of jealousy? Only you can answer that.

Short Story
26

About the Creator

Gal Mux

Lover of all things reading & writing, 🥭 &

🍍salsas, 🍓 & vanilla ice cream, MJ & Beyoncé.

Nothing you learn is ever wasted - Berry Gordy

So learn everything you can.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Hi Gal. I'm sorry to let you know but your work has been plagiarized by a user named "Sam." Their entire profile consists of stolen Top Stories. Yours is one of them. https://vocal.media/authors/sam-t9au7y0n1b If their profile is still viewable, let Vocal know so that they can remove them.

  • Stevi-Lee Alverabout a year ago

    Clever and fun! Nice work

  • As I read these words, I am transported to a world where the lines between man and beast blur, where a creature stripped of its limbs slithers about the earth, haunted by the memory of its betrayal. The language is vivid and evocative, capturing the essence of a being that has been robbed of its agency and reduced to a state of constant indignation. The imagery is particularly striking - the way the narrator describes how others recoil and squirm in their presence, how they jump and scream at the sight of them. It speaks to a deep-seated fear of the unknown, a primal instinct that has been hardwired into the human psyche since time immemorial. The story of the millipede and the narrator's stolen legs is both tragic and poignant. It highlights the capricious nature of fate and the dangers of trusting too much in one's fellow creatures. The fact that the millipede was once a friend only adds to the pathos of the situation, as does the narrator's lingering hope that they might one day be reunited with their stolen appendages.

  • Madison Newtonabout a year ago

    Well thought out and unique, nicely done!

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Very clever!

  • Gina Calleaabout a year ago

    Wonderful storytelling! Great work!

  • Lucas Raeabout a year ago

    I love these stories!! Hearted!

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Excellent work...like the Adam and Eve story never ended...

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    That was great! It has the feel of an Aesop's Fable but flows much better with sparkling descriptive language. I'll be checking out more of your work Gal!

  • Caroline Cravenabout a year ago

    Ooof! This was fab! Well done! I really enjoyed reading it.

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    This is creative and beautifully written! Reminded me of Kipling. Well done, congrats on the top!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This was a great read. Congrats on the top story.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Congratulations!! This was really fun to read!! 😁

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Ohh this is a great fable! Hearted! Congratulations on the new top story

  • Congratulations on your Top Story, excellent writing

  • Hannah Mooreabout a year ago

    Excellent. This feels like a classic fable.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.