Fiction logo

Why Can't We Just Run? Forever.

A Dystopian Wattpad Special

By Ceo Of DyingPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
Like

"Run, Run, Run, that's all we ever do. Why can't we do something unconventional for a change?" Austria said as she threw her arms down. "Sweatheart, keep running, please, we are almost there–" my husband, Stuart, said before three IO guards rudely disrupted him.

"Where do you think you six are going?" One of the guards said in a manner that surprised us all.

"Listen, ma'am. We are very sorry my daughter Lili is very ill. Can we please accompany her to the hospital?" I said, pleading with the frightening guards.

"Madam, don't you worry, us three can get you and your ill daughter Lili to the hospital in a flash!" The second IO guard said, mocking me with a big grin on his face.

A little rude.

Aren't these things–I mean, people supposed to be protecting us? Right before they grabbed my family and me, they winked, all of them winked at me. I have to write that down ASAP.

I quickly noted that conversation on my phone so fast they didn't even notice me. Nice going, Bri your so good at this.

I blinked my eyes for what I thought was a second, and we were already there. Wow, we did get here in a flash.

I thought about everything that happened today as I was rudely interrupted by one of the IO guards. "We are here. Your family will be in suite 923 at the top of the building elevators on your left. Do not worry about the paperwork. We already have it filled out." I wrote that down.

What do they mean we have all the paperwork filled out? We have never been to this hospital before. Uncommon. Very very newfangled.

"My love, maybe the pregnancy sickness is just getting to your head. There's nothing wrong. The world is perfect." My husband whispered in my ears.

Does he think I am crazy or something? We married for many years, and he dares to guess me second. My thoughts were overtaking me. Again. I didn't even realize we were almost at our suite.

"Hunny, we are here!" My husband said as he kissed me on my neck.

I like when he does that.

It calms me.

I never told him that, but he always knows what makes me happy and upsets me for some odd reason. I picked up Lili, and all six of us walked to our suite.

As soon as we got to the room, my husband got a call, and he said, "sorry, sweetheart, I have to take this call. It is for work. I love you all." He gave me a quick peck and walked away.

"Mommy, where is daddy going?" Lili said with a pout on her lips. "Oh, Lili, daddy will be back very soon. He has an important call," I said as I rubbed my youngest daughter's back.

"Mrs. Edvīns, we are ready for you guys. You are all required to come into the room." But why do we all have to come into the room?

I was caught in my thoughts again—my husband's right. Maybe I am overreacting. Suddenly the lights shut down. I was about to scream, but I couldn't. Something was holding me back.

Suddenly I heard an IO guard say, "ma'am, we are having electrical issues. The lights will be on in a few seconds."

I heard footsteps, then suddenly a flash of light.

I wrote that down.

My vision started to blur, and I heard something I would never forget. "Mr. Edvīns, they are just robots. They can't feel what we humans feel. They are heartless monsters who took over the planet. Give me the locket, and let us wipe them all out before this world crumbles."

"Listen, here you work for me. You wouldn't be here if I didn't save your ungrateful self. Those robots are my family. She functions just like us. She's not only my creation, but she's the love of my life–" we are robots? I was right; I am not a human–

I woke up next to my husband sweating. I got up and ran to check on my kids. Lili was sleeping in her crib, and Austria was sleeping next to her in bed. I ran across the hall. Tyrone was sleeping on the top bunk, and Kenith was on the bottom bunk, fast asleep. I ran back to my room, and I saw my husband sitting on our bed holding a baby, smiling at me.

"My wife, did you have another nightmare? Don't worry. I am here."

"Here is some water! And would you please get some rest? You just stressed from giving birth yesterday. Sit and hold our new baby girl. Her name is Kathryn."

How did he know I had nightmares?

I don't remember telling him, nor do I remember what happened in the nightmares.

I didn't even notice he was patting the bed next to him so that I could sit down.

"How did you know I had nightmares?–"

"Darlin, I know everything about you. We have been married for 21 years after all!" He said as he winked at me and smiled.

Something was off about him, and I couldn't find out what. He handed me our new baby girl. She looked exactly like him. All of our kids looked exactly like him. Which was cute, but they didn't resemble me at all. I never really thought about it too much until this moment.

He has never yelled at me. He's never fought with me. He always insists on doing everything even though I can do it myself. He takes the kids to school every day. I don't know why when I can do it all. He is a very busy man.

He makes sure I never leave the house without him. He tells me I'm too precious. Some other person might try and take me away from him.

I have done this for 21 years, and I've never complained.

I want to see the world, but he won't let me. I want to know why he won't let me.

"Princess, I'm off to work now. I love you. I'm taking the kids to school, so you won't have to worry." He said as he kissed my lips aggressively and left for work.

So much passion.

So much intimacy.

Oh, I love him so much.

I waved at him as he walked out the door. I noticed a big diamond ring on my finger.

Oh my gosh, He so extra. He gives me a new ring every day as a 'sign of love' even though we are already married. I then realized I was wasting time.

I had to find what he was hiding.

I searched everywhere. High and low up and down. I searched for what felt like hours. I was losing all hope. I fell on the ground in defeat, and as soon as I fell, I found something under the bed.

A secret passageway?

How long has this been here?

I opened the door, and I saw a ladder that led down somewhere. I was about to go down when suddenly my phone went off.

It was a message from my husband.

The statement read, "Lover, make sure to be careful! I can't have you getting hurt can I?" he sent a smiley face at the end.

How did he know I fell? I'll think about that later. Right now, I have to find where this passageway leads.

I went down the trapdoor and climbed down the ladder for what felt like hours. I finally got down there, and I saw something I'd never seen before.

A lab.

My husband's lab.

Televisions and monitors are everywhere.

I walked around in awe. This lab was so big. Then a big door had caught my eye, so I went up to the door, but I saw a lock on it. I typed the day we got married.

5/2/2250.

I was right.

I went into the room, and I didn't see anything. I walked forward, and I found blueprints.

I looked at them.

They looked exactly like me. I looked at the blueprints, and I saw a heart-shaped locket on the blueprints where my heart was supposed to be. Am I a robot? Did he build me?–

"Baby girl, what do you think you're doing?" My husband said as he slammed me up against the wall smirking at me.

"Why did you not tell me the truth? I am just a robot—nothing else. Just a dumb robot." I said as I started to ball my eyes out.

I wanted to run and hide.

I got up and ran, but Stuart stopped me, and I fell.

That is when he pinned me to the floor so I couldn't get up, and he whispered, "Listen, I'm sorry I didn't tell you that you were a robot. I didn't want people to try to take you from me. Especially what's inside of you. It took years to make you. After ten years of trial and error, it finally worked. But you weren't as real as I wanted you to be. So, I took the heart-shaped locket that kept the world in balance and gave it to you. My love for you is unconditional, and if we can escape this apocalyptic place, I can make you human. I need one more thing, and it is on the other side of the world. We will get this. We will do this together."

I was in shock.

Did I cause an apocalypse?

I was about to speak, but my husband interrupted me, "We need to get out of here now. They are coming for our family and us. I will make you human, and we can live in paradise. I need you to trust me." How can I trust him when he has lied to me about my whole life?

I didn't respond; my mind was elsewhere.

I was thinking about what would happen if I went with Stuart.

Will we live in paradise?

Free of all hunters?

But how could the world be ending? And I didn't even know.

"Does that mean our kids aren't humans?" I suddenly said under my breath.

I was in my thoughts again. I did not even realize I said that aloud. "No, our kids are humans. Since you are semi-human, you still function as a human. You aren't fully human." It took a lot of thinking, and I still haven't decided if I should go or stay.

A message by the IO guards played aloud:

"WARNING WARNING Stuart Edvīns, we have your house surrounded. Please give us the robot, and no one will get hurt. We have your children. You have nothing else to lose but that dumb robot."

I mustered up the courage and said, "Stuart Sweetheart, listen, they have our kids and won't give them back unless they have the heart-shaped locket. So please let them take the heart-shaped locket for the better of the world." I smiled at him, but he did not smile back.

"I'm not going to lose you to these IO guards. Don't worry. We will make it out of this alive. I already have the kids in the underground tunnel system I installed last week. Those are holograms of our kids. They aren't our actual kids, to be clear. So please come with me. Let us all run away. We will be safe there." he said, pleading with me on his hands and knees.

I heard knocking on the door, not knocking, banging. I heard banging on the door. The guards were going to knock down the door. I still didn't know if I should stay or go.

I thought about it thirty seconds more, and I finally spoke, "I'm coming with you." He cut off my sentence by picking up and kissing me.

They are coming.

There are so many of them.

I do not think we are going to make it out alive.

This is a story that I made for Wattpad so please go check it out [Completed] :

More Stories [On Vocal and Wattpad] :



Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Ceo Of Dying

Join my Roblox group: https://www.roblox.com/groups/3771416/Dance-Battle-Group#!/store

Subscribe to my YouTube: Ceo Of Dying

Discord Server:

Twitter: Briarisdaddy

Discord: Briar is daddy#1761

Instagram: briarlynnx

Roblox: WsgBriar

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.