Fiction logo

WHITE MAMA ACT II

Excerpt of the second act of White Mama

By Gladys W. MuturiPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

Excerpt of Act Two of White Mama

ACT II SCENE 1

SETTING: New York City

AT RISE: Estelle is now homeless. She is sleeping outside on the bench at STAGE RIGHT in the streets of New York City. THREE BAG LADY enters. She sees ESTELLE asleep on the bench. She goes on STAGE RIGHT where ESTELLE is.

THREE BAG LADY Just how dumb are you?

ESTELLE I beg your pardon?

THREE BAG LADY (mimic) I beg your pardon.

ESTELLE Is there something you want?

THREE BAG LADY Sleeping on the bench is awful dumb.

(THREE BAG LADY sits with ESTELLE on the bench. ESTELLE starts to recognize her.)

ESTELLE I know you. You’re B.T.’s friend. The one that walks around with Sydney and the one who got killed.

THREE BAG LADY Heavy Charm? Yea, I know very tragic.

THREE BAG LADY (CONT’D) Whatever made you sleep on a bench?

ESTELLE Suppose you suggest a nice, warm place.

THREE BAG LADY In about an hour, the mean ones get on the loose. Asleep or not, if you’re sitting here, they’ll pick you clean. Give or take a few, one of us is killed every other night.

ESTELLE How did you know it was me sitting here?

THREE BAG LADY I started following you two blocks where you lived. You’re the one who took B.T. in.

ESTELLE Yes.

THREE BAG LADY Oh, how is he?

ESTELLE I haven’t seen him.

THREE BAG LADY You got any money?

(ESTELLE grabs her purse. THREE BAG LADY sees her purse.)

THREE BAG LADY In your purse?

(ESTELLE pulls out her purse and hands it to THREE BAG LADY. But THREE BAG LADY didn’t take the purse.)

THREE BAG LADY Get rid of it.

(THREE BAG LADY goes through her bags and gives her a plastic bag and another bag with a blanket.)

THREE BAG LADY Here. You’ll need this.

ESTELLE Thank you.

THREE BAG LADY You’re welcome.

THREE BAG LADY (CONT’D) You got a post-office box?

ESTELLE No.

THREE BAG LADY Monday first thing we get you one. Your checks got to have a place to come.

THREE BAG LADY (CONT’D) Did you carry anything else?

(ESTELLE checked underneath the bench. She goes through her coat pockets. She finds a crumpled plastic bag in her pockets.)

ESTELLE Just this.

(ESTELLE shows the crumpled bag to THREE BAG LADY.)

THREE BAG LADY They won’t last two days. Look at the handles.

(THREE BAG LADY laughs. she goes through her bags and gives her a new bag.)

THREE BAG LADY Here.

(ESTELLE takes the bag.)

THREE BAG LADY What do you think happens to you if your bags break? What you get is four Bergdorf bags and double them up. Then with a little thread you tie the handles. Last like leather.

(THREE BAG LADY gets up from the bench.)

THREE BAG LADY Come on.

ESTELLE Where we going?

THREE BAG LADY Not here. It gets dangerous at night. We better move. Come on.

(ESTELLE gets up, takes her bags and follows THREE BAG LADY. They both exit. BLACKOUT. END OF SCENE 1.)

ACT II SCENE 2

SETTING: New York City; Subway Station

AT RISE: Estelle and Three Bag Lady enters in the Subway Station. The station was empty and They sit in the seat.

ESTELLE Where we going?

THREE BAG LADY Nowhere, we’ll stay here for a little bit. Then, we’ll catch another bus and go find a shelter. If not, we’ll catch another bus.

THREE BAG LADY (CONT’D) Did you enjoy your last ride on the bus?

ESTELLE Sort of. I’m just shocked to see….

(ESTELLE starts rubbing her stomach. THREE BAG LADY sees her rubbing her stomach.)

THREE BAG LADY You hungry?

ESTELLE A little?

THREE BAG LADY You’ll get used it.

(GORILLA SYDNEY enters.)

GORILLA SYDNEY Hey, Three Bag.

THREE BAG LADY Hey, Sydney.

GORILLA SYDNEY I thought I’d find you here.

(They hugged. GORILLA SYDNEY sees ESTELLE and recognized her.)

GORILLA SYDNEY (to Estelle) Hey, I know you. You that lady who took B.T. in.

ESTELLE Yes, that’s me.

(GORILLA SYDNEY sits next to her.)

GORILLA SYDNEY (shake hands with Estelle) Hi, I’m Gorilla Sydney. You probably recognized me, do ya?

ESTELLE Oh, yes, I do recognize you.

THREE BAG LADY Hey, Sydney, would you mind staying with Estelle for a second? I’ll be right back.

GORILLA SYDNEY Sure. I don’t mind.

THREE BAG LADY Good. Stay here.

(THREE BAG LADY exit. GORILLA SYDNEY goes through her bag and grabs an Altoids mint. She shows her the mint.)

GORILLA SYDNEY Mint?

(ESTELLE looks at mint and takes some.)

ESTELLE Thanks.

GORILLA SYDNEY You welcome.

ESTELLE What does Gorilla Sydney mean?

GORILLA SYDNEY My name?

ESTELLE Yes. Why does everybody call you Gorilla Sydney?

GORILLA SYDNEY Well, I made that name up. You see, my real name is Sydney Olivia Watkins.

ESTELLE That’s a nice name.

GORILLA SYDNEY Thank you. My mama gave me that name.

GORILLA SYDNEY (CONT’D) The reason why I call myself “Gorilla Sydney” because on how I look. When I was 12, I was the tallest girl in my school. I was big and hefty. I had a gorilla’s body, kids call me “Gorilla Sydney”. At first, I didn’t like it until I learn to love it. Hell, now everybody calls me Gorilla Sydney or Sydney or Syd.

ESTELLE Doesn’t that bother you?

GORILLA SYDNEY Nope. Nowadays kids get scared of me. And I’m ok with it.

(GORILLA SYDNEY laughs. THREE BAG LADY enters back in.)

THREE BAG LADY I’m back.

GORILLA SYDNEY Alright, so I will be on my way. It was nice talking to Estelle. I’ll see you later, Three Bag.

THREE BAG LADY See ya, Syd.

(GORILLA SYDNEY exit. THREE BAG LADY sits next to ESTELLE. She hands ESTELLE a Rice Krispy treat.)

ESTELLE What’s this?

THREE BAG LADY Food. Trust me, they’re not from the trash can. They’re from that vending machine right there.

THREE BAG LADY (CONT’D) The vending machines are always broken here. Try it, they’re good.

(ESTELLE unwrap the Rice Krispy bar. She takes a bite and enjoys it.)

THREE BAG LADY It’s good, isn’t it. You never had a Rice Krispy treat, before?

ESTELLE No, but they are wonderful.

(ESTELLE continues to eat her Rice Krispy treats.)

THREE BAG LADY Woah, slow down. You better save those for later. You might need it for breakfast.

(ESTELLE stops eating and puts her treat in the bag.)

THREE BAG LADY I remember when they first started inventing them. When I was little girl, my dad and I we used to make these. They were good times.

ESTELLE How old are you now?

THREE BAG LADY Me? I think I’m forty-six. Maybe forty-seven. Fifty. I don’t know.

THREE BAG LADY (CONT’D) I never met my mom. My dad was the only man who could raise me until he was killed in a war. His family gave up on me. At fifteen, I was on my own. Had nobody. Then years later, became this.

ESTELLE How did you survive the weather?

THREE BAG LADY Don’t ask.

ESTELLE Your friend, Sydney? She seems a sweet person.

THREE BAG LADY Yea, she is. But if you make her mad. Woo! She would go crazy like Heavy Charm.

(ESTELLE frightened.)

ESTELLE What??

THREE BAG LADY Calm down, relax. Not that crazy. She’ll probably bop you and that’s it. I’m telling you that girl got a strong fist.

(ESTELLE calms down and realize.)

ESTELLE Now I can see why people call her Gorilla Sydney.

THREE BAG LADY Come on, let’s get going.

ESTELLE We’re leaving?

THREE BAG LADY Yes, we got to go catch the next bus. Come on.

(ESTELLE stands up.)

THREE BAG LADY You don’t have a weapon on you, do you?

ESTELLE No, I don’t carry weapons.

(THREE BAG LADY goes through her bag. She grabs a knife; HEAVY CHARM’S knife that she used to stab B.T. with. THREE BAG LADY gives it to ESTELLE.)

THREE BAG LADY Here.

(ESTELLE takes the knife.)

ESTELLE This knife looks like...

THREE BAG LADY The same knife that Heavy Charm used to stab B.T. with.

ESTELLE Where did you get this?

THREE BAG LADY I got that after she was killed.

THREE BAG LADY Come on, we better go before the gangs get here.

Excerpt
Like

About the Creator

Gladys W. Muturi

Hello, My name is Gladys W. Muturi. I am an Actress, Writer, Filmmaker, Producer, and Mother of 1.

Instagram: @gladys_muturi95

Twitter: @gladys_muturi

Facebook: facebook.com/gladystheactress

YouTube: @gladys_muturi

patreon.com/gwmuturi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.