Fiction logo

Whispers from the Abyss: A Summoning Gone Wrong

Mirror of Terror

By Elysia DawnPublished about a year ago 6 min read
3

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. It was a face I had never seen before, but there was something about it that was familiar. The eyes were dark and intense, the cheekbones sharp and angular. I couldn't look away - there was something hypnotic about that face.

And then, I heard the whispers.

At first, they were faint and indistinct, like a breeze blowing through a distant forest. But as I leaned closer to the mirror, the whispers grew louder, more insistent. They seemed to be calling out to me, beckoning me to join them in some otherworldly realm.

I knew I should look away, should break the spell that the mirror had over me. But I couldn't. I was transfixed, caught in the grip of a power beyond my understanding.

As I reached out to touch the glass, my hand met with a surface that was unnaturally cold. An unearthly chill permeated my being. Despite the bone-numbing cold, I pressed harder against the mirror. I could feel the sharpness of the frigid glass pricking at my skin, burning my flesh. Then, for one second, the world started spinning, and everything went still. The voices fell silent.

My own heartbeat thundered in my ears, drowning out all else, as the air began to shimmer and the mirror before me seemed to bleed.

A thick, inky blackness oozed from the cracks around the mirror's edge, pooling on the floor like some eldritch liquid. The pool became deeper and deeper, and I watched in horror as my reflection vanished into the shadows, leaving only an empty shell behind.

I felt an unbearable coldness wash across my body, until in a blink, it was gone. But the terror remained, and I stared at the mirror, unable to comprehend what had just occurred. Nothing in my world had prepared me for such an occurrence.

Days and weeks passed, and the whispers that had once been faint and indistinct grew louder and more coherent, gradually morphing into an unfamiliar voice. One that was not my own. Dread and fear gripped me as I realized that I was not alone.

"Come to us," the voice whispered. "Join us in the abyss."

I didn't know what it meant, but I felt a strange compulsion to obey. I reached out to touch the mirror's surface again, and as my fingers brushed against the glass, something shifted. The world around me seemed to melt away, replaced by a dark, foreboding realm of shadow and mist.

I was no longer in my own world. I was in the abyss.

At first, I was terrified. The shadows seemed to shift and weave around me, and I felt as though something was watching me from every corner of the darkness. But then, I heard the whispers again, calling out to me from the void.

I followed the whispers, stumbling through the darkness as I tried to make sense of this new reality. And then, I saw them.

They were creatures unlike anything I had ever seen before - grotesque, demoniac abominations that writhed and twisted in the darkness. And yet, despite their monstrous appearance, I felt a strange sense of familiarity. It was as though I had always known them, as though they were old friends that I had somehow forgotten.

And then, they spoke.

Their voices were like thunder in my mind, filling me with a sense of awe and terror. They told me of things beyond human understanding, of secrets that had been hidden from me all my life. They showed me the true nature of the universe, and it was a revelation beyond anything I could have imagined.

I learned of the Great Old Ones, the ancient beings that ruled over the abyss. They were beings of immense power and intelligence, and they had existed since before the dawn of time. They were the creators of all things, and they held the secrets of the universe in their grasp.

But then too late, I realized the truth. I had been tricked. The whispers had not called me to enlightenment - they had called me to sacrifice.

There was a price to be paid for this knowledge. The Great Old Ones demanded worship, and they demanded sacrifice. They required their followers to pledge themselves to their cause, to serve them without question or hesitation. And those who failed to meet their demands were cast into the darkness, never to return.

I tried to run, but it was too late. The creatures closed in around me, their tentacles wrapping around me like a vice. I screamed as they dragged me down into the blackness, into a world of eternal darkness and despair.

And as my screams echoed into the silence, I knew that I was lost forever.

Then, something changed.

The darkness seemed to shift and warp around me, and I felt myself being pulled back towards the surface. I emerged from the mirror, gasping for breath and covered in sweat. I looked around, disoriented and confused.

Had it all been a dream?

The room was quiet, save for the soft rustling of the curtain in the gentle breeze. The mirror had stopped bleeding, and the alternate reality had faded away. Yet, the sense of foreboding that lingered in the air was palpable.

Over the next few days, strange things began to happen. At first, it was small things, like misplaced keys and forgotten appointments, but soon it escalated to more sinister occurrences. Every night, I was plagued by nightmares of grotesque creatures that whispered secrets from the abyss. My dreams were filled with visions of a vast, black ocean, and a voice that promised power beyond imagination.

I was losing my grip on reality, and could do nothing about it. I tried to ignore the voices and the visions, but they only grew stronger with time. I became consumed by paranoia, convinced that I was being watched by unseen forces. I spent my days in a haze, afraid to leave my apartment, afraid to sleep.

One day, I decided that I had had enough. I was determined to find a way to end the nightmare once and for all. I spent hours pouring over ancient tomes and forbidden texts, seeking a way to banish the creatures that haunted me. Eventually, I found what I was looking for – a ritual that promised to send the beings back to the abyss from whence they came.

I gathered the materials I needed, and began the ritual. I lit candles and drew intricate symbols on the floor, muttering ancient incantations under my breath. As I worked, the air around me grew thick and heavy, and the room was filled with the stench of sulfur.

Suddenly, the mirror began to glow with an eerie blue light. I could see the faces of the creatures that had haunted me reflected in its surface. I knew then that I had made a terrible mistake.

In a panic, I tried to stop the ritual, but it was too late. The mirror shattered with a deafening roar, and the room was filled with a blinding light. When I regained consciousness, I was lying on the floor, covered in shards of broken glass.

For a moment, I thought that I was alone. But then, I heard a whisper from out of the darkness.

"You cannot banish us, mortal," the voice hissed. "We are eternal, and we are legion. You have only succeeded in summoning us to this world."

I screamed, but there was no one to hear me. The creatures from the abyss had claimed me as their own, and there was nothing I could do to escape their grasp.

Short StoryHorrorFantasy
3

About the Creator

Elysia Dawn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sanjeevabout a year ago

    Wow..^_^

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.