Fiction logo

Where the Land Meets the Sea

Improbable Paradise

By Lisbeth StewartPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like
Where the Land Meets the Sea
Photo by Cole Keister on Unsplash

Even this early, the tropical sun was starting to burn my skin. The climate on this isolated island was much warmer than where I grew up. Good thing I'd already caught one fish. Lunch. Another would make dinner.

My growling stomach reminded me of the fruit I had for breakfast a couple of hours ago. As soon as I catch a second fish, I'll be having some more of that fruit! Eating in the dark feels like a snack, not breakfast, and I'm starving again already. Hungry in this beautiful, empty place.

The fishing line pulled in my hand. I felt a smile creep across my face as I brought the fish ashore. I'd had plenty of practice now, after all this time on the island. My old life was far away, memories that I visited sometimes.

The fish must have noticed my momentary distraction, and it made a leap for freedom! I wasn't THAT distracted though, and quickly brought it ashore, scooping it up with my net of vines. I ended it's struggle quickly.

Grabbing the first fish from the rockpool I had stored it in, adding it to the net, I gathered my few possessions and headed for the cool of the forest. Next stop: the rivulet for some water and a wash.

Every morning had been like this for a while. As I washed my face, smelling the damp earth, I remembered the smell of coffee, the feel of the hot liquid in my mouth. I sighed. No coffee here! Longing for such things was a waste of energy. Keeping my energy positive, content and forward focused kept me healthy.

I forged ahead through the palms and scrubby grass in this silty, sandy grey soil. My home was well hidden. I had taken advantage of the natural plant growth to hide it from any random people wandering past - not that there were ever many of those!

I looked at my watch as I opened the door. Better hurry!

Stowing the fish in the fridge, I dressed. I'd already checked the solar panels before I left. Good to ensure a complete day's charge.

I grabbed a banana and my water bottle as I headed back out the door. "Must remember to put my bag in the scrub before I go onto the beach." I reminded myself, eating as I walked.

I pulled off my watch, adding it to my bag as I stashed it. Almost late! Never mind! Tourists aren't on that tight a schedule! Grabbed my spear. Show time!

Striding as well as I could on the shifting soft white sand, which squeaked with each step, I held my spear aloft and shouted: "Ho!"

Looking as angry as possible for effect, I started to run, glad that my island life kept me reasonably fit. "Arrggh!" I yelled as I ran. No mean feat, considering the effort it took to hold that spear overhead and run in sand.

As usual, the Tourists looked terrified. Women screamed. Men tried not to look scared, their bodies twitching between turning to run and willpower stopping them. The universal constant was mouths agape.

The Tour Guide was behind them all. Good thing too, since he wasn't hiding his expression at all! Idiot!

The guide came forward now, shushing people, placing a reassuring hand on the arms he passed. "It's going to be OK, I've handled this kind of thing before." Walking out to meet me, grinning.

I stopped talking distance from him, out of earshot of most of the people.

"Hey Sam," I muttered quietly, then let out a loud grunt, slapping my arms across my body in threatening emphasis.

"Hey yourself," Sam returned quietly with a grin. "Doing great!"

It was hard to avoid smiling, but I knew the nearby group were watching intently.

"Which story did you tell today?" I asked, checking what role to act out.

"Shipwreck a century ago, a few decendants with little modern manners, that I sometimes bring things for." Sam said. "Which is just as well, because you're wearing shorts.

Oops!

"Let's stick with that story all the time - covers all kinds of details! But then, why am I threatening?"

Sam shrugged and continued in an undertone: "You're not the guy I usually deal with. Since you're part of the same tribe, we can communicate. Easy!"

"Goodo," I said quietly. "Want me to circle them and sniff them, and things?"

"Ah, no. This lot seem more scared than most, they've probably had enough. Maybe just glare at them a bit as we go past. Come and collect your stuff. I got that biodegradable body wash you're so fond of!"

It was OK for me to smile now, so I didn't stop myself. In the spirit of an unrestricted wild person I shouted "Yippee!" and jumped around a bit. I really was excited for this week's supplies. It seemed such an age between deliveries! Maybe because of the relatively small amounts each time, so the Tourists don't notice the extra boxes on board, and I could carry them home?

I'd already lowered my spear, so now I took on a more friendly, but still suspicious demeanour as I followed Sam to the boat pulled onto the sand, right where the land meets the sea.

Laden, I nodded to Sam. The Tourists had gathered by now, so I just nodded goodbye. No need to organise the next time - Sam was like clockwork.

A woman approached me. Oh no.

"Are you alright? Do you need help? Do you want to come back with us?"

"Me good!" I exclaimed gruffly and perhaps a little too enthusiastically. "Me live Island. Me love Island!" This was true.

Having come here for a holiday, just like these people, I had brought camping gear, having arranged to stay a week between Sam's tour groups. I'd loved it so much, and since I discovered that I had both phone & internet signal, thanks to the tower on the larger island nearby, I arranged to move my "work from home" office here. Pre-fab house, solar system and all! Best thing I ever did!

The shows for the tour groups made Sam's tours more popular, and were entertaining for me. It also guaranteed Sam picked up my orders and brought them over.

Now to get them home! Tea and fresh cake were next on my Agenda!

The woman seemed to accept that I loved living here with limited vocabulary, and I walked past her and the others with my 2 stacked boxes of goodies. The well-insulated one should have milk, butter and eggs, among other things, and I was keen to get them into the fridge!

I nodded at the people as I passed, and stopped at the edge of the forest to wave. Several of them waved back.

Out of sight I stowed my spear, collected my bag, rebalanced my load, and headed home.

In a couple of days my friendly local fishermen would dock to collect my insulated box and take it, with a few other things, to Sam. They'd drop off bulky things for me, too. "I'd better have their cakes ready by then!" I thought as I unpacked the ingredients.

"First," I thought as I put the kettle on and opened the boxes, "Tea and cake for me, on the verandah overlooking the sea!"

I love this life!

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Lisbeth Stewart

Long time writer, recent publisher.

Humanist, budget traveller, #Vanlife, mother, homemaker, quilter, beginning gardener.

Former Social Worker, Teacher, Public Servant, Roustabout and various other adventures.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.