Fiction logo

Where's The Food?

An in and out operation she said...

By Alexander T RichardsonPublished about a year ago 11 min read
1
Where's The Food?
Photo by Mieke Campbell on Unsplash

The venue that was rented out is spacious but cramped at the same time. There’s a large line of tables that’s taking up all the space in the center of the room, while the chairs barely leave you with space to walk along the edges. Whatever seat you chose sealed your fate for the night, cause it wasn’t going to be easy to just get up and leave.

Luckily, I found a space between two chairs to stand at. Sure, it was a bit uncomfortable to be standing for so long, but something told me that sitting down would be a lot worse than my feet aching. Besides, all the seats were taken anyways.

I stand with my back against the wall as my family members get lost in their conversations with each other. Their loud Jamaican accents fill me with a sense of nostalgia. As I scan the venue. Every so often, I eyeball my cousin whose busy talking to her aunt.

I’d join in, but I don’t really know her aunt too well. It doesn’t help that these aren’t my relatives by blood, just my cousin’s side of the family. I still consider them to be my family though. I don’t see a reason not to.

I continue to scan the room, my positive façade starting to wear off.

I’ve been here for ten minutes, and I haven’t seen a single hint of food. The only reason I tagged along with my cousin was so I can get free food. She told me it’d be an in-and-out operation, but there she is yammering about God knows what. Fortunately, everyone is too busy with their own conversations to notice me.

No way I’m in a venue full of Jamaicans, and I haven’t even smelled jerk chicken yet. Wherever the food is at, it’d better get here fast.

With my impatience warping my perception of time, I push past the chairs in front of me, sidling my way to my cousin. At this point, I don’t care what she could be talking about, I just need something to do.

“Yeah, yeah, I’ve been good auntie Nora, I’m just trying to stay on top of my classes is all.”

“Oh, that’s really good! Even if you’re doing online schooling, as long as you get that slip of paper, it makes it much easier to get jobs.”

Even though I’m right behind my cousin, it seems she hasn’t noticed me at all. Neither has my aunt. Not that it’s a bad thing, I’m too hungry to talk anyways.

“So, what else are you doing besides school?”

“Oh, nothing much, I’m usually watching shows or movies in the house. I haven’t been in the mood to go outside lately. At first, It felt wrong, but I don’t see why I should feel bad for doing what I want in my free time.”

“Oh no, that’s completely fair, just make sure that you’re getting enough sun for your skin.”

I look left. I look right.

I don’t see a single tray of food coming out from the back or coming in from the front.

Man, why’d I go out of my way to tag along?

“Why’re you always inside,” I hear a male voice ask.

I turn my attention back to the table and see Marquis, a distant cousin I hadn’t seen in over five years. If I’m completely honest with myself, I wouldn’t have minded ten more years being added to that counter… Maybe even twenty.

“Do you not have any friends? What kind of twenty-year-old woman doesn’t have friends?” Marquis asks, obnoxiously.

“I do have friends; I just don’t want to hang out with them all the time.”

“Why not? Being alone is for losers.”

“Well then, I guess I’m a loser for enjoying my own company. God, forbid I don’t surround myself with a bunch of idiots to feel validated like you!”

“Woah, relax Lexy. I was just asking a question.”

“Please don’t start with me today. Every year you always try to start something. I’m not dealing with it this time.”

“Alright, alright settle down you two. I don’t need another year of you two trying to kill each other. You’re too old for this nonsense.”

“He’s the one that started it.”

“She’s the one that’s lonely.”

“Shut up!” As these two mature adults settle their differences, my stomach growls at me with impatience. Why did they rent out this venue, just to not have food in it?

“What’s all this yelling about?” asks a tall man with a bushy beard.

“It’s nothing, uncle Ran. It’s just Marquis being Marquis…”

“All I did was ask her a question.”

“Oh, don’t worry about it, Ran. It was just a dispute between cousins is all.”

“Not really auntie Nora, this idiot is always trying to start something with me every year.”

“So? It’s just how your cousin shows that he cares about you.”

“Yeah, I just asked why you like being alone. I just don’t get it personally.”

“Because I just do, and you’re not just asking a question, you’re adding unnecessary comments to it.”

“What unnecessary comments?” Marquis asks, a weird smirk forming on his face.

“Whatever, been asshole.”

“Woah, Lexy calm down. That’s no way to speak to Marquis. I know your mother taught you better than that,” Aunt Nora says, completely shocked.

“Yeah, you’re family. You need to learn how to love each other,” Uncle Ran adds.

“Of course, when Marquis says something stupid to me, it’s all a joke, but when I say something back, I need to learn to ‘love my family’. Why’s that always the case?”

“Oh, don’t be like that, Lexy. We scold Marquis as much as we do you. There’s a lot of love in these family get-togethers, but sometimes, arguments can’t be avoided.”

“Yeah sure, but I want Marquis to stop being so annoying. He’s the same jerk from when we were kids, and I’m the one being told to show love like I don’t do that at every family event.”

“I’m not getting told to show love 'cause it’s all I ever give. Maybe you can learn something from me.”

“Ugh! Why’re you so—”

“Excuse me,” I say, intervening “I see that a horrible family argument is about to take place, so before you all rip each other apart, I’d like to ask a question. It will only take a minute of your time.”

Everyone turns to me with confused and annoyed expressions. They can scoff at me all they want. I’m getting the info that I want out of them.

“So… I know that all of us here are beloved family members, so as a beloved family member, I’m hoping that one of you answers this question with complete and genuine honesty… For a beloved family member of course.”

Their faces start morphing from the agitation they’re getting from me. I glance over to Lexy, a look of concern coming over her face.

I have one chance to get this right.

“S—Since this is a family gathering, during Christmas time nonetheless, I was curious as to why there’s no food at this event yet. Not to say I only came for food, but I’m just confused as to why—”

“You’re not a part of this family,” Marquis interrupts, his words blunt. “It’s annoying when Lexy drags you along with her.”

“I—I know that I’m not from this specific side of the family, on a technical level, but I’m still the cousin to your cousin, e—even though I’m not your cousin… I’m sure that counts for something.”

“No, it doesn’t, haven’t you noticed that no one has bothered to offer you a seat? We only tolerate you, barely, and you know that.” Marquis smashes into me with the force of a brick. Lexy’s aunt and uncle don’t say a word, they just keep their glares pinned onto me, waiting for me to give into my cowardice.

“Are you serious?” Lexy asks, turning back to Marquis. “Are you all still mad about what happened? It was like, four years ago and Adrian wasn’t even a part of it.”

“It doesn’t matter. He’s one of them, so he probably laughs about with them every day. I don’t get why you have to drag him along with you, Lexy.”

“Stop being like that! It’s not his fault his mom went off on Auntie Nora last year, and why would they be laughing about it? Everyone in the situation was trying to stop it from escalating.”

“Auntie Nora doesn’t feel that way, do you, auntie?” Nora nods her head in agreement as if she’s lost the ability to speak for herself. “You know how everyone feels about Adrian’s side of the family. The only reason no one is saying anything is 'cause they’re waiting for him to give everyone a reason to dogpile him, just like Adrian’s mom did to Nora.”

“Waiting for a reason,” Lexy asks, stammering. “If that’s the case, then why doesn’t everyone yell at him now and get it over with.”

“Because why would we yell at him for no reason?” Marquis starts chuckling, barely holding back full-blown laughter. “Everyone here is enjoying themselves, but just know that no one actually likes you dude, it should’ve been obvious the second you arrived here. I mean, Nora and Ran didn’t even say hello to you.”

“Aren’t you two gonna say anything?” Lexy asks. Nora and Ran look at each other, then look back at me. Ran walks off, making sure that his stare leaves a lasting impression. Nora takes a deep breath, setting her elbows on the table.

“You see, Lexy,” Nora says in a dull tone. “There are times when you have to use… complex methods so that others might learn their lesson. It may sound a bit confusing, but I know that Adrian had nothing to do with the argument between me and his mother, but I wasn’t able to get through to her with words, so maybe our… complex treatment of Adrian might get through to her.”

“What are you talking about, Auntie?”

“Well, at a certain point, Adrian is going to let his mother know about how we’ve been treating him, and once that happens, I know for certain that I’ll get my words through to her.”

“Do you hear how stupid you sound!? How is getting over half the family to treat Adrian like garbage getting your words through to his mom!? W—What were you two even arguing about anyways? All I saw was you getting cursed at in front of everybody. Sure, it was awful, but does that make it okay for you to treat Adrian like this? Over something that happened that long ago?”

“Well…” Nora scratches her chin for a second but then shrugs her shoulders out of her thoughts. “I’d think of an answer, but I see no reason to care about how I treat someone who has nothing to do with this family. He doesn’t even have to be here after all.”

“Of course, and just when I thought you’d turned over a new leaf. Turns out you’re the same backhanded waste you’ve always been…”

“Excuse me? I don’t know who you think you’re talking to, but you better check yourself before I do.”

“I’m not getting checked by anyone, especially by trash like you! I’m sick of all of you picking when you want to respect someone. Why don’t you check yourself, Nora! It’s obvious no one ever has. That’s probably why you’re such a manipulative bitch!”

“What the hell has gotten into!? I’m not going to let a rotten-ass child disrespect me at the family event I organized. Get out, now!”

“Whatever, I was leaving anyways.” I step out of the way, letting Lexy drag her chair out from under the table. As she marches her way out of the venue, I follow right behind her.

She smashes the door open, and we’re greeted with a bitter cold.

Red and green Christmas lights are strewn about buildings and corner stores, lighting up the night sky more than the stars are. A strong breeze blasts a stagnant cold into our faces, forcing us to grimmace at its prescence.

“H—Hey, Lexy. I’m sorry for what happened back there. I thought if I asked my question like that, it’d be funny, and they’d laugh but—”

“Relax. You have nothing to be sorry for. They’re the assholes. They’re only treating you like that so you can tell your mom about it. That’s how they’re getting back at her. By treating you like shit…”

“Honestly, I can’t say I’m surprised. They’re really good at holding grudges, to the point they’ll direct them at any person they please.”

“Yeah... it makes me sick. Luckily, I don’t have to worry about them anymore. I only came here to see if things would be different, and I got my answer… and for food, but I guess they were too busy with their petty plan to cook any.”

“Damn… no Christmas dinner? What’re we gonna do now?”

“We’ll just buy some. We’ve got money, remember?”

“Yeah, but I wanted a free Christmas dinner… Oh well, I guess beggars can’t be choosers.”

“No amount of food is worth dealing with an awful family, Adrian. Now let’s go have ourselves our own Christmas dinner, just the two of us.”

“Yeah! Let’s start the new year by cutting off awful family members!”

“Yeah!”

“I hope we get free food as our Christmas miracle!”

“Okay, a bit of a stretch but I like the enthusiasm!”

Lexy and I sprint to her car, washed over by a newfound hope. I could still feel the sting of the senseless family drama. So many questions were stirring in my head.

Why does Nora want to get back at my mom so badly, why is Lexy’s side of the family targeting all this animosity toward me? What did I do to deserve it?

Even with these questions knocking at my heart, Lexy standing up for me is on the surface of my mind. I don’t think it matters what the answer to these questions are. I just want to enjoy the holiday season with a family member that I care about.

Lexy was there for me when I needed her, so I’ll be there for her when she needs me.

Short Storyfamily
1

About the Creator

Alexander T Richardson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.