Fiction logo

Where's Carla?

I Swear She Was Just Here

By Misty RaePublished 4 months ago 3 min read
7

Do you have any idea how cold it is? It's freezing! I've been out here for hours, waiting around for Carla. She has a bad habit of leaving me dangling as if all I have to do in life is serve her.

She makes me so mad! I seriously think she might be some sort of narcissist, the way she uses me. I'm not stupid, I know she'd be nowhere without me. I've opened up all sorts of doors that she'd never have had access to. I've opened up a whole new world to her, and she knows it, deep down.

All I'm asking for is a little recognition, a bit of common courtesy, maybe a thank you.

If I was smart, I'd leave, just disappear. But I can't. She needs me. And I need her too, I suppose. I worry about her, especially when she disappears like this. It doesn't happen often, but when it does, I'm just beside myself with worry. There's no telling what kind of trouble she could get herself into.

She's never been gone this long before though. This is getting scary. Where could she be?

I've tried retracing my steps, mentally going through every minute detail of the last time I saw her.

We had a great day. We went for a long drive to look at some scenery, snow on trees and all that. I didn't see much. Honestly, I wasn't paying attention, it's not my kind of thing.

Then we went shopping. Walmart was INSANE! We didn't stay there very long. Then we went over to the mall for a while. Carla got the cutest leather purse. It cost a pretty penny, but the leather is so buttery soft, I swear I could live in there!

The last time I saw her, I think we were home. Or almost home. I know we drove home because I remember her playing with the radio and grumbling about how bad music is these days. She's got an entire speech about that. I've heard it a million times.

Nothing. I've got nothing. I haven't heard a word. Where could she be? At first, I thought she was playing around. She's a bit of a drama queen. But she's been gone all night. And it's just past 11:00 am. She's never been away this long. Usually she grabs me and we're out the door before the bells at the old church ring 9 times.

I sure hope she's not out in this frosty weather. She'd freeze to death. Poor thing, she can't handle winter at all; her hands are always like ice, even with gloves on.

I hope she's not sick. There's a lot of bugs going around. Nah, she can't be sick, she'd have gotten me to take her to the drug store, or the doctor if that were the case.

You don't think she's fallen in with a bad crowd, do you? She's very naive. She likes to think she's really smart, but the truth is, she's not. I'm not being mean, but I doubt that poor girl could find her way inside her own house without me. As they say, "the key don't exactly turn the knob," with that one.

I'm not sure what to do. What do you do in a situation like this? I'm beside myself with worry. I thought about going to look for her, but don't they say it's best to stay put if someone's lost? I think I heard that somewhere once.

It wouldn't matter anyway, I don't think I could go anyway, it's like I'm frozen out here.

Short StoryHumor
7

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Awesome entry for the challenge!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • So many questions. If they were driving home, almost home, why is she waiting for her outside? I get this sense they've been in an accident & she's slipping in & out of consciousness, that Carla may have been thrown from the car or is simply slumped over in the seat next to her. But we don't know. We're just left in that freezing foggy ilucid (is that a word?) state of mind. Incredibly & effectively evocative.

  • I loved this. It was unique and creative. Well done Misty

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    Great take on the challenge, I loved it!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    loved it!!! I've done this with my keys before, too....makes you feel so dumb

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    I approve of the puns! Good luck in the challenge 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.