Fiction logo

Where is Alice Jay Jennings? Part 4

Fiction - Short Story

By Marysol RamosPublished 4 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
4
Picture by Ideogram

Part 1:

https://vocal.media/fiction/the-misplaced-knife

Part 2:

https://vocal.media/fiction/where-is-alice-jay-jennings-part-2

Part 3:

https://vocal.media/fiction/where-is-alice-jay-jennings-part-3

Part 4:

“If you have no-one to compete against, that really doesn’t make you the best. It makes you the only. The one people have to settle for.” Jessica said as she fought to get her hands and feet out of the chains. She knew there was no getting out, but she wasn’t going down without a fight.

“A Poet’s City written by Jessica Lynn Barnes. What a joke.” I said as I slammed the book shut.

“You are not going to get away with this!” yelled Jessica, with the bit of energy she had left.

“Oh, but I am. You see, things have gotten much easier for me.” I said as I picked up a knife and swayed it back and forth in front of Jessica’s face.

“I now have an acquaintance. You know the young man who told the authorities he’d seen me at the Blue Tables Café? He’s my puppy dog now.” I said excitedly.

After the news had spread that I was spotted at a café in town – I lost some sleep wondering how this man had noticed me. When I was identified by the surviving victim over a year ago, I took some time off to make changes to my looks and place of living. I had cut and colored my hair, I lost a bunch of weight, exercised to get fit, I got lip fillers, a new style of glasses, and I always rocked an Egyptian goddess style of make-up. I wasn’t the old, plain, heavyweight loser that I once was.

As I stalked Brandon Heights through social media and a few other webpages, I realized that I was so caught up in my life that I hadn’t recognized or remembered this man. We went to high school together. Through all my changes, how did that man recognize me?

I had moved out of state after high school and only came back with an intent to kill. I worked at The Garden Café to pick up on some of my victims while earning a bit more cash and never socialized outside of work. I wanted to become big in my hometown. The town that never saw me, cared for me, or helped me in any way. Teachers, friends, family, associates — they all treated me as if I were ordinary and unworthy of their time. I couldn’t let things end that way. I am a goddess, and I must be seen as such.

The initial plan was to let others know that I was behind the murders and poems and then to escape to another country, but since I was identified by one of my victims who survived, plans changed.

I also have a partner now, Brandon. I captured him with the intent to kill. I didn’t expect to capture someone so charming and worthy of my trust. He admitted to recognizing me after I had given him that slight smile after he winked at me. He confirmed it was me as I was driving away. He said he was in-love with me throughout high school and my half-smile brought back the look of the old Alice. Plain, boring, overweight, Alice Jay Jennings.

I asked why he outed me if he was in-love with me — he said he thought it was the only way he could get my attention. He kept returning to the same café in hopes of being approached by me. He knew I’d probably be mad, but he risked it anyway.

I asked if he could also love The Poetic Killer. He answered by allowing me to write poetry while he did the gruesome murder on my behalf with the other victim I had in the room.

We came up with a plan where he’d help me out and within time, we can escape the country and do as we please. I’m sure I’ll make a fortune writing a book on the murders I’ve committed. Society sucks that way. Fortunately for me.

“Jessica Lynn Barnes.” I said as I set her book on fire.

“I’m feeling in the mood to write something poetic…” I watched as Jessica began to cry and beg for her life, “oh dear, don’t you worry. You’ll get the credit you deserve. Like the others — your name will be the title of the poem in the article. All will be reading your name.”

Young AdultthrillerShort StoryPsychologicalMysteryHorrorCONTENT WARNINGAdventure
4

About the Creator

Marysol Ramos

From Soul Soothing to Mysteries and Thrills. Take a few journeys with me through short stories that will either liven your soul or consume it with curiosity. Either way your mind takes a ride and your emotions are brought to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    You're doing amazing work—keep it up 😆

  • Tina D'Angelo4 months ago

    I started backwards 😆 Now I have to start at the beginning!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.