Fiction logo

When There Is No Path To Tread

A Snow Microfiction

By Kelsey ClareyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
12
When There Is No Path To Tread
Photo by Jasper Garratt on Unsplash

I walked out of my door just before dawn. This far off the main roads, the plows were unlikely to reach us for hours, if they even got to us today at all, and the neighbours wouldn't be up trying to dig out their cars and stoops for a little bit yet either. The world seemed to be at peace in stark contrast to the howling wind and blowing snow we'd had the night before. Everything was coated in a white blanket, glinting in the rising sun's light, with no evidence of any roads or paths to lead anywhere or towards anything.

With a roll of leftover Christmas ribbon in hand and an old pair of snowshoes on my feet, I made my way towards the woods behind my house. I knew that the hiking trails would be covered over too, which was exactly what I wanted.

The snow has a way of making the world new again, of bringing us back to a place where we have to stop and can't always get in the car and go wherever we have to go. Sure, eventually we'll clear all the roads and the hustle and bustle will begin again, but I always like to enjoy this lack of direction first. To venture out into a world where there are no paths and see where I end up.

So I tie a piece of ribbon to a branch at the edge of the treeline and venture where there is no path.

Microfiction
12

About the Creator

Kelsey Clarey

She/Her/Fae/Faer. I live in Nova Scotia, Canada. I mostly write poetry and flash fiction currently, a lot of it fantasy/folklore/fairy tale inspired. I also like to do a lot of fiber arts and design TTRPGs.

https://linktr.ee/islanderscaper

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    Oh I love the feeling of walking in the woods in the snow, especially without a path. This is very lovely.

  • Rene Peters2 months ago

    I get anxious about getting lost. That's why my dad is the perfect person when I go on hikes, he's great with directions.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    This is wonderful. I'll admit I started to get anxious about getting lost, but the ribbon saved me. Great story.

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    love your sense of adventure and glad you take ribbons to find your way back :)

  • Raymond G. Taylor3 months ago

    What a great way to explore. I enjoyed reading this and thanks for sharing. Good luck in the challenge

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Kelsey, I loved this. I wondered if the red ribbon was symbolic of something, like a hint as to what was going to happen in your story but it's just about finding your way home in the freshness of the snow-disguised world. Just wonderful from your opening to the climax.

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    Wow, that sounds like a wonderful snowy tale!

  • Sounds like a wonderland of discovery. Thank you for sharing!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.