Fiction logo

When Old Friends Come to Call

I Knew You When

By Jamey O'DonnellPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 9 min read
1

When Old Friends Come to Call

By

Jamey O’Donnell

It was 1997 when I was back behind the house, the house belonging to Jeanie Stover, where I rented the basement from her. It was in the mountains of Sedalia, almost to Rampart Range Road, and just up Jackson Creek Road from The Temple of the White Brotherhood, in the part of the mountains they called Shambala.

Lots of things happened up there that people couldn’t explain, so they didn’t even bother, but instead just chalked it up to Shambala itself.

There seems to be a spiritual vortex there between dimensions, and if you are unlucky enough, you might step into it and never return.

I can’t remember exactly why I was there on the property behind the house, but I’ll never forget what happened to me back there on that fateful night.

Standing about a hundred yards back behind the house in the twilight of the evening, I saw a luminous red ball of light travel from east to west, going slowly, as if it were surveying the land, or possibly myself. I remember how I felt when I saw it, and it didn’t feel right to me at all.

I had met Jeannie over the phone from getting her to donate to various causes I called for, depending on the charity I worked for at the time. After a while we became friends, and we would always spend a few minutes talking about aliens and other metaphysical stuff, things that have always interested me throughout my life, and eventually I drove up to see her to watch many different films she had on the subject.

Some of the things she talked about were straight out of left field, but the crazier it was, the more interested I was.

Eventually I moved in up there because I was between a rock and a hard place and needed a place to stay, so she offered and the money was right, which meant I loaded up my things and moved in.

The red ball of light stopped at the west end of her property line just inside the fence, then dipped down below the ridge, so I walked over to see.

Standing in the very corner of her property under the red ball of light was a small grey alien creature, with big black almond shaped eyes, wearing a metallic jump suit, and it was staring me down as if it were waiting for me.

Terrified out of my mind, I stood on top of the ridge, frozen in fear, not able to even move my finger or scream for help.

Then it began to speak to me, only it didn’t move its mouth. It began to talk to me inside of my brain, telepathically.

“I’ve known you since just after you were born. I have come to you many times. You don’t recognize me, but you know me. We have studied you and always been close by, not to interfere in your life, but to monitor how you deal with what is thrown in front of you, how you deal with all the situations you have been forced to deal with. Now our focus is and will be on your son.” said the alien.

“I don’t have a son. I don’t have any kids. What are you talking about?” I spoke back to him through my mind.

“He has not been born yet, but he will be soon. When he comes into your life, do not get too attached to him, because we will be coming for him. He is special and we want him, and there will be nothing you can do about it.” said the Alien.

The red ball of light then descended to him, engulfing him until he disappeared into the light, and then the red ball shot into the sky into the barely lit stars above, gone as if it had never been there, and suddenly I could move again.

I told Jeannie about the red ball of light but did not tell her about the alien or what he said to me. Why? I don’t know exactly. I’m sure she would have believed me, so it wasn’t out of fear of that. I guess it just felt so personal to me.

I was still trying to sort everything out it said to me.

I don’t ever remember seeing an alien before ever in my life, so I had no idea what it was talking about, and I certainly had no plans on ever having kids, so that in itself was more than odd to hear.

I hadn’t been drinking or doing any dope for at least a couple weeks, so it wasn’t that either.

I kept trying to attach the experience to something other than reality, as if I had a dream about being out behind the house and the alien was part of it, but I couldn’t do that either. The only place on the property where she had marigold flowers growing would have been on the ridge I was standing on when I saw the alien creature, and sure enough, there was a marigold flower stuck in my bootlaces, proving I had been back there.

I couldn’t wish this away, because it really happened.

Fast forward to 5 years later. I met a woman in a coffee house in downtown Denver. She worked as barista there, and she was stunningly beautiful, with beautiful almond shaped eyes, as if she were part oriental, but nothing else on her face looked the part.

I found out later she had some Mongolian in her, so that explained her eyes.

We began dating and before long I fell madly in love with her, and before I could even ask her, she asked me to marry her, so we married and loved each other as hard as two people could.

I remember now her asking me once if I would try to find her if she ever disappeared, and thinking it was a very strange question, I joked and told her I would forget about her after a week and find someone else. Needless to say, that answer didn’t go over with her very well and I had to retract profusely, assuring her it was a stupid joke, and of course I would scour the ends of the earth and would not stop looking for her until she was found.

Then the day came when I came home from work and she was especially happy to see me, lavishing her love upon me until I had to ask what the occasion was.

And it hit me like a ton of bricks.

She told me she was pregnant, that she was going to have our baby.

I immediately flashed back to the alien behind Jeanie Stover’s house, and all the fear I had back then filled me up anew, but I couldn’t say anything to Annie. There was no way I could tell her, or anyone else for that matter, what had happened that day.

So, I stuffed my fears and hoped for the best, and hugged her tighter than I ever had.

We were going to have a baby!

Willie was born 8 months later, and he was cute as a bug in a rug.

We loved him so much it hurt, and everything in our lives centered around him.

My parents adored him, as did Annie’s, and all of us spoiled him. He was the center of our lives, and I forgot about what the alien said, because truth be told, the farther away I got from that day, the more it didn’t seem real. All I could see was the love and the joy he brought into everyone’s lives that he touched, and he touched many of us.

Then my world came to a screeching halt, and things would never be the same.

It was close to midnight when Annie and I went to bed, after putting Willie down for the night. It was the eve of him going to kindergarten, as he was now 5 years old.

All three of us were beyond excited, Willie especially.

In his 5 years of growth, our boy had shown remarkable signs of genius, and the world was about to be his oyster.

He not only knew his alphabet, but he understood rudimentary mathematics, and could even write his name in cursive, which no boy or girl could do at that age that I could ever remember.

He also seemed to have an uncanny grasp of societal norms and habits, as if he had been on this earth much longer than his years.

Sometimes he would look at you after you said something, cocking his head, as if to say are you sure?

Something an adult would do. A smart adult.

About 2:30 in the morning, I was stirred awake by a buzzing in my head, a familiar buzzing that I couldn’t place, but familiar nonetheless. I laid on my side of the bed for a good 5 minutes, soaking up the silence of the night aside from the buzzing, then turned over to look at my lovely wife in the throes of sleep, and was shocked that she wasn’t there next to me.

I got up from under my covers, and was drawn to my son’s room, where I almost fainted from the same fear I had felt years ago.

Sitting on Willie’s bed was his mother, with Willie standing on the floor facing her, and standing next to Willie was the same alien creature I had encountered at the back corner of Jeanie Stover’s property, standing in defiance of me, and I suddenly seemed to have lost the ability to move, and curiously enough, my fear had dissipated and turned into anger, because I knew what was about to happen and I was not going to stand for it.

“I told you before that this day would come” said the alien.

“I’m going with them Bobby.” Annie said.

“What?” I thought.

“Annie is one of us. She is a hybrid of us, and human such as yourself. She needs to help us raise your son and cultivate his gifts.” Said the alien.

This explained her almond eyes.

“You can’t take him. Please. He needs to be here with his mother and father. Please don’t take him!” I pleaded, but to no avail.

The window was open, and the alien, followed by Annie, then Willie holding on to Annie’s hand, all floated outside through the open window and up above the house, into a red luminous ball of light, never to be seen again.

After 3 years, I was finally arrested and convicted for the murder of my son and wife.

Though there was no hard evidence of their murder, enough made up circumstantial evidence was put together to make the case I had done away with them, and here I sit for the rest of my life doing time for a crime I never committed.

I miss my son and my wife, and I wish they would come back to rescue me.

Sci Fi
1

About the Creator

Jamey O'Donnell

In the dead of night when the creatures are lurking about outside my window, you will find me brainstorming my ideas on the computer, trying to find the right opening, then seizing on it like Dr. Frankenstein, bringing paper and ink to life

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.