Fiction logo

What Would You Think If You Woke On A Train With No Memory Of How You Got There?

Or then again was it all just a dream as I look out the window and stare?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
What Would You Think If  You Woke On A Train With No Memory Of How You Got There?
Photo by Johannes Hofmann on Unsplash

I awoke and looked out the window to see winter, speeding past me. I felt a shiver down my back when I realized I must be dreaming as winter passed!

I wasn't a bit cold. As I kept looking out the window, I thought how scary it was to be so high above all that was below me. However, did I get into the mountains I gasped?

When I looked out I could see the tracks way off in the distance. As we raced down the track it occurred to me, how did I get on this train?

Did I just come out of a mountain?

Okay, relax as this is a simple dream and I will wake up soon enough. I have never had a dream so real though. I turned my head from the window and saw other sleeping people with me on the train. It is so light and bright outside my window and even in here.

How can others be sleeping? I love riding on the train. I remember from a child. It would always put me to sleep so easily. When was the last time I was on the train? And it certainly wasn't here as nothing is familiar out there.

It was just a short time ago, or was it? Where is my husband in this dream? He is always somewhere in my dreams! The dreams I remember anyway. Maybe I should just sit back and enjoy the ride. What else is there to do. I will wake up all refreshed if I can just relax.

I looked down for my phone and realized I didn't have it. Where is my phone? I guess I don't have it in my sleep. I looked for my purse, a bag, nothing! Maybe if I close my eyes the next time I open them I will be home with my family. I will try that! After all, there are no attacks.

No monsters to fight off, no aliens, no bear. Back to sleep for me.

When I wake everything will be just fine, don't you see!

I continue to watch out the window and note someone snoring. Hubby says I kind of snore. I make little puff noises. Sometimes I wake all dry, I must do more than a little puff to get so dry. Close your eyes and go back to sleep I plead with myself. I think I am sleeping but my fear is getting heightened.

Then I do wake startled by a quick stop. We were at the end of the train ride and people were waking up all around me. No one seemed to know how they got on the train and everyone was asking everyone else. Now I am frightened.

Is this the end?

No, it is not the end, at least I don't think so. As I look around and see a bed next to me with another in that bed I realize I am in the hospital and the nurse is coming into the room. I'm told then that my surgery went well.

On the wall in the room was a picture of a train high up in the mountains. It was the mountains with snow all around that frightened me so. I say to no one in particular please push that bell.

It is my husband sitting right next to me. At first, I believe I am married to my first husband, but this wasn't him. No, this is my husband as I feel the love. Besides my first husband is deceased.

I wanted to know if I could have something to drink or if even ice chips would help. Wait, maybe this is my deceased husband and that is where I am at now too?

I can't handle some medication I tell no one in particular as I remember the doctor suggesting I look at the picture right in front of me and relax. Then what I remembered next is waking to look out the train window. I am sure glad this is over. The nurse brought some ice for me to chew.

Then I say choo choo chooo. Silly me on medication as I laughed and the ice chips flew!

Short Story
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Loved your take on this challenge! Humour and suspense in this story was on point. Fantastic story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.