Fiction logo

What I Learned at Church

Convincing Peers to Commit a Heist

By Nikki Torino WagnerPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
6
What I Learned at Church
Photo by Andrew Ebrahim on Unsplash

Gabby and Simon had abadoned their trays of spaghetti to listen to my plan. I took a bite of my peanut butter and jelly sandwich, watching their expressions give away their thoughts. Simon's cunning, but Gabby looked like a cartoon character, eyes popping.

Gabby spoke first, "my mom gave me money, so I don't have to steal."

Simon's face contorted at the mention of the name 'mom'; no doubt a trigger. He'd lost his mom to a car crash the year prior, but Gabby was oblivious. "It's not my fault you're poor! Besides, what would the Lord think?"

Simon grunted while I responded, "On Sunday, my pastors' sermon was about, if we do a wrong, all we have to do is ask for God's forgiveness. Then it's fine."

Simon nodded his head, adding, "Yeah, I remember going to Grams' church after... well after, you know, and her reverand said, 'June, once saved, always saved.' So I vote yes."

"Two, against you Gabby", I replied. She clutched her cross necklace while I placed the Scholastic Book Fair catalog on the table. It was marked up with red pen, notating which book I wanted. After lunch, I'd be the owner of "Matilda".

Microfiction
6

About the Creator

Nikki Torino Wagner

I know stories. After getting suspended for peddaling my own magazine, in grade school, I started contributing to the local paper's weekly column. In college, I co-edited, and won several awards, for our paper and literary magazine.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Destini Wilson10 months ago

    Love this story and how well it portrays a child’s reasoning and understanding of what they’re taught, and just how sweet and innocent it is to want to steal a book 🥺

  • Ralph Wagner11 months ago

    I feel like this has undertones of past truths….

  • Erika 11 months ago

    I really love this and the childrens perspective

  • Lacey Montgomery11 months ago

    The ending made me smile, such a perfect heist for kids!

  • Amelia Moore 11 months ago

    Love the take on kids understanding in church! Definitely not the plan I was expecting, love it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.