Fiction logo

Lurking Loon

An Albatrosses Adversary

By Nikki Torino WagnerPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
7
Lurking Loon
Photo by Sinitta Leunen on Unsplash

Right outside the center’s window, the voice trilled, “Help me! I’m about to be killed!”

She had voluntarily admitted herself to this facility for solitude. They claimed they could silence the unwanted words.

Yet the damned thing followed!

It wouldn’t allow itself to be shooed away, nor hushed.

Silently pleading, she rocked, pressing her hands to her ears, attempting to block the mocking warble.

It wouldn’t be quieted though, not until, they came to lock her away.

HorrorShort StoryMystery
7

About the Creator

Nikki Torino Wagner

I know stories. After getting suspended for peddaling my own magazine, in grade school, I started contributing to the local paper's weekly column. In college, I co-edited, and won several awards, for our paper and literary magazine.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Ralph Wagner11 months ago

    Very thought provoking. Keep them coming.

  • Destini Wilson11 months ago

    Love this, I want to read more of it!

  • Erika 11 months ago

    I want it to continue its SO good

  • Lacey Montgomery11 months ago

    Ooooh this gave me chills! Haunting and spooky and I want to read more!!

  • Lacey Dearie11 months ago

    I felt like this could be about a real event of a psychotic episode. I love how it's open to interpretation.

  • Amelia Moore 11 months ago

    I absolutely love this and want more! So intriguing and could have so many possibilities, I wanna preorder the full length novel

  • Destini Torino11 months ago

    Love it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.