Fiction logo

What Chipmunk?

What happened that made Phoenix get on this train in the first place?

By Theresa EvansPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
1
What Chipmunk?
Photo by Spencer DeMera on Unsplash

Today is the day that Phoenix has lost her mind, and she doesn't even know where to begin. So because she doesn't know what is going on, I will let her explain more from her point of view.

The time is in the 1900s, and I know that I went to sleep in my own bed last night because my time is in the current twenty-first century, but something wired happened to me while I was asleep, and the feelings that I woke up with are very upsetting to me because I have no memory of how I ended up on this train in the first place. I don't even have a ticket to be on this train, but here I am. I went to my typical job, went home, fixed myself something to eat, took my shower, and laid down. While sleeping, I kept having vivid dreams that seemed genuine but couldn't believe it was real. When I woke up, I had no memory of anything, and the worst part of all this was that my friends had no idea where I was and why I left in the middle of the night.

"Hello alone hello, is anybody here? If so, could someone please tell me what is going on? Will the person driving this train please tell me where we are and why I am on it? Why isn't anybody answering me and why is the train going so fast. I don't know what happened last night for me to wake up on this fast-moving train out of nowhere. How did I get here, and who brought me here? First, what is my name, and why am I dressed in these wired-looking clothes? I knew I went to bed with a tee shirt and sweat pants last night, so how did I end up wearing a beautiful pink diamond-laced gown. I mean, the dress is gorgeous, but why am I wearing it, and why is it so tight on my body. I can't breathe comfortably in this thing." Phoenix said.

"Well, hello, Phoenix? Breakfast will be served shortly, but in the meantime, please sit back down, and after you eat breakfast, your train conductor will explain everything." The conductor said. "Excuse me, but who is Phoenix? And I am too scared to sit down. Who are you, and what do you want with me?" Phoenix said.

The conductor returns from the front of the train and hands me a tray with pancakes, orange juice, eggs, bacon, and toast. "Eat up, Phoenix; it's going to be a long ride where we are going." Before I could say anything else, the conductor left just as fast as he had come. "Well, I have no choice but to eat something and do what the conductor asks because I have no memory of what happened to me and how I ended up on this train. As I sat down with the food tray in front of me, I took a moment to look out the window, and to my surprise, the landscape was breathtaking. A field of flowers has plants that talk to each other. Now I know I am losing my mind even though I don't remember anything. Maybe the conductor drugged me last night and took me out of my bedroom when I was asleep. No, that doesn't feel right because I would have at least woken up or something, right? My head is cloudy, and I feel like I have a hangover from drinking whisky." Phoenix said.

After I had eaten breakfast, I went back to sleep. I woke up to the strangest sound I had ever heard, coming from behind me. I jumped up out of the chair and ran; I didn't care if I ran into the conductor or not. I was going to find a way to get off this train, and I knew it was moving well over 100 miles an hour. When I got to the front of the train, the sound that woke me up, scared to death, was behind me again. "Please stop running so that we can talk. I didn't mean to scare you. Plus, I am the one that is going to explain everything to you. If you could pause for a minute and listen to what I have to say, you will understand. By the way, my name is chipmunk, and it is a pleasure to meet you, Phoenix," said chipmunk.

Now, of course, I had to stop because, for one thing, if this person with the weird-sounding voice can change the way the sound at the drop of a hat with such calmness, then why wouldn't I stop to see what they look like and to see for myself if the voice matched the eyes and the rest of the body. "Well, here goes nothing! What have I got to lose because I don't know who I am, and I don't know why I am on this train, and most importantly, I have no memory of anything," Phoenix said.

As she turned around, she was surprised to see that the same flower she saw out the train's window earlier that day was actually talking to her now. "Good day Phoenix. My name is Pedals, and I am one of the conductors here on this train, and it is my job to make sure that you have everything that you will need for your journey. So let's start by answering some of your questions. First, your name is Phoenix, and you are on this train because your body transported itself here to us. It sounds strange when you think about it, but it is the truth. You have many special powers that looked deep inside you, and now they are ready to come out and show you a whole new world," said Pedals.

"Okay, how can I hear and talk to you when no human can hear the plants or other animals like I am hearing you now? I mean, all of this has to be a joke right now. I have no memory of what has happened to me, and I am terrified," Phoenix said.

"There is no need to fear because all of us on this train is with you to help you complete your next journey. You only have to sit back and enjoy the ride because we have a lot of things to inform you about before you can return to your normal life. I can say this much by the time we are all done with you; it is going to be hard to go back to the current place you call home," Pedals said.

"Your body was so stressed out that it lifted you up in your sleep and brought you here to us to help you relax and refocus on the beauty of life. Plus, this is long overdue for you, so for now, I want you to tell me what you see and feel in detail so that we can help you revest in yourself for generations to come." Pedal said.

"So let me get this right? Because my body was stressed out, it chose to bring me back to the 1900s in a pink gown on a train that I have no ticket for and no memory of ever getting on, and you expect me to believe what I am hearing from you and understand all of this?" Phoenix asked.

The conductor chipmunk comes back in the cart and says, "well, you always have the opportunity to jump off the train, but I can tell you that you will die on impact because this train was built to keep moving forward with no stops until the passenger learns the lesson their body needs them to learn. Otherwise, it will be a long journey if you don't take the time to do as the body instructs you to do."

Phoneix sat back in the chair and thought about what chipmunk and pedals were saying for several moments. "Okay, so how many lessons do I have to learn before I get off this train, get my memory back, and go home? It is unfair for me to accept everything you are saying, and I have no knowledge of my past. Hell, I don't even know my name. All I know is that you keep calling me Phoenix, whoever that is." Phoenix said.

Chipmunk and Pedals said at the same time, "look around you and tell us in detail what you see, hear, smell, taste, and touch." "This will help you to become better acquainted with yourself and others around you." Chipmunk said. "let's start with what you see and then we will work our way to the last one, touch," said Petals.

Sci Fi
1

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.