Fiction logo

Weekend Getaway

A Weekend Getaway Gone Wrong

By Jananan SandajeshanPublished about a year ago 4 min read
3

We drove up the snowy, winding road towards the cozy A-frame cabin. The air was crisp and cold, and the only sound that could be heard was the soft crunching of snow under our tires. It was a much-needed weekend getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city, and I was excited to spend some quality time with my husband, Jack. As we pulled up to the cabin, I couldn't help but feel a sense of peace wash over me.

The cabin was nestled among the tall pine trees, with a picturesque view of the snow-covered mountains in the distance. Jack and I had rented it for the weekend, and I couldn't wait to explore our new surroundings. After unpacking our bags, we decided to take a stroll around the property. The snow was knee-deep, but that didn't stop us from wandering through the woods and taking in the stunning scenery.

We came across a frozen lake, and Jack suggested we try ice fishing. I had never done it before, but I was game for anything. After drilling a hole in the ice and setting up our equipment, we patiently waited for a bite. As the sun began to set, we decided to call it a day and head back to the cabin. Jack built a roaring fire in the fireplace, and we snuggled up on the couch with a blanket and some hot cocoa. We talked for hours, reminiscing about old times and dreaming about our future.

It was the kind of night that you never want to end. The next day, we woke up to a fresh layer of snow on the ground. Jack had planned a surprise for me, and I had no idea what it was. He led me to the garage and revealed two snowmobiles. I had never ridden one before, but Jack assured me that it was easy. We spent the day tearing through the snow-covered hills, laughing and screaming with joy. We stopped for a picnic lunch and enjoyed the breathtaking views of the surrounding landscape. It was the most fun I had had in ages, and I felt like a carefree child again. As the sun began to set, we headed back to the cabin.

We were exhausted, but in the best way possible. We cooked a delicious dinner together and sat down to watch a movie. But as the movie played, I found myself drifting off to sleep, my head resting on Jack's shoulder. I woke up to the sound of a blaring fire alarm. The cabin was filled with smoke, and I could barely see through it. Jack grabbed my hand and led me towards the front door. But as we opened it, we were met with a wall of flames. Panic set in as we realized that we were trapped. The fire was spreading too quickly, and there was no way we could get out. We frantically searched for a way to escape, but there was none. The cabin was our tomb, and we were trapped inside.

We huddled together in a corner, our faces streaked with tears and sweat. We knew that our time was limited, and we clung to each other, trying to find some comfort in our final moments. But as the fire raged around us, I felt a sense of calm wash over me. I realized that even in our darkest hour, Jack and I had shared some of the happiest moments of our lives in this cabin. The flames engulfed us, and I closed my eyes, ready to meet my fate. But as I did, I heard a loud banging on the door. Someone had come to rescue us. We stumbled towards the door, and a group of firefighters rushed in. They quickly led us to safety, and we collapsed outside, gasping for air. As we watched the cabin burn to the ground, I realized that our weekend

getaway had taken a turn we never could have expected. But despite the tragedy, I was grateful for the memories we had made. We had laughed, loved, and lived fully in those few days. And even though the cabin was gone, our love for each other remained.

It took some time to recover from the trauma of the fire, but Jack and I emerged from it stronger than ever. We realized that life is unpredictable and can change in an instant. But we also knew that we had each other to lean on, and that was the most important thing.

Years have passed since that fateful weekend, but the memories still remain vivid in my mind. We never did go back to that cabin, but I carry it with me wherever I go. It's a reminder of the fragility of life, but also of the beauty that can be found in even the darkest moments. And most importantly, it's a reminder of the love that can carry us through anything.

family
3

About the Creator

Jananan Sandajeshan

As a book reviewer and writer, I am dedicated to sharing my love of literature with others. I believe that books have the power to educate, inspire, and transform us, and I'm committed to helping readers find the stories that resonate most.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.