Fiction logo

Wedding… Cake?

Microfiction entry

By Abby Kay MendoncaPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Wedding… Cake?
Photo by Will Echols on Unsplash

“Tony are you serious?”

Huh?” I looked up from stuffing my face. My girlfriend of three months held the biggest diamond ring I’d ever seen, covered in chocolate slice.

“Um, I-”

Yeeeesssss, baby! Yes!”

The restaurant broke into cheers. People clapped. Celeste threw her arms around me. I searched frantically; who owned this thing? My rescuer never showed himself. The restaurant staff gave no indication of making a mistake.

“I can’t believe we’re getting married!”

“Celeste, anyone who says ‘yes’ to a proposal after three months is insane.”

The ring paid for my car, still with an empty passenger seat.

Microfiction

About the Creator

Abby Kay Mendonca

Here to share my voice. I write about the overstated and underappreciated. Also, I love cats.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Loved the way you tied it up at the end!

Abby Kay MendoncaWritten by Abby Kay Mendonca

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.