Fiction logo

Weak

Too Soon

By Samantha ShafferPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

Sir Rahael could see her apprehension but knew words would not alleviate her concerns. He gently took her by the hand and led Lady Andromeda to the banquet hall. The couple walked through the doors to thunderous applause. They walked through the crowd and joined the Emperor and Empress at the head table. The Emperor stood and the crowd fell silent. “Let’s welcome Sir Rahael and his new wife, Lady Andromeda of Lemia. In honor of my best friend, on her wedding day, I am bestowing a Lordship upon her husband. Lord Rahael and Lady Andromeda will be given permanent residency on the Imperial Estate. At which I expect to see them visit at least once a year.” he announced, “Congratulations to Lord and Lady of Lemia." He added and sat as the guests toasted the couple.

The banquet ended a few hours later and the guests started to disburse. Sir Rahael took Lady Andromeda by the hand and led her from the hall. They entered his chambers. Lady Andromeda looked around nervously. She knew what was expected of her but was terrified of fulfilling that duty.

Sir Rahael noticed his wife was still at the door, looking scared. He walked back to her and took her hands in his. “I know you are nervous. I have no expectations for tonight, or any other night. If you are not ready, we can just talk and go to sleep. We have plenty of time.” he assured. “I know what is expected tonight and I am willing to fulfill my duty. I am afraid of what could happen.” she confessed. “What do you mean?” he questioned. “How much about my condition did my father tell you?” she asked. “He told me that you are sickly and could not produce strong healthy children,” he responded. “I did have my advisors ask around about you. they were informed that you tire easily and experience body pain.” he added. “I am afraid it is much worse than what you were told.” she sighed and led him to the couch. They sat and Andromeda looked into her lap. She took in a deep breath, “When I was ten years old, I fell and broke my arm. It wasn’t a big fall so we were concerned. The doctor set my arms and examined me. He told us that my bones had grown very brittle. The slightest roll of my ankle can break it. The slightest tap on my arm can result in a fracture. My body hurts because I have to be so careful that I am unable to perform physical activities with enough vigor and consistency to keep the muscles strong. I am tired most of the time because the pain wears me out.” Lady Andromeda explained. Sir Rahael stared at her for a moment. The silence made her look into his face. She just knew his instant regret in marrying her. “Why would no one tell me the truth?” he questioned. “ I am not sure why my father would not tell you. I would have expected him to try and use it to prevent me from marrying you. I know that he was planning on selling me to the highest bidder, the shadier the better. He wanted me gone but never to have to deal with me again. The staff would not say the worst parts because they want me to find a good husband and have a happy life away from my father.” she responded. “I do wish someone would have informed me. I would have sent word to my staff to have a doctor at the ready, for when you arrive, to treat any of your injuries and treat your condition. Don’t worry, I will send a message tomorrow to prepare the staff. Your personal maids, Corrine and Moira, will be joining you. They know you the best and will be able to serve you well.” he stated. “Maid Corrine is coming with me?” Lady Andromeda questioned with a smile on her lips and tears in her eyes. “I was told that she has been your loyal companion for many years. I wanted to make sure you had comfort as you settle with your new life. I want you taken care of.” he smiled. She threw her arms around his neck and hugged him, “Thank you.” she cried. He gently hugged her back. “You are welcome, M'Lady,” he responded.

“Would you like to speak some more before we retire?” he inquired. Lady Andromeda looked at him and studied his face. “I am feeling tired.” she admitted. Sir Rahael nodded and helped her up off the couch and led her to the bed chamber.

Lady Andromeda stared at the bed, the bed they would share. She wondered if Maid Corrine had sent her pillows and supports, she needed those supports to prevent injuries while she was sleeping. Sir Rahael looked at her, “Are you alright with this?” he questioned. “I am wondering if my things were sent.” she responded. “What things are you looking for?” he inquired. “I have special supports designed to allow me to sleep without hurting myself.” she explained. “I asked Maid Corrine to send anything you may need to be comfortable.” he assured.

Lady Andromeda looked at him in surprise. He had thought of trying to try and make her comfortable. Maybe he was being truthful. Maybe he did care about her. “May I help you remove that dress?” he offered. She nodded in agreement. Sir Rahael stepped behind her and started to unlace her bodice. He gently removed every layer and tossed them aside. Lady Andromeda stood still as he finished the task. When he threw the last bit aside, he moved in front of her and gazed at her in her delicate chemise. “You look even more beautiful without all of that nonsense.” he stated, nodding to the pile that was once a gown. She blushed and wrapped her arms around herself.

Sir Rahael offered his hand and she shyly placed her small hand in his. He led her closer to the side of the bed and helped her climb in. She watched as he walked around the bed. He removed most of his clothes along the way. She couldn’t help but stare at his broad shoulders, and bulging muscles. Part of her cursed her brittle bones and weak muscles. She shook her head at these thoughts. What was wrong with her? How could she be thinking such things?

Sir Rahael caught this action, “Is something wrong?” he questioned. Lady Andromeda’s eyes went wide and quickly dropped her face in embarrassment. “N...Nothing” she whispered. Sir Rahael slid in next to her and placed his fingers under her chin and gently pulled her face up. “You have nothing to be embarrassed about or afraid of.” he assured. “But…” she started but faded. “Do not worry. We can just lay here and sleep. I know you must be worried that I will hurt you. I am not here to hurt you.” he assured. “I want to be a good wife.” she countered. “ There is more to being a ‘good wife’ than physical activity,” he responded. “If you would like to proceed, we can but if it’s too much we can stop.” he added. Tears filled her eyes. “M’Lady, don’t cry.” he gathered her in his arms and stroked her hair. “If it is all too much, we can just sleep. I will not be upset or think differently of you. I told you before that none of that matters. I am happy just to have you.” he assured. “How long will you want me, if I cannot be the wife you should have? Are you sure you wont change your mind about not having children, if I cannot give them to you?” she questioned. “I will not abandon you just because you cannot not sleep with me or give me children. The Gods have sent me you and I will not throw away a gift from the Gods.” he responded. She looked at him in shock. “What?” he asked. “You are not at all what I imagined.” she confessed. “Let me guess; you see a tall, muscular soldier who has killed so many, that he must be heartless and uncaring.” he sighed. “I’m sorry. I really tried not to let those initial impressions affect how I looked at you.” she apologized. “You have nothing to be sorry about. I understand. I am not always approachable. Most women are afraid of me because I am tall and brooding. I have never been a social person. I fight monsters. Even grown men seem to be afraid of me.” he responded. “My fears do not stem from you and how you look. My fears of you stem from my susceptibility to injury. When I shook my head, it was because I was cursing my brittle bones.” Lady Andromeda Sir Rahael looked at his new wife confused and surprised. "What?” she questioned. “ Does the lady have impure thoughts?” he teased. Lady Andromeda blushed and looked down again. He gently forced her to look at him. “Having impure thoughts about your husband is nothing to be embarrassed about.” he assured. “A proper lady shouldn’t think of such things.” she responded. “Says who?” he asked. “ My father, all of my tutors, and everyone I know who have talked about how a proper Lady is to conduct themselves.” she explained. “Well, they are wrong. I am your husband. If you think those thoughts about me, it means that you are human, with real feelings. I don’t want a ‘proper’ woman who shy's away from me and her feelings. I want a real woman who wants to have her fun and who is not afraid to tell or show me how she feels. Don’t be afraid to tell me your thoughts and feelings.” he smiled. “Yes, M’Lord.” she responded.

He leaned over and gently captured her lips with his own.

Sir Rahael watched as his wife slept with her head in his chest. He gently ran his fingers up and down her bare back. His chief advisor entered the chambers with a clamor. “Quiet, my wife is sleeping.” Sir Rahael hissed. “My apologies, M’Lord. We just received word that the Shadow Minotaurs are moving in. The Emperor has ordered the army to leave now.” the advisor whispered. “Damn!” Sir Rahael swore. “What is it, Rahael?” Lady Andromeda woke and looked at her husband. “I am sorry, M’Lady. The Shadow Minotaurs have started to move in and I have to leave earlier than planned.” he sighed. “Oh.” her face fell. “Do not worry. I will return to you as soon as I possibly can.” he assured. Sir Rahael turned to his advisor. “Has the Lady’s carriage been readied?” he asked. “ It is being readied as we speak. Maids Corrine and Moira are finishing packing the lady’s things. They should be here soon to prepare Lady Andromeda for travel.” the advisor responded. “Good.” Sir Rahael nodded. “I am very sorry, Meda. I know you are tired but you must get ready to travel. You will leave as soon as I head out.” he informed. Lady Andromeda nodded sadly. I thought we would have more time.” she whispered. “So did I . We will write as much as possible.” he promised as he got out of bed. Lady Andromeda put her chemise back on and stepped out of bed. Sir Rahael slipped in front of his wife and took her into his arms.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.