Fiction logo

We’ve Got You

A story of love and support

By Joe PattersonPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 5 min read
4
We’ve Got You
Photo by Hannah Busing on Unsplash

October 16, 1999, 10:30 a.m.

15 year old Drew Parker is sitting on a bench at the park around the corner from his house. He is waiting for his friends Giovannie, Bryan and Amanda to come meet him so they can go have breakfast and then go to the mall together. As he sits waiting for his trio of friends to arrive Drew reaches back and carresses the bruise on his lower back. At least I fought back this time, Drew thought to himself. Once again my mom’s drunken and worthless boyfriend gave me a drunken beatdown yesterday, but this time I fought back and that’s why I’m in so much pain today.

But I’m not gonna let him break me, Drew continued to himself. I’m going out with my favorite people who I love the most I’m the world and I’m gonna focus on the good things in my life. While caressing the bruises on his lower back Drew looked to his left and heard the sound of a group of people coming towards him. It was his three friends Bryan, Amanda and Giovannie. They were all laughing among themselves as they came closer to Drew. The sight of his friends really made Drew smile. What up Dr. Drew? Bryan began. Not much, peanut head, Drew replied. Drew guess what happened last night? Amanda asked.

Oh lord, do I really wanna know? Drew asked while rising to his feet. As a matter of fact you do, Giovannie began. That cute boy Kyle from our Western Civ class finally asked me out on a date. Well thank God, Drew started sarcastically. It’s about time your gorgeous self finally got a boyfriend and stopped hangin’ with us losers all the time. Uh who you callin’ a loser, lily pad head? Amanda rebuttaled. I’m actually pretty when I’m rocking my arsenal of halter tops.

Well ain’t you just the coolest kid of the 90’s, Bryan joked. She kinda is when you think about it, Giovannie added. I mean she does have a new show comin’ out tonight on the place to be. Well, gorgeous, Drew started. I believe the new Amanda show is about Amanda Bynes from Nickelodeon, not Amanda Nichols walking with us to Sage’s Chicken and Waffles. As the group made their way to the restaurant Drew found himself aching with every step he took. More than anything the pain made him nervous. He was hoping his friends would not notice his fidgets of pain.

So what all are we getting from the mall? Amanda asked. Well first we gotta cop the new Kula Shaker album for the big guy here, ain’t that right Drew? Bryan asked while patting Drew on his lower back. As soon as Bryan’s hand met Drew’s lower back Drew fell to the ground in pain. The rest of the group quickly stopped with concern. Whoa, Drew you ok? Bryan asked. Amanda and Giovannie quickly rushed to Drew’s side and helped him up by his arms. Ye…yeah I’m ok, Drew stumbled.

Drew you are not okay, Giovannie began. Yeah, you’re in pain, Amanda added. What happened to you? Bryan asked after briefly examining Drew’s gesture. Drew struggled to find the words to explain what happened. He just quickly looked at his trio of friends and brushed them off. Forget about it, Drew exclaimed. Let’s just go eat. No! Giovannie said sharply. We’re going down the street to my house right now. Drew reluctantly allowed the group to accompany him to Giovannie’s house.

When the quartet arrived at Giovannie’s house they found Giovannie’s parents Helen and Walter sitting in the living room watching television. Hey gang, Walter greeted. I thought y’all were headed to the mall? Helen asked. Well mom, we were, big Drew seems to be having a rough morning, Giovannie replied as she and Amanda helped Drew to the love seat next to the couch. What’s the matter Drew? Walter asked. Drew could not find the words he wanted to put together, so Bryan spoke on his behalf. It’s his mom’s boyfriend. BRYAN!!! I told you not to say anything, Drew snapped. Say anything about what? Amanda asked.

For a brief moment Bryan hesitated. His mom’s boyfriend has been beating on him a lot. Amanda and Giovannie gasped in horror and Drew dropped his head down in shame. I thought you said the back and forth you had with him was only verbal? Giovannie asked Drew. It was at first, Drew began. But as it got worse he started putting his hands on me, then last night I decided to fight back and it got worse. Helen got up from her seat and walked behind Drew to lift up his shirt. No, Don’t! Drew pleaded. Drew honey it’s okay, Helen responded as she lifted up his shirt.

When Helen lifted the back of Drew’s shirt up a bruise covered back was exposed to the group. Amanda and Giovannie gasped themselves into tears while Bryan dropped his head in disgust. Walter got up from his seat to examine Drew’s back and the site of the bruises made him angry. I’m gonna go handle this, Walter said as he furiously made his way to the door. Before he could grab the handle he was stopped by Helen. NO WALTER!!! Helen snapped. HELEN THAT BOY IS LIKE A SON TO ME AND I’LL DIE BEFORE I LET SOMEONE HURT HIM LIKE THAT AGAIN, Walter screamed. You won’t do him any good in prison, Walter, Helen responded. We’re gonna call our friend Joe in the police department and report this to him.

Fine, Walter agreed reluctantly. He then picked up the house phone and started dialing Joe’s number. Everyone else surrounded Drew on the couch to comfort him. Why didn’t you tell us? Giovannie asked tearfully. I didn’t know how and I didn’t wanna worry you guys, Drew responded. Of course we’re gonna worry about you, we love you Drew, Amanda added. I’m sorry y’all, Bryan began. I know I should’ve said something earlier, I just didn’t think it was gonna get this bad. And I’m sorry I made you hold on to this secret for so long Bryan, Drew replied.

Drew, Helen started. These are your friends. They love you to death, never be afraid to tell them what’s going on. Drew looked up at his three friends with tears in his eyes. We’ve got you, Bryan said. We’ve got you, Giovannie added. We’ve got you, Amanda concluded. The trio then leaned in to give Drew a hug as a group. Drew then allowed himself to be vulnerable and bursted into tears realizing that he was loved and not alone.

~ This story is dedicated to the child stars of Nickelodeon who endured abuse while bringing joy to our lives.

Short StoryYoung AdultLoveCONTENT WARNING
4

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Phil Flanneryabout a month ago

    With all the stories of that have come to light from the sixties, seventies and eighties, form all kinds of institutions from the catholic church and the scouts and more, why aren't we more prepared for the signs that these predators are around. They always get themselves into positions of power and abuse that power. I watched the movie Nyad, about the swimmer Diane Nyad, who swam from Florida to Cuba. she and her swim team were regularly abused by their swim coach as teenagers. It all gets covered up because of money or power or both. This is a good story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.