Fiction logo

We Used to Meet by the Pear Tree

I Want to Meet You Again

By Katie GabbardPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
The Pear Tree, drawn by me.

We used to meet by the pear tree.

It was atop a steep hill; exhausting to reach, but worth the mild suffering for the view. We felt like we could see everything! The fields of green that went on and on, the apple trees, our farm house, the neighboring houses...

...the one where I thought she used to live...

...old and empty.

We used to meet by the pear tree.

No one knows why it was up there, all alone, but it was the best spot to be. It always gave you the sense of belonging, of comfort. It was a safe place to be, whether you needed to get away from the stresses of life, or simply to relax.

We'd meet here to talk, to eat lunch, to take a nap, to cry, to scream, to sing, among many, ah, other things. With our meetings, we at least knew the tree wasn't so lonely, even for a short while.

I've known that feeling of loneliness all too well. I've known it for most of my life.

Until she came along...

We used to meet by the pear tree.

I met her there.

When we were with the tree, we felt like we were the only ones in the world who existed. We felt like we could take on the world, or, at least, tackle all of our responsibilities. We could do anything! The feeling never stopped feeling invigorating, much as we expected to get used to it over time.

We used to meet by the pear tree.

Then, she vanished.

No one knows where she went, or what happened.

She was just...gone...

We searched, and we searched, and we searched, and we got nothing every time.

I still keep my eyes out for her, every day. I climb the hill, hoping she's there waiting for me. There have been too many lonely days without her, even with the pear tree to comfort me.

I could not look at the tree without thinking of her, without feeling like she's right there.

I want to see her dark hazel eyes, deep like a forest. Not only that, but I want to put my hands through her long, brown hair, to tell her I love her again and again. To see the wind blow around her favorite, yellow dress.

I miss her.

We used to meet by the pear tree.

Sometimes I feel like I can still hear her voice, or feel her eyes on me.

We used to meet by the pear tree.

Sometimes it feels like she's holding me, even when she's not there.

We used to meet...

By...

I'm suffering my daily climb, until I reach the top. Until I hear her soothing voice again. I see long, brown hair and a yellow dress flowing with the breeze. Hazel eyes, brightened up by the sunshine hitting her tan, freckled face. Her sweet smile as she reaches out to me, calling my name!

I take her hand with no hesitation, and we pull each other into the biggest hug we've probably ever felt. Tears are falling and falling, but my heart is happy again.

We're meeting again by the pear tree.

Or so I thought...

I moved my eyes slightly past her and...

There was no pear tree to meet by.

There was only her.

She was holding a pear, asking me to take it.

I did, and it will always be my biggest regret.

We can't meet by the pear tree anymore.

But I can meet her.

Just her.

The spirit of the pear tree.

She was never who I thought she was, but...

... I still love her.

Love

About the Creator

Katie Gabbard

Kat • LVL 33 • wife • cat mom

I've always been really into writing and drawing, and I'm trying to practice again so I can fulfill my dream of writing/drawing comics! ♡♡♡♡

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Katie GabbardWritten by Katie Gabbard

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.