Fiction logo

Warrior Wings

Messenger Angels Do Fight

By LATANYA N CHATFIELDPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
Warrior Wings
Photo by Duncan Sanchez on Unsplash

The day started as a cold wet mess. The morning fog hung low around the abandoned buildings. The dew clung to the ground and its stickiness was felt in the dirt. Visibility was limited as looming shadows showed remnants of multiple accidents, pieces of metal strewn sporadically about. There were many footsteps searching for help and pattering around in panic.

I had to find the girl.

Not formed but taking human shape, my hand reaches out but falls short of grasping the metal in front of me to pull myself up. The explosion must have scattered my spirit before it morphed into a body. That is why was taking so long to transport into my human form.

Usually when transporting, as soon as the spirit enters the earth’s atmosphere the human form begins to take shape. When the destination is reached the body is complete. This time it was different. The supernatural force from the blast disrupted the energy I needed to pull my spirit into the body when I entered the atmosphere. Now I am stuck in a slow transition and I have to admit this feels like the work of the Demunoles.

In the distance, a muffled voice repeats and skips like a broken record “Bring me a body. Bri-ng, bri-ing, me a body”!

My neck is not yet complete but I can slide my eyes toward the broken noise and from under the pieces' flesh, a face moves freely in chant.

“Bring me a body”!

I heard footsteps approaching heavily, hurriedly on the ground. The footsteps grow harder and louder as the ground shook and shifted to the music of the boots. I can tell it was the steps of a man; human women walk at a much graceful pace. The noise stopped and just as the wind blew the man was changed and the drone of the voice made of flesh was quieted.

I looked down at my feet and hands now lying on my back. I proceeded to move to a standing position when what felt like lightning struck me. I hit the ground from where I was formed and was kicked into the gravel that formed my newly fleshed body. The man that was changed was attacking me. I felt the sharp, senseless pains of his fist hitting me as if I stole his last breath. Did he know who I was? Was the flesh that lain on the grown in charge of this an action? If so then I should be angry and forcefully striking him because of his annoying, drummed drone voice of beckoning for a body. As if he heard me he spun me around and slammed my face to the ground. Laughter erupted from his mangled voice. “You take shape and think you can defeat me”? He leaned in closer and examined my breath. “Smells just like I remembered”. He snarled. Demunoles are such vile creatures. He grabbed my face as if to strike again then shoved me to the ground. “Now I’ll crush your tongue so you will not speak”. He lifted his giant boot that cast a shadow so big it blocked all but a streak of daylight.

Just like that the sun broke through the fog and strengthened my human body. Renewed blood ran through my veins. Just as the clouds moved across the sky, so did my body. Just clipping my face, the rubber from his boot gave me a burn that will be quickly forgotten. I grabbed his coat and lifted myself up into the air. He stumbled from the impact of missing my head. Before he could turn his head, I strike with a force that unites his face with his knees. Then out like a blown light bulb, I bolt towards the sky sheading my human form. I was quite handsome this time. I soared into the Universe without looking back at the passion that took place. I’m just a messenger and I have never been attacked by anything. Therefore, I never had to use any kind of force or need of any fighting for protection. Something is definitely out of place.

“I was attacked by a Demunole”.

Jasar stood in front of a cleanly bright Young Man. He looked like a Prince of beautiful things and had a physique of finely bread horses. His name is Hymnlity, the guardian of the Fallen Angels. He turned his back to a smaller Jasar, although not muscular at all but still strong in his stature.

“So, Ongord is breaking the balance of the spiritual world. He becomes bolder every day.

“What happened to the girl? He looked at Jasar over his shoulder. “After I knocked Ongord out. I was lifted. All that I have of the girl is a metal thing that slipped from her neck before the house exploded. ”Jasar said.

Hymnlity raised an eyebrow. “Hum a heart-shaped locket.

I think she will be looking for the heart-shaped lock you identified. It seems to hold some memories that cause her to radiated great emotions.

I am more impressed that you were able to fight”?

“It was not something I thought about, just something I did”. Jasar swallowed hard.

“You were not made to fight. “Only to send a message”. “A message that was not delivered, I believe.

“I don’t believe it was me who fought the Demunole. Jasar said

“Than whom, Jasar?

“I don’t know”. “It didn’t feel like I was myself.

Hymnlity calls for another Angel. Pembrith.

Pembrith walked into the room just as gracefully as a man could flowing in his masculine energy. His hair was in a ponytail and his skin was as dark as the night sky. Pembrith acknowledges Hymnlity with a slight tilt of his head. He hesitates when greeting Jasar, as if remembering something.

Hymnlity nods in Pembrith's direction. Pembrith steps silently to the side of Hymnlity. Humility continues to contemplate what could have happened with Jasar.

“I am going to send you to Perith”. Hymnlity begins to explain, but not before Jasar cuts in on his words.

“With all due respect Hymnlity”.

“Then respect my decision”. Humility firmly states to Jasar.

“I have not deserved to be in exile with the Fallen. I have done my job and I am in the top ranks of my realm. Please do not dishonor me in this way".

“The Bend Idyls have not deserved to be in exile. “They are in waiting”.

“But I am a messenger Angel”!

“Yet your instinct acted as a guardian. Then in your human form, you battled a Demunole. We do not fight as messengers and we surely do not fight in human form”.

“If I had not -.

“Yes Jasar, I realize you would have been compromised as an Angel. The fact that you were sent here to me- I need to seek counsel. Until then you are off any assignments”. Hymnlity turns to walk away. Jasar tries to match his pace and is practically jogging besides Hymnlity.

“This is outrageous! I want to speak with Amgeta"!

Hymnlity sharply turns and stares down at Jasar.

“In my realm, I am your Amgeta. She does not move my decision". Pembrith!

Pembrith emerges and breaks the stare between Jasar and Hymnlity. Defeated, Jasar turns to walk away as Pembrith followed.

Hymnlity had never seen an uprising such as the current times of the Demunole. They were always bold in tempting the humans, but they never showed such outright ruthless behavior. Since the fall of the Matrix. It seemed they were less afraid of Angel's retaliation. Never before had the Demunole attacked a messenger angel. It wasn’t their style and what would they gain from hurting a messenger?

Hymnlity remembered how he was once a messenger Angel. He enjoyed taking human form and interacting with his assigned person.

The most exciting thing was to see how guardians would protect their humans from all the things that could possibly rise up against them. Most of the incidents were sent by lower energy forces, some of them brought on by their choices. But that was back in the time when humans actually believed in Angels.

Now every day Angels have been sent to his realm because humans have forgotten about their ally in Angels. Somehow they have been tricked into thinking Angels are myths. There are still some people that ask for help now and then, because of the state of Earth. If not then the council sometimes steps in to send a messenger or a Guardian Angel to protect humans from Demunole.

Hymnlity pondered what could the Demunonls be up to? As Hymlity sat in his chambers, he heard a familiar sigh. His back was turned towards the entrance to his chambers, but he knew who his visitor was by the energy change in the room.

“Amgeta” he whispers. Pretty as a spring morning and skin and smooth as chocolate milk. She was dressed in a crisp white hooded cap as her gold robe peep from underneath the cape. Her eyes were the pearls of her appearance and her movement as stealth as a snake.

“I could never catch you by surprise. Even in your deepest of thoughts, you could still identify me".

Hymnlity stood up from his desk and turned to greet Amgeta with a bow of honor. Amgeta is a realm Guardian Angel just as he. She oversaw the entire messenger Angels.

“You have found your way into my humble presence. Is there a matter you wish to discuss? Hymnlity extends his hand to Amgeta and helps her into a nearby chair.

Amgeta looks up to Hymlity before she takes his seat and smiles. “I guess small talk has avoided your tongue. What is your plan of Jasar'?

“My plan is to seek council and after that, I will decide what I must do. Hymlity shifts in his seat.

“You should return him to me. He was on assignment, an assignment that wasn’t completed. You know there is a riff in the realm when a message is undelivered".

“I know of this, Amgeta. He was sent here to my realm for a reason and that must be a sign from the council.

“Oh Hymnlity, you have always worried the council of things that we should handle. Since he is in your realm I must respect your decision. It is the law. I just thought ever since the Apocalypse, it has gotten a little crowded on your realm.

Amgeta moves closer to Hymnlity within breath's reach. Hymnlity seems mesmerized by the beauty of Amgeta, but is true to what he believes needs to be done. Where is Jasar? Amgeta croons.

"I have sent him to Perith".

“The fallen Angels? Perith is no place for a messenger. Especially of Jasar’s caliber".

"Don’t worry Amgeta, he will be fine. Pembrith is on watch and will make sure his stay is pleasant".

"Very well Hymnlity, I will see about getting another to deliver Jasar messages".

"Jasar brought back a physical manifestation of the girl's emotional ties in the form of a heart-shaped locket. It will be something only he can take back to her".

"Then you must hasten your decision, dear Hymnlity".

Amgeta leans closer to Hymnlity and stares into his eyes for a brief moment. Hymnlity continues to hold his knightly stance and is unfazed by Amgeta’s persuasion of beauty. Standing nearby unseen by Hymnlity and Amgeta Pembrith looks on at the exchange.

Series
Like

About the Creator

LATANYA N CHATFIELD

I love to write all genres and teach my kids that they can do and be anything at any time in their lives.

Check out some of my other stories, short reads, thoughts on my podcast website: https://lovingyourselftolife51725778.wordpress.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.