Fiction logo

Wandering Minds

A Confession

By Kayleigh TurnerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Wandering Minds
Photo by Rachel McDermott on Unsplash

No matter how sweet the day – how sweet the moment – my mind always wanders. I am consumed by thoughts of you. I miss you like the trees miss the sun at night. And, I need you like an eagle needs wind beneath its wings.

My skin burns for your touch. The thought of your voice melts what little strength I have to stay away from you. I yearn just to be in your presence, to simply gaze upon your face. To allow my eyes to wander any further would bring heat to my already rosy cheeks.

If you were to kiss me, I would surely die. It would be both the most blessed reprieve and my most dangerous fix. I am addicted to you. To your smell – and, oh god, your eyes!

If only you knew how much I think about you, about us. Would it entice or repulse you? – I need to know.

The unknown is what drives my desire. I have a longing to know what your feelings are.

You look at me with a passion I want only to match. And you feel closer than the air in my lungs, with just your eyes looking into mine – into me.

That is why I feel cold when you are not near. You choose to stay away, but why? Your distance hurts me to the depths of my being.

And yet, I can’t help hoping that, sometimes, you might think about me too.

Love

About the Creator

Kayleigh Turner

Welcome.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kayleigh TurnerWritten by Kayleigh Turner

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.