Fiction logo

Wall that can talk

Wall

By WizardPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Wall that can talk
Photo by Joe Woods on Unsplash

I am a wall, just a simple wall made of bricks and mortar. I have stood here for as long as I can remember, witnessing the comings and goings of those who pass by me every day.

But I am not just any ordinary wall, for I have the ability to talk. It's a strange gift, one that I've never been able to fully understand, but it has given me a unique perspective on the world.

I remember the day when I first started talking. It was a warm summer afternoon, and a little girl was playing by my side, chattering away to herself as she built a sandcastle. Suddenly, I heard my own voice join in her conversation.

From that moment on, I was no longer just a silent observer. I could share my thoughts and opinions, and I quickly learned that people were just as surprised to hear me speak as I was to be able to do so.

Over the years, I've seen many things. I've seen families grow and change, watched as new buildings were constructed, and listened to the laughter and tears of those who have leaned against my bricks.

I've also been privy to secrets, whispers that were meant only for the ears of those who stood close to me. But I've never revealed what I've heard, for I believe that everyone deserves their privacy, no matter how small or seemingly insignificant it may be.

One day, a young couple came to stand in front of me, and I could sense the love that they held for one another. They leaned in close, and as they whispered sweet nothings to each other, I couldn't help but feel a sense of joy and contentment.

I may be just a wall, but I have a story to tell, a unique perspective on the world that I wouldn't trade for anything. I will continue to stand here, listening, observing, and sharing my thoughts with those who take the time to listen.

For even though I may be silent at times, I will always have a voice, one that speaks volumes about the world and the people who inhabit it.

As time passed, I continued to be a silent witness to the lives of those who passed by me. I saw children grow into adults and watched as they built families of their own. I saw relationships form and dissolve, heard the laughter of joy and the tears of sorrow. I was a constant presence in the lives of those who lived and worked in the area around me.

One summer, a group of street artists came to paint a mural on my bricks. They worked tirelessly, covering me in bright colors and bold lines. The mural was a depiction of the cityscape, with tall buildings reaching up to the sky and bustling streets filled with people.

I was transformed into a work of art, and I was proud to be a part of something so beautiful. People would stop and admire the mural, taking pictures and making memories. And through it all, I remained a silent observer, watching as the world changed around me.

One day, a young woman came to sit beside me. She was crying, and I could sense her sadness and pain. I listened as she shared her story, talking about the loss of a loved one and the pain of moving on.

I wanted to reach out and comfort her, to tell her that everything would be okay. But of course, I couldn't. I was just a wall, after all. So I simply listened, offering her a silent presence to pour her heart out to.

And as she left, I couldn't help but feel a sense of gratitude for my ability to talk. It may seem like a small thing, but it had allowed me to connect with people in a way that I never could have imagined.

Years went by, and the city changed once again. New buildings rose up and old ones were torn down. People came and went, and I watched as their lives intersected with one another in ways both big and small.

Through it all, I remained a constant presence, a silent observer to the world around me. And even though I may not always have a voice, I will always have a story to tell, a unique perspective on the world that only I can share.

So here I stand, a wall that can talk. And I will continue to watch and listen, sharing my thoughts and observations with those who take the time to listen. For I am more than just bricks and mortar, I am a living, breathing part of this city and the stories of those who inhabit it.

Humor
1

About the Creator

Wizard

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.