Fiction logo

Virtual Scales

The amusing beginning to the end of the world

By Laura Carlozzi Published 10 months ago 25 min read
Like
Virtual Scales
Photo by Ryan Moulton on Unsplash

“O! For a muse of fire, that would ascend the brightest heaven of invention” ~ William Shakespeare

Glinting across the sky, her scales shone like a million rubies. I was trying to play a game of keep away with her, and failing more quickly than usual. I had a surprise and couldn’t wait to show her! “Sulfura, come quick! I’m caught,” I cry out as my leg gets entangled in a mess of vines. Gigantic, reptilian wings come swooping in from behind me and the rush of air envelops me when she comes to a halt. Her hot breath tickles my neck and I giggle as she lays her head on my shoulder.

“I have something for you in my pocket for you, Sulfura. I don’t know what I would do without you,” choking back the last few words. Loving concern comes across her face and she rubs her scaly cheek against mine. It feels smooth, like glass. I pull out a metal chain link bracelet. She lifts her claw gingerly and I fasten the chain for her. Excitement gleams in her beautiful sapphire eyes. I reach up to hug her neck and she lowers to give me easier access.

Suddenly, I hear a shrill ringing that cuts through the moment like a knife. I heave a weary sigh, relinquish my hold on Sulfura, and proceed to hit a tiny button hidden on my wrist. Instantly the bright world before me goes black and grim. I slowly let my eyes adjust and then begin to undo the VR goggles I have been wearing for the last hour. The annoying ringing is my alarm telling me I have to get ready for work. I silence the dreadful thing and begin trudging around looking for my uniform.

Allow me to welcome you to the most boring human existence, the life of Aleria Halcove. I work as an assistant manager for a half priced bookstore in town and am altogether unremarkable. I am 5’7”, 140 pounds, brown lifeless hair, blue eyes, and really only one talent to speak of, my endless imagination. When I was younger, I would get caught innumerous times daydreaming in class or staring into space. Social media was a godsend for people like me.

Slowly I walked downstairs and into the kitchen to pour a bowl of cereal before my shift. Again, nothing exciting there either. After eating and rinsing out my bowl, I placed the dishes on the drying rack by the sink. I headed towards the garage door, grabbed my Oldsmobile keys, and locked everything up behind me. I sink into the ancient seats and start the old motor. On my route to work, I am grateful to have such a faithful vehicle. She has been with me since the day I turned 16, and now 12 years later, she still gets up and goes.

I pull into the parking lot of my job, and ponder how the building is still standing. The outside looks ancient, with broken and chipped bricks. Most of the windows have cracks. The doors are mismatched and require a good amount of strength to open on a good day. It contrasts completely from the inside. Comfy chairs you sink into and a coffee bar at the front greet you as you muscle your way in the door. The basic layout is like you walked in someone’s personal library and you get the option to purchase your book.

I make my way back to the employee lounge at the back and nod my head to a few familiar customers along the way. I hang up my bag, grab my cup, and head to the front to get my coffee. As I am pouring my brew, I overhear my cashier speaking with the customer checking out “…tomorrow morning the solar flares are supposed to be the largest on record. My phone has already been acting up and they anticipate more electronic hiccups. I hope it’s not too terrible here. I have the morning shift again,” she chuckles.

I ponder over whether I should call the boss and see if I should stand by or leave it till tomorrow to address. I walk over as the customer is waving goodbye from the door. “Hey Sherry, how has the day been?” “Great Aleria,” she chirps. She walks over to the till and helps me gather the receipts from yesterday. I load the stack in my arms and sidestep to the end of the counter. I pull out our accounting form and start plunking away on our ancient calculator. “What were you talking about with the customer? Something about solar…..?”

“Oh! So, tomorrow we are supposed to get the biggest solar flares on record. They said phones, tv’s, radios, satellites, and even bigger electrictrical things will have intermittent black outs. I was gonna ask if you were gonna join me or let me call you if it got crazy. I feel like I am good to go if you want to stay home,” she added. I gave her an appraising look and nodded my head. “Okay, if you feel like you are good, I can come in at my usual time. But if you need me, I am only ten minutes away,” I reminded her. She squealed in acknowledgment and then went off to restock some books we had just brought in.

I finished getting all the paperwork done, and grabbed the cash we earned from the drawer making change while I was there. I packed everything in a large envelope and then sipped my coffee while I waited for Sherry to get back to the front. Once she was comfortably seated by the register, I grabbed my keys from my pocket and headed to my car. The bank where we made the drop was right around the corner and I looked forward to it everyday. Mostly to see my favorite teller, Giles.

We had known each other since grade school and I still had a crazy crush. A mop of black hair, piercing gray eyes, gentle face, and the physique of a rugby player. You would never think he was shy and quiet from his hulking form. He loved reading and was almost as much of a nerd as I was. As I opened the bank door, he glanced up and a smile graced his face. It made my heart flop for a moment and I had to catch my breath before I walked up to his window. “Hey Aleria,” he said in his low, sexy voice.

“Hi Giles! How are you today,” my voice cracking on the last few words. I wanted to crawl under the counter and hide. Why was I always so awkward around him? I had known him most of my life for crying out loud. “I hope you’re ready to be annihilated in our game tomorrow.” We met for a medieval VR match every week and I was confident this week I would win. He gave a quiet chuckle and took the envelope from my trembling hand. “I guess we will have to wait and see,” giving me a sly wink. My mouth went dry and I couldn’t think of anything to say.

We finished the transaction without me making any more of a fool of myself and I walked back to my car. I sighed as I sat in my front seat and buckled myself in. How is it I can handle a screaming customer like a smooth operator, but I fall apart the minute he even blinks at me? I gave myself an internal scolding and drove back to the bookstore. I parked my car and pushed my way in. Sherry gave me a beaming smile from over the book she was reading and then proceeded to go right back into being engrossed. I chuckled as I walked to the back office and filed away the paperwork and sat down to do some online ordering.

The rest of the night passed quickly and suddenly it was time for me to lock up for the night. I had sent Sherry home a little early since we got slow an hour before closing. I set all the receipts aside for myself tomorrow, turned off the lights, and locked the monstrous doors. It took me a few times to get the lock to match up but it finally went through. I was so grateful my boss had installed brighter lights and a camera outside for when we closed up. I know in the long run it wouldn’t do much, but at least it made me feel safer. I got home and was in bed in record time.

Sunbeams streamed through my window and shone on my closed eyelids. I groaned and rolled over hoping for just those few more minutes of precious sleep. I had barely gotten comfortable when my alarm blasted through my groggy dreams. I sighed and slowly rolled out of bed. The only reason I got up early was to play Medieval Rights with Giles. I grumbled under my breath ‘he better feel special with how early I get up to do this with him’. I don’t even get up this early for my family. I slid my feet into my dragon slippers and shuffled off to the bathroom.

After getting myself mostly presentable, I put on some leggings and a loose tank top. I needed room to move for this morning's meeting. I was gonna win this round of contests. I put on my yoga shoes and started loading up the game on my VR goggles. I was most of the way through setting up the arena when Giles chimed into the game. “Good ‘morrow, m’lady!” Seriously, how can he be so chipper? I harrumphed a greeting in return and stood in my part of the arena in the game. The banners were flying and the ‘fake’ crowd was standing to attention.

My colors were blue and red, for Sulphura, and Giles’ were green and silver. Today was swordplay and I had practiced all week. I felt comfortable with my stances and was happy with how my character had been built up. Giles and I bowed to the crowd and they did so in return. The fanfare blared loudly in the background and we waited patiently to step up to the designated fighting arena. After the noise died off, we both walked proudly to the roped off section and stepped through. My ‘squire’ took my cloak and checked my armor for any other minor adjustments. Then, he handed me my ruby and sapphire gilded sword, Avalon.

Giles and I faced off in the middle waiting for the town cryer to give us the all clear. Once his voice sounded, I stood holding my sword to the front of me and began to circle. Looking for his telltale sign of an advance, I teasingly moved Avalon back and forth. Suddenly, Giles lunged forward and I glanced his sword to the right, sending him sailing past me and allowing me one unguarded hit to his back. The loud ‘clang’ rang out like a bell in the still air. He steadied himself and gave me a surprised look. “It doth appear m’lady has gained some teaching since last we met,” he said. I responded smugly, “yes, it doth m’lord.”

We continued to circle and parry for upwards of thirty minutes. Giles was beginning to huff while I still remained cool as a cucumber. I could see the anxious look in his eyes that he might actually lose this one round to me. My heart swelled with pride at the practice I had been putting in. In one final attempt to disarm me, Giles came rushing at me with his sword held high. I placed my sword at a ninety degree angle at the hilt, put my foot out as I stepped to the side, and watched as my opposer fell face first towards the ground. He released the sword with both hands to attempt to catch his fall while I whirled around. As he landed I placed my foot on top of his back and my sword point found the base of his skull. “Do you concede m’lord?” He rolled over laughing in defeat and said, “yes m’lady. This one is all yours!”

The crowd cheered and he got up and held my sword in hand above my head claiming me the victor. We stepped out of the arena and headed over to the mead stand to drink a toast to my first victory. Just as we were about to clink our glasses together, I smelled a faint electrical smell, like something was burning. I sniffed the air, curious as to what this could be. The next thing I knew, a bright shining light blinded me and I screamed as a hot flash burned my eyelids. I ripped off my sizzling goggles and tried not to bump into anything. I stumbled around my room while feeling my way to the bathroom. God my eyes felt like they had been burned from my sockets! I found the sink and began splashing ice cold water on my face. I have no idea how long I stood there, but the next thing I heard was Giles frantically calling my name from downstairs.

“Aleria! Are you okay? Where are you?” “Up here,” I croaked. “In my bathroom!” I heard him bounding up the stairs and suddenly I felt strong hands holding my face. “Wow, your eyes are red! Can you see? Do you want me to take you to the hospital?” I blearily tried to open one eye then the next. Giles appeared as a dark hulking mass but slowly he came into focus. “I think if I give it time, I will be okay. Can you grab the eye drops from the hallway closet?” I asked. “Sure!” Bounding to grab them before I could get anything else out. He came back and gently held open my eyes, sliding in the cooling drops to ease the sting.

“Better?” “Yes, much thanks,” I sighed. As my vision cleared, I headed back to my room to survey the scene of destruction to see what had happened, while Giles grabbed me ice for my eyelids. I saw my VR goggles melting on the floor and still giving off tiny puffs of smoke. My computer server and Wi-Fi connector were fried into the wall. A whistle of reverence came from behind me, “You got lucky it didn’t set your place on fire.” “You’re not wrong and especially since my renters insurance is due.” Giles gave a dark chuckle and agreed with me, “Darn stuff is too expensive anyways.”

After calling my boss and letting her know what happened, she declared me off for at least the next week. “You have been through a catastrophe!”, she dramatically screeched through the phone. I held it as far from my ear as possible to prevent hearing loss. I reluctantly agreed and sat on my bed to decide what to do with my newfound time off. Giles sheepishly piped up after a few minutes, “Well, yah know, if you want to get away from the city for a while, I have a small cabin in the middle of the forest that is a great spot to reconnect with nature. I would love to take you there.” I looked over at him to find he was beet red from his shirt collar to his scalp. My mouth gaped open.

“You like me! Oh my god, I thought it was all one sided! Now I don’t feel like such a weirdo!” It all came out in a rush and as soon as I stopped I clamped my hand over my mouth. I suddenly felt lightheaded and warm; when did it get so hot in here?! He gazed back at me with new light in his eyes and before I had time to take another breath, he was kissing me fiercely. I melted into him and we stayed like this for what seemed like ages. Once we separated, we were both panting heavily. “Wow, I was not expecting that one,” I said breathlessly. Giles then went on to tell me how he had loved me since he laid eyes on me and was only hoping for friendship in return.

I nestled into his chest and muttered that we better get packed soon or we would not go camping at all. Giles chuckled, jumped up with me in his lap, placed my feet gently on the floor, kissed the top of my head, and ran out the door. I ran upstairs and into my bedroom. Once there, I started going around in crazy circles just throwing things in a bag. Soon enough, I slowed down to make a list and found I hadn’t done too badly, minus the foot spa that somehow happened to get packed. After ten minutes or so, I heard Giles call my name and close the door downstairs. “Almost done! Are we gonna need food or anything,” poking my head around the top of the stairs. He shuffled his feet and said, “I was hoping to ask you up for a bonfire, so I already went shopping a few weeks ago.” I hugged his neck when I reached the last step, “You’re perfect.”

We loaded up his Chevy Trailblazer, and started our trek northwest. I have never been to this part of the state; it is gorgeous with its foliage and deep green color. The air feels cleaner and I take some deep breaths with the window rolled down. The sun streams through branches making the light dance in ways I had never thought possible. We pulled up in front of a cottage that looked like it could have fallen out of a fairy tale book. The wildflowers growing around the front porch hung in perfect curtains framing the entrance to the old wooden door. I grasped his hand and prepared myself for the next week's adventures.

“Do not let your fire go out…Do not let the Hero in your soul perish…Cherish your road and the nature of your battle. The world you desired can be won. It exists, it is real, it is possible, it is yours.” ~ Ayn Rand

Faintly, I overheard the chirping of little animals and felt the warmth of the sun on my scales. I wondered if this is what it was like to dream. I tried to roll over and slip back into nothingness, when my back came into contact with something solid. My eyelids flew open but the sunlight forced me to squint. What in the world was going on?!?! I quickly glanced around me… and then AT me. My scales shone in the sun like jewels on fire and every so often a faint outline of a flame was etched in a deeper burgundy. I sat, stunned, on my haunches. Where was I? The great Sulfura had never been to this VR world before. It all felt SO REAL. Was this a new reality Aleria had created for me? If so, she had outdone herself.

It felt like hours as I sat there purveying the scene around me and internally arguing with myself if this was inside the game or……..or what? I remembered my session with Aleria from the other day and how she gave me her gift. I glanced down at my claw and to my amazement the bracelet was still there! I vaguely recall being put in sleep mode as she had to rush off somewhere and then she had turned on her battle game. She always stopped in to say a quick hello and give me a hug. Then I remembered there being an intense heat from somewhere I couldn’t see. Then, I felt nothing until I woke up here. I shook my head trying to shake anything loose. No such luck, I thought. Well, I should probably try to find some water. In our game, Aleria always made sure I had enough. I felt a clawing, straining sensation in my throat. Maybe this was what she meant by thirsty?

I started sniffing to search out for a stream or creek or whatever it was Aleria had called that place we flew over once. She had been really excited, saying how pretty it was, but I couldn’t really appreciate it then. My nose was assaulted with so many things; I can’t figure out what most of these scents are! I suddenly lock onto a fresh, cool one so I’ll try that. I slowly rose up on all fours, and started to awkwardly walk towards the direction of the smell. As I got farther along, the scent got stronger and now I can hear something that sounds very peaceful and calming. Kind of like a muffled rumbling or muted echoing in my ears. This new world is so weird!

I finally come upon a thin line of what looks like rippling, blue glass. The smell and the sound is the loudest here. I carefully walk up to the edge and dip in one claw. Well, it’s still attached and the ‘glass’ that splashed back at me felt REALLY good. I slowly lowered my head to the ‘glass’ so my mouth barely touched the surface. I tentatively took a small sip, and then began taking bigger and bigger ones. Wow, this felt exhilarating! Cold and fresh, soothing my throat and filling my belly. I noticed the strange clawing sensation going away the more ‘glass’ I had. When I had my fill, I plopped down in some shade near the stream to rest and think.

“Hello,” a quiet voice said. My head snaps up and I glance quickly around. A small bubble of fear started to form in my belly. “Don’t be afraid; I won’t hurt you. Well, actually, I can’t. I just learned to walk two days ago so you would definitely be more likely to hurt me instead.” “Okay, but how can I hear you? Can you hear me in my head?” “Yes,” the quiet voice says. “How can I find you? How is this all happening? What actually happened to me? Is this the game or this…REAL?” My questions pour out in a rush. “I will do my best to answer your questions. If you walk farther up the stream, towards the bright thing in the sky, you will find a small cave opening. We can both be safe here and get to know one another.” “Okay,” I responded back. I feel unsure but my curiosity was stronger.

I crept slowly up the stream until I came to a partially hidden cave opening. It was just big enough for me to squeeze through. As my eyes adjusted to the dark, I saw a smaller version of Aleria in the far corner sitting on the ground. The tiny frame stood up holding onto the wall and took wobbly steps towards me. I was afraid to breathe lest I knock the poor little thing over. When the toddler grasped my paw, I saw it looked so much like Aleria! Bright blue eyes, like mine, and dark brown hair with rosy cheeks. She giggled and said, “It’s nice to finally meet you Sulfura. My name is Orena. I was placed here on this planet to reintroduce magick into the world. You are one of my guardians. There is a human guardian, the one who created you, who will be the mother of a great lineage of magical beings. I need both of you to help me.”

I stayed silent for a long time listening to more of what Orena had to say, and processing the magnitude of the information she had just told me. I slowly reached out to hold her close to me so she would not fall. She was content to play with my bracelet while we waited. A lot of what she said just ‘felt’ right. Like when I was searching for water; kind of instinctual. Was I willing to risk my safety and the safety of Aleria on a feeling? “What happens if we don’t? Like if we refuse and you are placed with other humans?” Orena gave me a sad look, “I would grow up without protection and a way to pass on the magick in me. Eventually I would be killed and then in years to come a great evil would prevail from which mankind would not survive.” Well that doesn’t make me feel much better; risk my friend or humanity.

We stayed that way for the rest of the day and into the next. I have no idea how she had food and water delivered but if I started to get ‘hungry’ or ‘thirsty’ it was right at my elbow waiting for me. Orena had been helping me name and identify some of the easier things around me, since this was in fact reality and not the VR game I had known. Finally, I gave a deep sigh, and said, “Okay. What do you need me to do next?” Orena placed a small comforting hand on my arm and said, “Thank you my friend. Aleria and her future mate, Giles, are very near. A plan was put in motion by others long ago and I am glad you chose to help me.” Her little face shone as she looked at me and my heart felt all warm and fuzzy. It was a nice feeling, fierce and soft at the same time.

We spent the remainder of the day resting for the walk to our rendezvous point. I was excited to see Aleria again and also nervous to approach her in person. This was a big step in our plan and I was hoping with all my might it went well for my new little friend. We curled up in the cave early that night to get some extra sleep, and I dreamed of our future lives.

“Life is a flame that is always burning itself out, but it catches fire again every time a child is born.” ~ George Bernard Shaw

We started our journey early in the morning. Our plan was to hide out behind a waterfall near Giles’ cabin. Giles, I found out, is Aleria’s love and her future mate per Orena. Orena would then mentally connect with Aleria and Giles when they came to swim and draw them over to us. Once we all met each other, and things went well, we would then be able to move forward. I hesitantly agreed; I shuddered inwardly at the possibility of it not going well. The intense feeling I had for Orena was growing by the second and I felt fiercely protective over her.

By mid morning, we found the waterfall and hid behind the glistening curtain or water. Soon, we heard the laughter and voices of Aleria and Giles. As they came closer, my heart beat faster in my chest. I missed Aleria so much! Orena gave me a huge smile and turned her face towards them. “Aleria. Giles! We need your help,” Orena called quietly in their minds. I saw both of them freeze in the water and whirl around looking for the direction of the voice. “Who goes there? Who is it?!” Giles tried to sound strong but his voice wavered on the last syllable. “We mean you no harm. We need you to help us. Aleria, if I tell you our mutual friend’s name would that help you trust me?” Asked Orena. Aleria tossed her hair over her shoulder and said, “Perhaps. I doubt you would know any of my friends though,” she said a little too harshly.

Orena looked at me with a smirk and then, “How about Sulfura? She has been a wonderful help to me and I can see why she is your best friend, Aleria.” I could see Aleria’s face freeze and her body wilt slightly. My heart ached; she hadn’t expected that one. “Sulfura is in my VR world, so now I know you’re lying! Stop playing these cruel games!” Aleria had tears streaming down her face and Giles had wrapped his arms around her. “Now that is where you are wrong. As of a few days ago during the solar flare storm, she is very much alive and real. We both trust you won’t hurt us. When you are ready to meet us, we are waiting behind the waterfall,” Orena instructed. I could see the two of them speak quietly between themselves while glancing in our direction. Orena nestled back under my wing, and I barely breathed while waiting for them to come see us.

Ever so slowly they waded through the water towards us. They carefully climbed the small incline towards the rear of the waterfall and peaked around the edge. I held my breath; Aleria looked so radiant and smelled so fresh. Her eyes were huge and her mouth was gaping open. Suddenly, she ran towards me and threw her arms around my neck. I was so happy to see her! I placed a paw gently on her back and felt my eyesight getting blurry. “Giles, how can this be possible? I swear on everything I love this is my Sulfura,” Aleria said with her face buried in my neck. He chuckled and said, “I’m gonna need you to repeat that.”

Aleria giggled as she backed away, wiping her face. Suddenly she looks at me and wipes my face saying, “Don’t cry sweet girl. I will never leave you again.” Cry? I had no idea what crying was so I made a mental note to ask Orena later. I smiled at her and nodded my head in agreement. “Now,” Aleria said curiously. “Where is this little voice that was speaking with us outside?” I uncurled my wing slowly and revealed Orena cozy and wrapped in a blanket. Both Giles and Aleria gave gasps and exclamations. Aleria timidly reached for her and Orena held out her arms. Giles looked around and said, “Why don’t we get the rest of the story inside the cottage with some food, huh?” I looked at Orena with a huge grin on my face. Maybe being ‘real’ didn’t have to be as bad as I feared.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Laura Carlozzi

Budding writer looking for a good home platform. Hi!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.